We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Marriott Hotels
US$112
View deal
Booking.com
US$105
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$105
View deal
Expedia.comUS$112
Trip.comUS$123
TripadvisorUS$105
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (673)
Room & Suite (260)
Dining (55)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from York Marriott Hotel
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#47 of 51 hotels in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howards, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel in York, United Kingdom. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms, the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style. Secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Cast Iron Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Park View
Languages Spoken
English
2555Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 779
  • 865
  • 522
  • 239
  • 150
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
davidY692ATgh wrote a review 7 Jan
Bristol, United Kingdom20 contributions8 helpful votes
Hi I’ve just spent 3 nights here. Rather disappointing; jacuzzi was not very warm, heating in the rooms was awful. First night was noisy due to next door. May I just ask why you cram everyone together when you have 5 floors. Surely when the hotel is very quiet like it was this week you could spread people out over the hotel so they can have peace. With reference to the heating there we’re fan heaters dotted around the bar. Clearly as another guest has said it’s a problem in rooms too. Ours was freezing. When I complained to Marriott about my experience they insulted me by saying they may give me 3000 points which they haven’t as yet. The equivalent of £15. The 3 nights including breakfast cost me £450
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Sue Q wrote a review 4 Jan
Wellingborough, United Kingdom4 contributions
We stayed at the York Marriott hotel on 17/18 December 2021. When we arrived the lady on reception was quite matter of fact and didn't make us feel very welcome. We were directed to our room and were very disappointed with it given how much we had paid for our stay. It was very tired and needs a complete overhaul. Carpets were shabby, the wardrobe only had one door which when I asked at reception if that was right was told 'I'm not familiar with room 109'. The extractor fan was on all the time and when I asked for something to be done about that was told that 'maintenance don't work over the weekend, someone will have to look at it on Monday'. When I complained the receptionist said she would have a look and see what she could do. The bathroom was stark and tatty with protruding screws on the inside of the upvc window frame. It was also evident the blind hadn't been pulled down for some time as when we did use it there was a dirty line on it. One of the pillow cases was dirty and we asked for that to be changed, which was done, however the dirty pillowcase was left dumped on a chair in the room. When we spoke to reception and told them we were asked 'would you like it removed', not sorry we'll get that removed for you. The fire door at the top of the stairs was constantly left open which would be in breach of fire regulations. We closed it every time we went downstairs. We ate in the restaurant for the whole of our stay - breakfast was at best mediocre and the evening menu limited. The steak my husband had was certainly not the best. All in all not a very good or positive experience for the price and we certainly won't be coming back - not what we would expect from a major chain like the Marriott.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Ziggy wrote a review Dec 2021
London, United Kingdom20 contributions34 helpful votes
Everything about our stay was ranging from average at best to disappointing. The room we were staying in was small and very tired. Starting from faded / stained carpets to very old furniture covered in stains and scratches. The bathroom was mouldy and cold. The bathroom curtain was stained and not properly washed. In terms of the service, again not great. We asked for our room to be cleaned and while the bed was made and the bathroom was tidied up, they left a bin full of garbage (smelly food) and some mud on the carpet. Those are obvious and quite basic things to do. Foodwise it was disappointing. The breakfast was basic with some rubbery eggs and the one salad I had for lunch was a watery mess. The temperature in the hotel is quite low. We were cold the entire time. Overall the hotel has no character. I don't see any difference between this hotel and the standard Ibis or Premier Inn. At least with the last 2 you get what you pay for while here we paid for the name of Marriott but the quality was nowhere near.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Carly Morgan, Guest Services / Front Office at York Marriott Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
20ziggy, thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I have passed on your comments to the hotel leadership team to be reviewed. please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. and i do hoe that we can welcome you back to show that these are not our normal standards Kind Regards
Read more
Fussy one wrote a review Dec 2021
Cheshire, United Kingdom787 contributions550 helpful votes
I would have liked to be told the heating in the rooms was not working prior to my arrival . One plug in radiator is a joke. This, as I have been told affects all rooms. So be warned. I will be asking for a substantial discount . I would check before you arrive if the problem is resolved.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Yes, check the heating is working before you pay.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carly Morgan, Guest Services / Front Office at York Marriott Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Notlaw008, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, i am sorry that the heating in your room was not working and i send full apologies for this, however this is not something that is affecting all the rooms, so again sorry fort the misinformation. I look forward to the chance of welcoming you back to the hotel
Read more
Paul H wrote a review Dec 2021
Bournemouth, United Kingdom1117 contributions236 helpful votes
We had just came from a Marriott in Manchester. We stayed there for just one night to visit the city of York. The staff at checkin were very welcoming and friendly. The room was large and clean. It’s a large hotel. There is a gym open from 06:30, with a rowing machine. The breakfast was excellent, ie freshly cooked. We follow a plant based diet too. Free parking too, with a bus stop outside that takes you to the city centre every 20mins. (Routes 4 and 12 from memory). All in all an excellent stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Free parking. Good gym with a pool.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carly Morgan, Guest Services / Front Office at York Marriott Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Paulharhen, thank you for taking the time to leave your review, i am very happy to hear that your time with us was a positive one and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your comments to the entire team. I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future Kind Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$92 - US$196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marriott york, york marriott
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Marriott York Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
151
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about York Marriott Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to York Marriott Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Goddards (0.1 km), York Racecourse (0.8 km), and St Edward The Confessor Church (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at York Marriott Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at York Marriott Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at York Marriott Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to York Marriott Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fox and Roman, Cross Keys, and The Blue Fin Fish & Chip Shop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at York Marriott Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does York Marriott Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to York Marriott Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (1.9 km), Holy Trinity Church (2.6 km), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (2.5 km).
Does York Marriott Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is York Marriott Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.