We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Twice Brewed Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Twice Brewed Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

394 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 386: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed for one night for my birthday. We had the Christmas Fayre menu when we arrived which was superb. Pheasant well recommended. Staff very pleasant and the atmosphere very relaxed. Our room was lovely and clean, well decorated and warm. Had a couple of drinks in the bar in the evening where we had a good chat with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My girlfriend, and my two sons and I went on Sunday after a nice day at Housesteads Roman Fort. We ordered 3 burgers and chips, and 1 hot meat sandwich. We waited 45 minutes for the food to arrive. The waitress had ordered 4 extra chips on top of the ones we had ordered which come with the burgers. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterByrne39
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at The Twice Brewed Inn, responded to this review

Dear PeterByrne39, Apologies for the delay in responding to your review of The Twice Brewed but I wanted to speak with the member of staff in question, and any others if applicable, before answering. I was surprised to find out which member of staff it was who served you; she is one of our most hardworking, trusted and amicable employees...

Baldwin Place, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed 1 night fir a brief hike on the wall. The staff was friendly and informative. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Morning breakfast was good. Very convenient to hike the wall starting at Steel Rigg. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas W
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at The Twice Brewed Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nicolas W, Many thanks for leaving such a kind review of The Twice Brewed; it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in future. Best wishes, TB

U.K.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Decided to give the pub a second chance after a very poor lunch there several years ago so went for an evening bar meal and wished we hadn't. It was obviously cheap ingredients and no better than a value level micro meal from a supermarket at about 5 times the price. We won't be giving the pub a third chance....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank teluk000
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at The Twice Brewed Inn, responded to this review

Dear telek000, Thank you for leaving a review of The Twice Brewed and I am sorry to read it is not more positive; what did your server say when you mentioned your concerns to them? I would be very surprised they didn't offer to exchange your food or do what they could to rectify the situation. If you didn't mention...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ordered the Sunday Lunch, but I was disappointed there was only one slice of lamb. The selection of Real Ales was also rather weak. Theakstons masquerading as Twice Brewed Bitter (it used to be brewed by Yates), a very weak and tasteless Skiddaw, and another Ruby beer which was ok. There are plenty of local real ales around which are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin E
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at The Twice Brewed Inn, responded to this review

Dear Colin E, Thank you for leaving a review of The Twice Brewed and we are sorry the beer didn't live up to your expectations; we do use many local breweries to supply our beer - Wylam, Allendale, Matfen, High House, Firebrick, Hexhamshire, Alnwick to name a few and it is a shame none of these suited your liking. We...

Egremont, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After our sunday lunch in the pub the previous week we decided to go and stay over for the bonfire night party.5th Nov. Fantastic firework display, lovely meal afterwards. Top notch rockabilly band. 10 out of 10 all round. lovely comfy bed, great bathroom, great breakfast and fantastic efficient staff. If your not happy with this hotel, there is something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buzsha
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at The Twice Brewed Inn, responded to this review

Dear buzsha, Thank you thank you for leaving such a brilliant review of The Twice Brewed - we were hesitant as to whether we should put on a fireworks display and band but your feedback has ensured us that is was the right thing to do and we shall endeavour to do this regularly. Great to hear you thoroughly enjoyed...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a nice place on the main road parallel with Hadrian's Wall. There are some local beers as well as better known ones at the bar. A roaring fire and a decent menu. The rooms are pretty good (although mine had a hole knocked through the plasterboard wall in the bathroom). Breakfast was very good. Great staff. Certainly not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TartanWanderer
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at The Twice Brewed Inn, responded to this review

Dear TartanWanderer, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of The Twice Brewed and thank you for your compliments. We are sorry you found us to be pricey, we don't tend to do seasonal pricing, our rooms are the same price all year round so perhaps others would think this too cheap mid-August? Apologies also regarding the...

Stone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited on Friday 5th November for an early dinner. Quietish atmosphere, good service and tasty hot food. More meat in the homemade steak and local ale pie than I've ever had anywhere previously! Even had deserts, which were fabulous.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AntneH
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at The Twice Brewed Inn, responded to this review

Dear AntneH, Thank you for leaving a review of The Twice Brewed, fantastic to hear you found the food to be so good - that steak pie is pretty amazing, perfect for a cold Winter's day. We hope to see you again if you are in the area, Best wishes, TB

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent accommodation. We spent 6 days walking Hadrian's Wall and stayed in a few Inns along the way. All of the accommodation was good but Twice Brewed Inn was brilliant. The rooms were lovely, the food was great and the staff were brilliant - particularly Sean who went above and beyond. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephenwatson2016
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at The Twice Brewed Inn, responded to this review

Dear stephenwatson2016, Many thanks for leaving such a glowing review of The Twice Brewed; we are thrilled to hear you place us so highly in the accommodation ratings along Hadrian's Wall, it makes all the hard work worth while! We do hope you will visit again if you are in the area, Best wishes, TB

Rome, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I walked in from a downpour and was welcomed warmly at the bar with a fantastic pint. My room was wonderfully comfortable. After a hot shower and a nap I tested the chicken stuffed with haggis. What a great surprise. The kitchen was also dealing with a large party of 50 yet service in the bar did not suffer. Their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roydickinson
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at The Twice Brewed Inn, responded to this review

Dear roydickinson, What a wonderful review of The Twice Brewed - positive, helpful and also hopeful! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to get the chance to welcome you again in future. Best wishes, TB

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hexham
6.1 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,004 reviews
15.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
32.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
622 reviews
23.0 km away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
2,589 reviews
6.6 km away
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Haydon Bridge
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Twice Brewed Inn

Address: Bardon Mill, Hexham NE47 7AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Price Range: $98 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Twice Brewed Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Twice Brewed Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twice Brewed Hotel Hexham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Twice Brewed Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Twice Brewed Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor facing the front gives the best views but there would be a little road noise”
  • Hole in wall - let the room down
  • Biccies!
  • Toiletries
  • Nice bathroom
  • Tea and coffee facilities
  • Nice room, twin beds pushed together
 of 5 bubbles TartanWanderer, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms have great views of the countryside.”
 of 5 bubbles kegg84, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay there - only went for food and drinks”
 of 5 bubbles 290grantn, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Has free wifi but not avaiable in all rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Stuart481024, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They all appeared to be the same layout and standard.”
 of 5 bubbles CarolineW0, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay