We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Skeldergate, York YO1 6DS England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$112
Hotels.comUS$112
TravelocityUS$112
PricelineUS$112
Trip.comUS$112
Official HotelUS$122
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (508)
Room & Suite (296)
Dining (60)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 29/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 29/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 52 hotels in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A stunning property set in beautiful gardened grounds in York situated a short walk from the famous Minster, the cobbled shambles and city walls. Unwind in characterful and cosy guest bedrooms filled with all the comforts of home and all individually different. The cottages are the perfect home away from home for families of up to 6 or groups of friends. A king-size double, a sofa bed and two full-sized bunk beds plus a spacious living area to relax. Tuck into delicious and expertly crafted food and indulge in a great selection of tasty dishes. Enjoy fitness at the Emperors gym and the many classes. Part of The House of Daniel Thwaites collection. Please note our car parking is charged at an additional £10 per night per vehicle.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
1349Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 654
  • 408
  • 179
  • 73
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Matthew D wrote a review Yesterday
10 contributions3 helpful votes
Amazing place, very comfy and clean rooms. The staff were all helpful and polite. 10/10 breakfast and £15 is fairly reasonable price for it these days. The grounds are also very nice and the location is perfect. I’d highly recommend staying. We will definitely be returning both to York and the Middletons hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get to the hotel early to make sure you get a parking spot!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PeterKent wrote a review 1 Oct
Gravesend, United Kingdom14 contributions18 helpful votes
We stayed here with a group of 12 cousins. Our room had a fault with the aircon, which was very noisy. We were upgraded to wonderful room decorated in "Adam" (18th Century) style. Another of our party was upgraded to a family room for a faulty towel rail! This was indicative of the superb care that we all received during out stay. I have never had a better stay anywhere. style.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Andrea P wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely Staff, food excellent. Need to book a time to eat at Breakfast as everything is cooked fresh to order. Evening eating in restaurant is recommended at least once during your stay as the food is exceptional. Our room was number 36, it was on the second floor up four flights of stairs so if you have any physical issues you will have difficulties. The receptionist did ask if we wanted help with our luggage. It’s an interesting hotel spread over different historical buildings of interest. Rooms do have air conditioning but we found it difficult to work and ended up knocking off as it kept making a loud noise and woke us up. Rooms are well equipped:hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee making facilities and a small fridge. Fresh milk and water provided. The bathroom, although looked newly refurbished was a bit disappointing, the shower was rather small and there was no where in the bathroom to put your toiletries. The toilet roll holder was badly placed and virtually unreachable. There is onsite parking which although very full was well managed by staff. You need to speak into an intercom to gain access at the barrier and need a code to exit. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again as the hotel is ideally located to access all the tourist attractions.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure to highlight any disabilities or physical challenges as stairs and no lift.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nickye21 wrote a review Sep 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom27 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed in one of their lovely 'cosy' rooms, as described the room wasn't the biggest in size but it was so lovely and the bed was unbelievably comfy!! Lovely tray of a selection of teas, yorkshire parkins & fresh milk to the room if required. The hotel is so fab! It's quirky, clean & brilliantly situated to explore the beautiful city of York and the staff are so very lovely. The very helpful receptionists & the lovely restaurant staff were so friendly & made us feel so welcome. The food in the restaurant was superb. Would highly recommend & we can't wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Woody wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions
The assistant manager is fantastic so normal and professional and accommodating he’s worth his weight in gold also love gavin. And the young lad who’s only 18 he’s beyond his age with his professionalism . just a fantastic place to stay I’ve been over ten times now. its the only place in york I’ll stay. Clean and very comfy the food is second to none .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Wardale, General Manager at Middletons York
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Lopre, Thank you for providing your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that the team at the hotel were able to assist you during your stay in a kind, safe and positive manner and we able to accommodate your needs. All guest feedback is really important to us and we do share it with our team each week, as it helps us to recognise great work and continue to improve our service. When planning a return trip to York, please do not hesitate to contact us directly, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another ten times. Kind regards, Adam Wardale General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fat Gatt wrote a review Sep 2022
George, South Africa22 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
A few days in York with mum and from the moment we arrived everything was excellent. All staff were friendly, helpful and always smiling. The breakfasts were all freshly cooked to order. The variety was incredible and tasty. We also ate one night in the hotel- once again all freshly cooked to order and superb. The bar is also well stocked. Rooms - we had a cosy twin- are tastefully decorated with all the extras you need. I will not hesitate to book again when I am next in York - there is nowhere else here I would rather stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Saturday night - good singer from 7-10 Location- less than 10 mins into town Parking on site
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Wardale, General Manager at Middletons York
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Fancourt, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent visit, your support and lovely review are truly appreciated. I'm really pleased to read you and your mum had such an enjoyable stay with us and that our team looked after you both. When planning a return trip to York, please do not hesitate to contact us, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Paul Miller Assistant Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eamonn Collinge wrote a review Sep 2022
Skiathos, Greece17 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked The Middleton because it is dog friendly. It provides beds , bowls & biscuits (for the dog not the guests) The hotel is gorgeous just as the photos show and the grounds are delightful. Our dog friendly room was classed as "cosy". What wasn't explained when we booked that there was no room to swing a cat, let alone a small dog. I found it very claustrophobic. Such a shame as there were some lovely extras like a bath robe & slippers, which was pointless as we couldn't move around the room. Thankfully our dog is very small and used to hotels, so he adapted, but we didn't. The staff are really lovely and we met some lovely families in the grounds so our little dog had lots of fun. When we mentioned our disappointment in the size of the room we were told an upgrade was an extra £30 but none available at the time. On paying our bill, we learnt there was an extra £15 for the dog (thought this had been included already) . So sad to be writing this review as it could have been 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't book room 7
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Wardale, General Manager at Middletons York
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Minamonfim Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us, I am delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay but appreciate that the room size was small. We have 4 rooms that accommodate dogs, 1 cosy, 2 comfy and 1 accessible room. We do try to portray the size as best we can and I feel the name 'cosy' communicates the small room fairly. Unfortunately on this occasion we had none of the comfy rooms available to move you to but would recommend one of those in future for a larger room. The charge of £15 per stay for adding a dog to a room is advertised on our website and communicated at the time of booking and is in addition to the room cost to cover the additional extras in the room as well as additional cleaning. Whilst I wish you had a better experience, we will use your comments to improve and ensure we deliver exceptional service for all future guests. I would value the opportunity to welcome you back and I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the warmest of welcomes and a relaxing experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Kind regards Adam Wardale General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maxkoda wrote a review Aug 2022
12 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed over the bank holiday, the hotel was very nice and relaxing, clean and staff are friendly. The breakfast was lovely, very tasty. We ate light lunches off the menu which was plentiful and tasty. The only disappointment for us was the extortionate prices of drinks! £30 for a bottle of Pinot Grigio, A glass of wine and double brandy £22. I find this strongly priced. Especially when everywhere else we went it was cheaper. Would definitely stay again it’s a nice hotel and pleasant staff in a great location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Wardale, General Manager at Middletons York
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Maxkoda, Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback about your stay. I will share your comments with the team and we will use them to keep working hard on delivering consistently good experiences for all our guests. With regards to our drinks prices, we regularly check other 4* hotel competitors in the city to ensure that our prices are competitive. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Adam Wardale General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JimRoebuck wrote a review Aug 2022
Castle Cary, United Kingdom29 contributions10 helpful votes
The 2 days we spent at Middletons were excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms comfortable, well appointed with extra little touches such as a proper coffee machine, lavender spray for the pillows and a lovely recipe book from which to glean new ideas. The food was delicious for both breakfast and dinner. Our only complaint was the noise at intervals through the night from people walking past and some early morning deliveries under our bedroom windows. The delivery men obviously thought that if they were up and doing at 6.30am so should the hotel guests be. Apart from this I would thoroughly recommend Middletons which is within walking distance of York city centre and gave us a lovely base from which to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Wardale, General Manager at Middletons York
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear JimRoebuck, Thank you very much for your feedback, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay overall with us. As a city centre hotel we do have some outside noise as you would expect, however as we are just tucked away in a more peaceful area of York we do find that we are much quieter than the hotels in the central city. I can only apologise for the delivery noise that woke you, I have since spoken to our beer delivery company as they should be delivering from 9am onwards. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Middletons again soon. Kind regards, Adam Wardale General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JoanneKYork wrote a review Aug 2022
York37 contributions27 helpful votes
I recently treated my Mum and adult niece to afternoon tea at Midldetons. We were all very impressed with the food, the presentation, the service and the outdoor dining area. I cannot fault our waiter - he was an absolute gem. The only thing I was disappointed in was the fact that a 10% service charge was automatically added to the bill. Nowhere on their website or even in an advert in the LocalLink does it state this - very naughty. It is stated on their evening meal menu however. I was actually going to leave a larger tip for the waiter, so they actually lost out. What was even worse was that I wasn't given a bill with a breakdown until AFTER I had paid - this was by the rude guy behind the bar. Please rethink this policy - people are on a budget and 10% can soon add up.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Wardale, General Manager at Middletons York
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Dear JoanneKYork, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to Middletons. We are pleased that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea, especially the food, the presentation, the service and the outdoor dining area. However, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused due to the service charge. We do work hard with our team, ensuring they understand the role they play in making sure all our guests/customers are happy with their time at Middletons and I will personally ensure these are areas of focus for us in the coming weeks. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Paul Miller Assistant Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$128 - US$178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lady anne middletons york, hotel lady anne middletons
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Middletons York
Which popular attractions are close to Middletons York?
Nearby attractions include Mindlock Escape Rooms (0.2 km), Can You Escape? York (0.3 km), and The York Dungeon (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Middletons York?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Middletons York?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Middletons York?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Middletons York?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cresci Pizzeria, Karoo Bar & Kitchen, and skosh.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Middletons York?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Middletons York located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of York.
Are any cleaning services offered at Middletons York?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Middletons York offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Middletons York?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Middletons York?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (2.2 km), Holy Trinity Church (0.7 km), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (0.4 km).