We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel

Save
Share
2 George Street, Nottingham NG1 3BP England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Mercure
US$100
View deal
ZenHotels.com
US$92
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
FindHotelUS$110
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (538)
Room & Suite (263)
Dining (42)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 44 hotels in Nottingham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Originally a Georgian townhouse dating from 1822, the Mercure Nottingham City Centre has been restored to its former glory, reclaiming its place as Nottingham’s finest hotel. Located in the heart of the fashionable Lace Market district, this chic property is perfectly placed only minutes from the Capital FM Arena, Old Market Square and Nottingham Castle. 76 individually designed bedrooms are completely unique, ranging from cute and cozy to grand and gorgeous. Every room is equipped with the latest amenities including flat screen TV’s, air conditioning and free wifi. The hotel also boasts a stylish brasserie bar, spacious event rooms and a state of the art fitness centre to offer the best in guest comfort in a great city centre location. Mercure Nottingham truly is the perfect choice for those who wish to stay in Nottingham's most lively and vibrant city centre location by day and especially by night. Mercure Nottingham City Centre is also the very 1st hotel outside of London, the 2nd throughout the whole of the UK and one of a very small handful of hotels throughout Europe which provides Amazon Alexa devices in all bedrooms. Ask Alexa to play the radio, stream music from your phone, request hotel information, a late check out, extend your stay, set a wake up call. . . to name just a few ways Alexa can entertain and help you during your stay.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Bulgarian, Hungarian and 3 more
1757Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 773
  • 530
  • 261
  • 105
  • 88
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Cherry D wrote a review 3 Jul
Shenstone, United Kingdom1 contribution
Excellent hotel for a group booking . Staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming at all times , perfect location to walk everywhere , rooms were clean and very comfortable with many individual features .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris B, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear 301cherryd, Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to hear you had such an amazing experience with us and appreciated the quirky nature of our beautiful hotel. I am glad we were able to make the weekend even more memorable. The team and I are so encouraged by your positive feedback and appreciate you having chosen to stay with us on this occasion. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Until next time. . . Kindest regards Joana Lopes Operations Manager
Read more
Emily H wrote a review Jun 2022
11 contributions
My partner booked here for my birthday and it did not disappoint. Great central location, very clean. We got discounted car parking at a car park nearby. The staff even put some goodies in the room for a surprise.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris B, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear P2076NNemilyh Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to hear you had such an amazing experience with us and that you were able to enjoy our beautiful city. I am delighted to hear that our staff helped you to have a great stay. The team and I are so encouraged by your positive feedback and appreciate you having chosen to stay with us on this occasion. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kindest regards Joana Lopes Operations Manager
Read more
Jem J wrote a review Jun 2022
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom246 contributions120 helpful votes
Haven't been to Nottingham for years, we decided to have a weekend there and wanted a central base, so chose this hotel. Parking is available around the corner at a supposed discounted rate, though this didn't work for me. Other than that the restaurant isn't open in the evening. Decent room, very central location and a well cooked breakfast in the morning. Would we stay there again? Probably as it is in a great location, just watch out for the dreaded one way system in the city centre.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris B, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 896jemj, Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to hear you had difficulty with the one way system in Nottingham but pleased you were able to successfully tackle it. Congratulations! I am pleased our location proved to be most ideal for your time in the city and thank you for your kind words about our breakfast offering. We do apologies for the discounted parking not having worked. There is a call button upon the paying machine at the car park where an attendant would be able to assist with any issue you may experience. The team and I thank you for having chosen to stay with us on this occasion and very much hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager
Read more
Christine B wrote a review Jun 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom1 contribution
+1
We had an amazing stay here, I wanted something a bit unusual and this hotel did not dissapoint. On arrival we were met by the most amazing concierge who upgraded us straight away. We were told everything about our room how to use the tap in the room and we got free complimentary soft drinks. The staff are warm and friendly which was really nice. The room was out of this world so quirky and lots to look at. We had bathrobes and slippers which was a nice touch, and plenty of towels for our stay. Without a shadow of a doubt this will be where we stay when In Nottingham! We can't wait to stay again! 💗
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris B, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Joanne, Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to hear you has such an amazing experience with us and appreciated the quirky nature of our beautiful hotel which was built in 1822. I am delighted to hear an upgrade started off your stay in the best possible way. The team and I are so encouraged by your positive feedback and appreciate you having chosen to stay with us on this occasion. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Until next time. . . Kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager
Read more
Nelldex wrote a review Jun 2022
18 contributions16 helpful votes
I stayed for 1 night on the 8th June for Business. I paid £179 for the night. I was told I had been upgraded for free which i thought was nice of them! Whilst the room looked OK the shower cubicle is tiny and suitable for a small child not an adult. When I found a set of complimentary ear plugs on the bedside table it became clear it will be a noisy place to stay. The room AC unit was noisy and did not work so as the room was hot so I used the fan that was in the wardrobe. You really do need to use the earplugs as all you can hear is the multiple AC units belonging to other rooms churning away. I would not recommend this place and certainly not worth £179 per night!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris B, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Nelldex, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you felt the bathroom did not meet your expectations. I thank you for sharing this with us and I will ensure these comments are considered when planning any future refurbishment. I am very sorry to hear that our vibrant location and the noise which came with it was an unwelcome surprise. Your comments are well received and I thank you for sharing them with us. We appreciate you having chosen to stay with us on this occasion. Kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager
