We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gillygate Guest House

Show Prices
#51 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gillygate Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gillygate Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 201: English reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely rooms really clean. Large selection for breakfast really nice hosts would definitely return on our next visit to york nice area close to york minster the shambles good location for the station thanks for the hospitality

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

We had a 3 night stay here. It's a lovely little guest house about 200m at a guess from the nearest gate into York. Takes a few minutes to walk to the Minster so location wise spot on. We had room 2 which has a comfortable king sized bed. The only negative is the very tiny en suite but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emillergmiller
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to host you on your return to York Warm regards, Mark and Joyce

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

A good location, short walk to the Minster and all that's in the centre of York. A small car park that is tricky with more than two guests cars. Rooms are ok, a little noisy at the front, a little more investment in the rooms and this could be one of the best. The breakfast has a good choice but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilsFamilyView
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review, its all helpful, we continually strive to develop our guesthouse, when we get the chance, all rooms hallways, stairs and dining room were re set and painted earlier this month and we all be investing in the next few months as well. I'm sorry you feel breakfast was burnt, you should of said and I...

Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights in January with our dog in rooms 7 and 8. Rooms were really well decorated, warm and clean. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The only real criticism is that the shower lacked any oomph which was a bit disappointing. The bar areas were really nice and the atmosphere was great, a nice departure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Kate, Thats grand you had a good stay at the Gillygate Pub with rooms but you have us mixed up, we are across the road and don't have a bar as we are the Gillygate Guesthouse.. But overall its great to hear you had a good time in York. Regards, Mark and Joyce

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017

This guesthouse is located in the city centre within walking distance of the Minster and National Railway Museum. There is a friendly welcome and the breakfast was freshly cooked. My single room was quite cramped and drafty, since this is an old building. But at the back there was no problem with traffic noise - this might be an issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Steve, Thanks for the review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.. Regards, Mark and Joyce

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights and were very happy with our experience. We found Mark to be very helpful and genuinely friendly, he made a real effort to engage us in conversation and made us feel very welcome. Checking in and out was very easy and hassle-free. The room we stayed in was perfect, literally no complaints. The décor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bexxie11
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks and its grand to hear from you... take care and will happily cook the scrambled egg for you when you visit next.. All the best.. Regards, Mark and Joyce

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a night with friends for some shopping and drinks. Ended up in the attic twin double room, could hear the water running constantly and the wind was loud (no warning of this) The shower isn't ensuite and next to the room, meaning you had to leave the room in the night to use it. The shower was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma R
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Gemma, thank you for your feedback as its always valued, but Id like to reply and explain. Firstly we have a long standing reputation especially with this room with many returning guests very happy in there and love this room as it gives privacy and own space to the two people. Unlike other twin rooms where your next to...

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Just got back from 4 days staying at this lovely place,our 2nd time with Mark n Joyce who make you feel Very welcome,we stay on the first floor which has 3 rooms very easy access as I have a knee condition,our room was lovely perfect size with a small sofa in, ensuite and wall mounted tv ,really comfy bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tinknmoo
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi and thats grand to hear from you, we look forward to seeing you again next year as it will soon pass.. I hope you had a great Christmas and New Year.. Warm regards, Mark and Joyce

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Stayed for one night, friendly guest house with parking which is ideal for those who want to be within walking distance of York city centre, this is an ideal location as York Minster a few minutes away and a 5-10 minute walk to the shops Twin room clean and warm although due to low beams and separate toilet will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheena K
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Sheena, Thanks for this.. Great to hear from you and hope you had a great Christmas and New Year.. Regards, Mark and Joyce

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Location is excellent. The cooked Breakfast is pretty good with the portion size more than adequate. The owner, Mark, was very friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. It was quite hot but that was easily solvable as the radiator had its own thermostat. Only complaint was the bathroom was quite compact but as I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Caroline, Thanks for this and we look forward to welcoming you again.. Regards, Mark and Joyce

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 km away
The Gillygate
The Gillygate
#44 of 192 in York
374 reviews
0.1 km away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#34 of 192 in York
367 reviews
0.2 km away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#33 of 192 in York
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#11 of 192 in York
706 reviews
0.2 km away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#25 of 192 in York
1,027 reviews
0.3 km away
Airden House
Airden House
#66 of 192 in York
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly refurbished, high quality, boutique style accommodation offering locally sourced breakfast, next to the city walls and within 5 minute walk of the Minster and city centre. Luxury rooms all en-suite. Free private parking and WIFI throughout. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gillygate Guest House

Address: 43 Gillygate, York YO31 7EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: $137 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gillygate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gillygate Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Halifax, United Kingdom
29 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Gillygate Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 5 was at the back of the property, off the main road and spacious”
gillianm74, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Two floors, don't think there was a lift.”
juliamY3274AL, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the south sides are quieter”
dannibear26, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seem ok.”
elijahc1, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Might be noisy at the front”
stevepmorris, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5