We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Warrens

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Warrens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Warrens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 213: English reviews
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My dad booked this hotel for me and my partner for one night. As we arrived we were greeted with open arms and made to feel welcome, the parking lot was a little difficult to find in the dark but we got there so no complaints. The room was warm and perfect with a gorgeous comfortable bed. When asking the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kdoll_17
Yorkies, Owner at Warrens, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a lovely response. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in York.

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I've got to admit I do usually snub the thought of B&B's or guesthouses but we decided to go here being a last minute treat on the cheap due to the time of year etc and we were so glad we did. This place is lovely and even better than we imgagined from the nice pictures. All the staff/owners are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claires79
Yorkies, Owner at Warrens, responded to this review

We look forward to seeing you at Christmas time if not before.

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Warrens for three nights 23rd to 26th November our room was very spacious beautifully decorated with everything we could wish for a very enjoyable stay. Jenny greeted us on arrival with a very warm welcome even giving us a map of York taking the time to show us the different walks into town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Airth
Yorkies, Owner at Warrens, responded to this review

Great review, thank you very much.

Bolton
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed here last minute for a Sunday night. Smooth friendly check in, plenty of info etc. Room 6 on the top floor was very clean and tidy, some little diy finishing could be tidied up but that can be said of almost anywhere. Well located with car park to the rear which is a bonus for York. We'd use them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fourtoes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We love York and we enjoyed our stay at the Warren's. The off road car park was a bonus and best of all free. Breakfast ws great with plenty of choice. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was about a 10 minute walk to the town which is a pleasant walk accross a park or along the city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ant1tom
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I stayed at warrens recently and was extremely impressed. All of the staff were extremely courteous and friendly, the room rates were very reasonable and the location was excellent - it is a 10 minute walk into the centre. The only problem was the access to the car park was very narrow but at least there is a car park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zacdog04
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed at the Warren as part of a touring trip around UK (we are Australian). We really enjoyed our stay at the Warrens. The owners were very friendly. Our room was nice and clean. The breakfast was really good. I especially enjoyed the porridge with Baileys. That is one of the problems I had over the UK was finding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan G
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Wonderful owners, extremely helpful and friendly. Amazing breakfasts with gluten-free options available. Very well located for the city. Have already recommended it to friends and family. As an added bonus, check out Millie’s grocers at the end of the street for some of the best fresh fruit I’ve ever tasted.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
Yorkies, Owner at Warrens, responded to this review

Thanks for the great comments. At the end of our street we have some outstanding, independent shops, restaurants and TWO camra pubs, it really is a great place to live and visit.

Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Spent only two nights at The Warrens but would definitely return. An extremely well run establishment. Richard and Jenny are a lovely, friendly couple and gave a very warm welcome and could not be more helpful. The room was very pleasant, the bathroom spotless and the bed comfy. Breakfast was excellent and served in the bright conservatory by very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne R
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I have never experienced a better all round package (age 68) than the two nights spent at The Warrens. Richard, Jenny and the other staff are all charming, friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. Having been in the licenced trade and in business dealing with the great British public for many years I marvel at their attitude and fortitude. A very well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan C

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 km away
Barrington House
Barrington House
#97 of 206 in York
117 reviews
0.1 km away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#51 of 206 in York
186 reviews
0.2 km away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#62 of 206 in York
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
York House
York House
#50 of 206 in York
318 reviews
0.5 km away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#5 of 206 in York
324 reviews
0.4 km away
Acer Guest House
Acer Guest House
#28 of 206 in York
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We would like to say a massive thank you to all our wonderful guests. After a whirlwind 13 years of welcoming guests from around the World we have made a decision to have a break and Warrens will be permanently closed from Christmas 2015. We will genuinely miss you. Lots of love Richard and Jenny Warren ... more   less 

Additional Information about Warrens

Address: 30 Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Class:4 star — Warrens 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Warrens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warrens Hotel York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Warrens staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Warrens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no lift but our room was on the first floor at the back and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles christinen639, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Go for room 6 on the top floor - no noise!”
 of 5 bubbles KirstyP21, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Phone and speak to Jenny or David our room was exactly as described”
 of 5 bubbles Redsteve90, 20 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Room on the road gets a very small amount of noise as the city wakes up but really did not bother us during the night - hotel has double glazing so its actively and sizeably mitigated any interruptions!”
 of 5 bubbles 997dw, 26 Feb 2015 | Read review
“'residential' area so no noise issues”
 of 5 bubbles waltzingmatilda, 19 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay