We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Queen's Staith Road Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$127
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/12/22
Destinia.com
US$97
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Hotels.comUS$129
TravelocityUS$129
ZenHotels.comUS$135
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (521)
Room & Suite (148)
Dining (11)

About

#30 of 52 hotels in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This hotel offers accommodation perfectly situated on the banks of the River Ouse in the heart of the city of York. The Queens Hotel features 78 bedrooms. Guests of the hotel are welcomed in the lobby, which has a 24-hour reception. A lift provides easy access to the upper floors. Services and facilities at the hotel include wireless internet access, a brasserie restaurant and a lounge bar. Guests arriving in their own vehicles must pre book parking, nightly charges apply. All major tourist attraction and shopping is within walking distance and some nightlife/restaurants/pubs are located near the hotel. Room description All 78 rooms feature central heating and a bathroom with shower/bathtub and hairdryer. The accommodation units offer a range of amenities, including tea and coffee making equipment. Superior river view rooms can be requested and carry a nightly supplement, smoking rooms can also be requested.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
2215Reviews44Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 631
  • 918
  • 426
  • 153
  • 87
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
7wmf wrote a review Nov 2022
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom171 contributions137 helpful votes
First the positives. Great room, comfy bed, great views from room. hot shower, brilliant location [not too far from the railway station], brilliant breakfast, friendly breakfast staff. Negatives. Reception staff ignorant, no acknowledgement when you walk in the hotel or when you say morning. At night there is an intercom to get in the hotel so the night porter can let you in. After 10 minutes of no answer i banged on the door. He then opened up. He rudely said `there is no need to bang`. I think a bit of customer services training would down go well. However, moan over. Great stay, great hotel and worth a booking.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Roam550659 wrote a review Nov 2022
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom1 contribution
Thìs hotel is better than its star rating. Rooms are very comfortable. Staff are superb and friendly, Breakfast and evening meals good. Nice bar with a superb view of the Ouse. Wilĺ go back again. Worth the booking. Many ciach parties stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
NurseMel50 wrote a review Oct 2022
Harrogate, United Kingdom390 contributions60 helpful votes
+1
Booked to stay for 1 night as meeting up with family for the weekend. Booked 2 rooms. Really impressed with the hotel. Right on the river and close to shops and the centre of York. Paid for car park too which is under the hotel and was £16. We were warned that it can flood as York floods ALOT, but all was good. The rooms were on the 2nd floor and very nice. Not a great view but we weren’t in the room until we went to sleep. 1 double and single bed in both rooms. rooms big and very clean. We had breakfast booked too but came down earlier than we had booked as wanted to head into the city early and they didn’t have a table even though there were loads of empty tables?! We had to wait a little while for someone else to finish but that was ok. Breakfast was a good choice of a full cooked English, cereals toasts, yogurts and fruit juices. When we had finished the tables were all still empty ! Breakfast was very nice. Very noisy at night as a few bars are on the other side of the river and we had a few drunk people shouting outside. We would stay here again as very close to everything. Receptionists all very helpful .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ian T wrote a review Oct 2022
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom110 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
Excellent 4-day break and food excellent and the staff couldn't be more friendly. The room is slightly tired but nice riverside view and livable. Easy access to the town centre. We even managed to book and pay for a parking space under the hotel so were able to leave the car and just walk around York.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book the car 0ark space and its easy to drive into and then leave car safely.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sparkleprincess99 wrote a review Oct 2022
Pontypool, United Kingdom38 contributions28 helpful votes
Good points..... A lovely hotel in the best location. Everything is in very close proximity. Clean comfortable room Lovely lounge overlooking the River Pleasant staff Good breakfast choices Bad points..... Breakfast was always cold Evening meal not good atall. Everything cooked in some sort of sauce. Potatoes and veg served with everything. wifi not fit for purpose Shower not hot enough and had a fixed head. The hot tap at the sink was very hot strangely enough. Bathrooms in need or refurbishment ie walk in showers Way too hot in every part of the hotel
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
SheilanMike wrote a review Oct 2022
Folkestone, United Kingdom40 contributions7 helpful votes
Very pleasant stay in this centrally situated hotel. Friendly staff, and tasty food. Our room was comfortable and quiet, and we could leave the car and walk easily to the Minster as well as other places of interest
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alison H wrote a review Oct 2022
UK50 contributions34 helpful votes
Just amazing, says it's only 2 Star but I think it deserves more! Staff are great, nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are clean and the beds are so comfortable. Great bar and restaurant with great prices. Breakfast is plentiful with lots of choices. Ideal location, 10 mins from station, 10 minutes from centre. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Big Ben wrote a review Oct 2022
Brentwood, United Kingdom24 contributions14 helpful votes
I will start with the parking, I paid for secure parking however due to the hotel having noise issue the security gate to the carpark (The noise caused complaints) and second issue of refurbishment being ongoing, the gate was up to allow the building teams to park in the entrance way. This made it difficult to get out of the carpark due to there vans. When I questioned staff they were very dismissive of the issue and said they had CCTV on so it would be fine. The hotel itself is being partial refurbished and that is to revamp the very dated rooms, we were aware of this beforehand, however we were not prepared for 7am drilling and banging from the building works. In addition to this the corridors were often filled with building equipment and furniture which was ongoing throughout the stay. The room, while well proportioned, was very dated. This could have been forgiven if it wasn't for the fact the room was not clean. There were a number of stains on the carpet, the bathroom sink was stinking when used. The bath mat was moldy and the shower itself was a trickle of water, making it difficult to wash quickly. The curtains were very grubby and the room smelled very stale, the bed was adequate but we couldn't be 100% that the sheets had been properly cleaned as there was an odd smell to the bedding. The TV was of decent size but kept cutting in and out of signal when in use, which was annoying when we decided to have an early evening chilling in the room we had paid for, the WiFi was useless, if planning to work while staying here you will need to hotspot your phone. The breakfast food was OK, however the description of a wide choice of cooked food and continental breakfast dishes was over exaggerated, there was no fruit on two days and bananas on the last morning, one choice of yogurt and 3 small cereal options. The cooked food was standard: Bacon, eggs, sausages, hash browns, tomatoes,mushrooms and bean's. Toast was something that had to be requested and was more like warm bread. On the first morning my partner was served a cup with the remainder of someone's lipstick stains on the rim. On closer inspection of the glasses there were a number which were not clean. On the second night we went to the bar area to grab a couple of drinks. The bar was full of empty unwashed glasses and when we got our drinks our glasses where sticky. There was a smell of stale ale which was not appealing in the slightest. On checking out raised a couple of things with the receptionist and was meet with at best distinct lack of interest and worst just plan rudeness. Sadly this hotel did not meet the standards it professed to uphold. I would say the location and river view was pretty and the fact the parking was at the hotel itself made it one of the reasons I booked it. However after this visit I will not be visiting again as there are better hotels in York and carparks that are not much more expensive than the supposed secure parking.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Samantha Ashby, General Manager at The Queens Hotel
Responded 20 Oct 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on trip advisor as well as booking.com. We do appreciate all feedback from our guests. I am sorry your were disappointed with your visit. I recall witnessing your departure from our hotel when my Deputy Manager asked you if you had enjoyed your stay, at the time the only comment you made was that you were unhappy that the car park gate was perched open by another vehicle. My colleague explained to you that this was only for the morning period to allow instant access to the team refurbishing the bedroom furniture. I believe you mentioned it made it difficult to get out of the car park and my colleague advised that any cars/vans in the way these would be moved straightaway, also mentioning that the gate was closed securely overnight for the safety of the vehicles inside. I am surprised that you did not take the opportunity to feedback the other issues you have raised in your review. I would like to take this opportunity to respond. I am sorry the decor was not to your liking, the small refurbishment we have just finished was replacement of furniture with a more up to date style and we will be repainting the rooms over the next few months. I am also sorry that our maintenance team started earlier than expected, I have raised this issue with them. I understand that all old furniture was cleared straight from each room to a pick up van and all new furniture was then transported to the 5 rooms we refurbished each day being stored within each room. I am not aware of any building equipment as there was no structural work taking place, any equipment used was kept within the rooms we were working on or at times within an alcove on the corridor but at no time were any of our corridors blocked. Our bedding is cleaned by an industrial cleaning company who specialise in hospitality linen, the feedback with regards the bathroom have been passed onto the housekeeping and maintenance team to investigate and rectify. I have also asked my Head Housekeeper to arrange for the curtains to be sent to the dry cleaners as soon as she can. I am sorry that the poor WIFI has an effect on some satellite TV channels, this is a frustration for us and we have asked our tech company to find a solution however this does rely on a cabling upgrade within the city centre. I understand York City council are hesitant to allow streets to be dug up to lay cables required to offer super fast broadband. Our breakfast does include everything you have listed as well as cereals, porridge, croissants, cold meat and cheese, my apologies if the fruit offer was lacking during your stay, there should be a bowl of fresh fruit such as apples and oranges as well as a bowl of peaches or fresh fruit salad. Although I am not aware of any problems last week we may have had a delivery issue as sometime happens. We are finding shortages of all food types currently due to the factors such as brexit and the war in Ukraine. This has definitely affected the availability of cereals. Last week we only had access to 3 choice of box cereal plus weetabix but this week we have Alpen and Muesli available too. We really are at the mercy of the suppliers. Your comments about the bar have been fed back to the team, I am unsure of the time you visited, it may very well have been following the dinner of our coach group, it can take some time to pop the glasses through the glasswasher as we only have a very small bar and washing area. If there were any problems with the glassware you were served my team would have been happy to rectify immediately. I do appreciate your comments and hope my feedback addresses your issues,I am sorry your stay with us did not meet your expectations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
patriciabateson53 wrote a review Oct 2022
Launceston, United Kingdom54 contributions17 helpful votes
From the moment we entered this grand building we were saying WOW the decor is beautiful, tastefully done and not pretentious . All of the staff we met were well trained , polite, and friendly. We were attending a friends wedding for the evening reception and had booked a room for the overnight stay. Breakfast was service and buffet style, again very well trained friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay so much that the next time we are in Southsea this will be the place that we will be staying .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
johnandclare wrote a review Oct 2022
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom511 contributions56 helpful votes
Stayed for 1 night,4th October 2022 via Booking.com. Lovely position next to the river and a bridge close by to go straight into the City Centre. Underground car park was handy. We received a lovely warm welcome at reception, very friendly. Room was on 2nd floor and was perfect...double and single beds, and immaculately clean. We ate in the hotel and both dinner and breakfast were excellent and plentiful. Would recommend and would return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$93 - US$140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
queens hotel york
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
78
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE QUEENS HOTEL: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 531 Photos (York, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Queens Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Queens Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Shambles (0.4 km), Locked In Games York (0.5 km), and Mindlock Escape Rooms (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Queens Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Queens Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Queens Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Queens Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cresci Pizzeria, The Taylor Made Kitchen, and The Dark Horse Espresso Bar.
Is The Queens Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of York.
Are there any historical sites close to The Queens Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (2.1 km), Holy Trinity Church (0.5 km), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (0.4 km).
Does The Queens Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is The Queens Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.