Read more
Ricardo Hallal wrote a review Jun 2022
Halesowen, United Kingdom25 contributions7 helpful votes
Room was adequate, the view was awful. I was told at reception the room had been upgraded however it didn’t feel like an upgrade considering I’d spent in excess of £180 I was also told house keeping would not be cleaning room / providing towels unless requested as the room was only booked for two nights which wasn’t the best impression. Cleanliness within the room could have been much better, there was dust around the top of the bed frame and the lamp shades. The inside of the sink and toilet basin hasn’t been cleaned to a high standard and clearly needed a good clean. In terms of location the hotel was in a superb location within close proximity to the city centre. Breakfast was very good but it felt very unorganised and very on top of one another with little privacy when eating. Not the best but not the worst.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris B, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Ricorh92, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that the complimentary upgraded room that was provided to you seems to have disappointed you in some way. I further apologies for any issue you found with the housekeeping standards and thank you for sharing them with me. I will in turn share with the team to address with the individual which serviced your room and provide any additional training and support they may require to ensure the higher standards are reached. I am pleased our location was ideal for your stay and thank you for having chosen to stay with us on this occasion. Your feedback will assist me in my ongoing efforts to improve both our product and service standards. Kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager
Read more
bgmck2791 wrote a review Jun 2022
Peterborough, United Kingdom1 contribution
If you go to Nottingham, this hotel is a great place for comfort, location & great staff. From checking into reception my wife & I were treated straight away by the welcome & the offer of upgraded room. Room was big enough for two adults, smelt clean & fresh & bed was comfortable. Next morning the manager & his team came to see us as there had been water leak from our room into ceiling below. They needed us to move room , they couldn’t apologise enough for our inconvenience and offered us room on top floor, it was more like an apartment than a room, lovely gesture by the manager ( Chris ). Thanks again we had a great stay at mercure hotel & we will be back soon again, The manager, all staff are a credit to the company they represent & the hospitality industry. Brian & Michelle.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris B, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Bgmck2791, Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience with us. The team and I are delighted to hear you were comfortable during your time with us and thank you for your kind words with regards to how the maintenance issue was handled. We are so happy you loved the room you were provided with and thank you for your extremely encouraging comments about the team which I look forward to sharing with them all. We really do appreciate you both having chosen to stay with us on this occasion and very much hope we will have the pleasure of being able to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager
Read more
Jeffrey E wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
I had to spend two weeks on short notice at the hotel. Sophia and Williams really made me feel very at home and comfortable at a very uncertain time in my life. Helping me with everything from a new set of keys to giving me directions to work on my first day! I will forever remember the two strangers that welcomed me to Nottingham!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris B, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 765jeffreye, Thank you so much for your review. I am really glad that William and Sophia looked after you during your stay with us, thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you with us and I really hope we can look after you again in the future. Kindest Regards Chris Butler General Manager
Read more
ALT8919 wrote a review Jun 2022
England, United Kingdom11 contributions13 helpful votes
The experience here was fantastic start to finish. A very warm greeting from Sophia & William who had upgraded my room free of charge, and offered recommendations for food and drinks as it was my first visit to Nottingham. I haven't had service so good in a hotel for years - HUGE thank you both! The room was very well equipped and quiet given its central location, very comfy bed and all the amenities you would need. Multiple options at breakfast, all delicious. Will be staying again :-)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris B, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear ALT8919, Thank you so much for taking your time to leave us a review. We really appreciate your comments on the team, this will provide them with great motivation in their ongoing services to create memorable stays for guests. I am also gad that you found the bedroom allocated comfortable for your stay with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back with us! Kindest Regards Chris Butler General Manager
Read more
Sophie H wrote a review Jun 2022
7 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Absolutely amazing hotel! Staff were friendly and so helpful! Beautiful building and immaculate inside! Sophia and William were great and we will definitely be staying here again! Perfect location for Nottingham city centre! The on site bar, The Curious Tavern, is fabulous! Seriously cannot fault Sophia and William at all- amazing staff and the business should be very proud of having such amazing staff
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris B, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear sophiehZ10432RP, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I have shared this with the team and thank you for your special mention of Sophia and William they are indeed a great asset for the team. I am also glad that you managed to take advantage of Curious Tavern bar and that it was to your liking. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon! Kindest Regards Chris Butler General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$79 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
nottingham comfort inn, comfort inn nottingham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNottinghamshireNottingham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escapologic Nottingham (0.5 km), Logiclock Escape Rooms (0.4 km), and National Justice Museum (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Revolution Hockley, Hungry Pumpkin, and Bistro Live Nottingham.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Nottingham.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Portuguese, Polish, Romanian, Hungarian, and Bulgarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Green's Windmill (1.0 km), Ye Olde Trip to Jerusalem (0.6 km), and Wollaton Hall and Park (4.5 km).