We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Middletons York

Show Prices
#23 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Middletons York
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

725 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Middletons York
See the most recent reviews
Showing 715: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed at the middletons in Feb . The hotel is right in the centre and is well presented. Nice bar area for a few drinks and the rooms are modern and well kept . Overall a good hotel with great location. Only bad thing I would say is it's got a good sized car park but they charge you £10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team. We would love to welcome you back to Middleton's next time you visit York. Remember to call or email us direct as we always offer 10% off accommodation. Best Regards, Middletons, York

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed at the Middletons hotel for a weekend. Really good position. £10 or day parking on a first come first serve basis. We stayed room only. The room was adequate, the bed needed a new matress and the bathroom was tiny. The restaurant and bar area were really nice. Staff were helpful and friendly. We ate there night 2 in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jillwinder
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team. We would love to welcome you back to Middleton's next time you visit York. Remember to call or email us direct as we always offer 10% off accommodation. Best Regards, Middletons, York

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Middleton - most interesting buildings and history. Our room was in a separate building opposite the reception and was a very good size with a spacious bathroom and walk-in wardrobe - just perfect. Breakfast is super with a large choice - we ate in each night and was not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jackie R
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team. We are thrilled you enjoyed dishes off our new menu, we will be sure to pass it onto Peter and his team. Should you be returning to York we would be delighted to welcome you back to...

Cramlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having never stayed in York before I chose this as a surprise birthday treat for my husband - the deal was good and the room looked fantastic. It didn't disappoint. Our room was over in a separate building and was lovely and spacious. The bathroom was enormous and the whole place was so clean. The hotel location was ideal and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 79ck
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team. We are so glad you chose to spend such a special occasion with ourselves, it was a pleasure to be a part of it! Should you be returning to York, we would be delighted to welcome you...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Middletons. What a gem of a hotel! When we arrived we were greeted by friendly, helpful receptionist. We parked the car and went out to explore for a couple of hours. Our room was lovely, clean and extremely comfortable but we noticed that the heated towel rail wasn't working. We rang reception...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank san257
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team, especially Chris! Should you be returning to York we would be delighted to welcome you back to Middletons! Remember to always book direct as we offer 10% off accommodation. Best Regards, Middletons, York

Southampton
Reviewed 1 week ago

Set in a group of interesting buildings - this hotel is a peaceful place to stay in York. There is a nice lounge/bar to meet-up and breakfast is pretty good too! The bathroom in my room was a tiny shower-only but that probably varies with the rooms.. and sound seems to travel across the corridor rather easily. But what you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirkm
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team. Should you be returning to York we would be delighted to welcome you back to Middletons! Remember to always book direct as we offer 10% off accommodation, plus you can mention you would like a larger bathroom...

Shepperton
Reviewed 1 week ago

We travelled to York with friends for a mid week break. There is so much to see (e.g. National Railway Museum, York Minster) all within a short distance of each other. Middletons is just out of the town but walkable within 15 minutes. It is charming and appears to being 'woken' up with new ideas as was Sleeping Beauty! It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sophie531
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team. We are so glad you enjoyed exploring York, it is an amazing City. Should you be returning, we would be delighted to welcome yo back to Middletons! Remember to always book direct as we offer 10% off...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a really nice place to stay. Close to the centre but surprisingly quiet at night. Our room was spacious and the rainfall shower was awesome. All of the staff were delightful- friendly and helpful. Some reviewers have complained thst the bedrooms are cold. Our room was a little cool but there was a good heater so that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team. Should you be returning to York, we would be delighted to welcome you back to Middletons! Remember to always book direct as we offer 10% off accommodation. Best Regards, Middletons, York

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the hotel on a Sunday night. Unfortunately I didn't arrive until 10pm. I asked if I could have room service, maybe just some sandwiches but was told the chef goes home at 9pm so I couldn't. I always thought hotels offered 24 hour room service. Only wanted a sandwich!!!! Had to pay for parking too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank-you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments as we are constantly trying to improve our products and services. We will take your comments on board regarding a 24 hour menu and look at designing one with our chefs. Next time you reside with us I'm sure we will have it available. Should you be returning to York...

preston,UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

With a historical profile that traces back to 1659 Middletons Hotel, restaurent and facilities offers spacious, quirky and atmospheric dining complimented by well trained and knowledgeable staff. On this occasion we went for the afternoon tea which was one of the best (and biggest) we have sampled. The usual good quality, good service and good ambience really stands this place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magicbrian
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team. We run Afternoon Tea throughout the whole year, we would be delighted for you to return and sample it again next time you visit York! Best Regards, Middletons, York

434 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (188)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (107)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Bedroom (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (21)
Viewed
Deluxe Single Room (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Triple Room (20)
Viewed
Other (47)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Small Double Room (16)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
978 reviews
0.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#14 of 46 in York
952 reviews
1.2 km away
The Churchill Hotel
0.9 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Middletons York

Address: Skeldergate, York YO1 6DS, England (Formerly Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $129 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Middletons York 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Middletons York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Anne Middletons York
Hotel Lady Anne Middletons
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Middletons York staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Middletons York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Although we were in one of the buildings that haven't been upgraded the room was huge. Not double glazed but grade 2 listed and stunning.”
 of 5 bubbles RosieMilne, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for a deluxe”
 of 5 bubbles X9923MSanneb, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No lift so as low as possible”
 of 5 bubbles jillwinder, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“42 was good”
 of 5 bubbles jackier939, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask if you want a proper bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles Kirkm, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5