We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St James Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
St James Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

641 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 620: English reviews
Start your review of St James Hotel
 Click to rate
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here on a Sunday evening, reception staff were pleasant and advised regarding the discount for ncp parking when staying at hotel. Double room was clean and well presented. Not a fan of the lighting in the lift but overall this is a great hotel and would stay again. Only negative was being woken at 6.30am by the dustbin lorry,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marksimon11-13
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A group of 15 of us stayed here for my hen party. The hotel was booked as part of a package by "offlimits" who were fab to book with and we'll priced. The hotel is right in the centre and on walking in we definitely felt like we had struck gold. Check in is from 2pm, we got there at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vic L
Leicester
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well to say the room is compact was an understatement however it did everything we wanted. Bed was ok, bathroom did the job. We stayed for 2 nights. Afternoon Tea was amazing. We loved it and couldn't eat everything to be fair. Breakfast was very disappointing to be honest. Day 1 we came down for Breakfast at 9am to find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Towny036
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. I was a little frustrated to read that your accommodation did not meet your expectations, stating "that being compact was an understatement". After investigating your point, it appears that your accommodation was actually booked via a third...

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the second year in a row we have stayed at this hotel of which we have enjoyed both times and have pre booked for next year again . On this occasion I have to say we had the most horrendous sleep as did the rest of our party due to the beds /mattresses being very soft and being...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lorraine2902
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your feedback is very important to us. It was great to read that this was your second visit to the hotel, and that you have already booked to return next year. I was sorry to hear that on this...

chester uk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from a two night stay at the hotel the downstairs areas are great and the staff were very friendly and helpful but sadly our room was very dusty and the bath was very stained and marked we were in room 115 it's really sad as the rest of the hotel seemed lovely sadly silly things let it down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beverleyfield
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beverley Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your feedback is very much appreciated. Guest feedback is extremely important to us, so therefore as you may imagine I was a little disappointed to read that your accommodation did not meet your expectations. I will of course be...

Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked to stay over for one night after being at a concert the evening before. We got up and left at 4AM having had around I would think approx 3 hrs rest....I say rest, as the bed was that uncomfortable we just could not sleep in it. I think Tigger would have expected felt more at home the way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, your comments are very much appreciated, and are important to us. I was of course frustrated to read that on this occasion your return visit to us clearly did not meet your expectations. Our guest feedback is very important to us and is instrumental to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed here a couple of times in 2017 and whilst it can be a pleasant it really depends on the staff team. Some are great, others appalling. Some of the rooms are very small and the wireless coverage poor in places. They supply two bottles of water on the first night of a stay but only the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toff_on_tour
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, your feedback is extremely important to us. Firstly may I take this opportunity to offer my apologies for what I can only imagine must have been a disappointing stay. We pride ourselves on the high standards of customer service that we offer, indeed I have...

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited for a wedding for a two night weekend stay and on walking in I was impressed with the ambiance of the hotel. On booking a few months previously I asked for a family room as my children have to sleep separately (due to a medical condition) but was advised they didn't have any family rooms only an Executive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emma Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel whilst attending a wedding that we were hosting. It was great to read that overall you enjoyed your two night break. I was a little disappointed to learn that you had issues with booking the correct room type for...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent (premium) room; only problem was that the bathroom is underlit (just four 5 watt downlighters) and there's no suitable mirror for shaving / makeup even if it was bright enough to see. But the bar was nice, and the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. Having the NCP car park next door is a big plus for Nottingham! And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, your feedback is very much appreciated. It was great to read your comments in relation to your stay, you especially note your excellent premium room, our No/6 lounge bar and friendly, efficient and helpful stay. I will of course pass on your comments to them....

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in a perfect location for Nottingham city centre, without having the noise of the centre. Staff are friendly, breakfast is lovely, rooms are modern, clean and reasonably sized. Would recommend to anybody looking for a comfortable place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexhines1
Chris H, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel. It was most pleasing to read your amazing review of our hotel. We have worked very hard to create a hotel with an individual identity which is very different to your usually chain hotel offering. It appears that every...

198 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.5 km away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
566 reviews
0.7 km away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.2 km away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#14 of 54 in Nottingham
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
1.0 km away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 54 in Nottingham
2,109 reviews
0.1 km away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#25 of 54 in Nottingham
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in a quiet area of Nottingham city centre adjacent to Nottingham Castle, the St James Hotel is just a 10 minute walk from Nottingham train station and within a short drive of the M1 making the hotel a perfect choice for business and leisure travellers.Guest facilities include complimentary WIFI and onsite parking. Additional parking is available in the adjacent NCP car park. We operate a non smoking hotel policy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St James Hotel

Address: 1 Rutland Street, Nottingham NG1 6FL, England (Formerly Rutland Square Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Price Range: $106 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St James Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Square Nottingham
Hotel Rutland Square
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St James Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Bath, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Dudley, United Kingdom

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from St James Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay elsewhere unless you are truly desparate.”
traveller10185, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Crash pads are small but adequate.”
AndyELancashire, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Executive Room was excellent”
Tim57_12, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 416 was very peaceful :)”
louiseh963, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sixth floor was quiet - can't comment on the others.”
oliderby, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5