We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St James Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
St James Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

625 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for St James Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 604: English reviews
Dorset
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Spent 2 nights here on business and was very pleased with hotel, facilities, food and friendly staff. Perfectly situated for city centre, canal, castle (less than 1 minute from main entrance) and train station which is about a 10 minute walk which was very welcome after being on the train for 5 hours. I had one of the crash pads...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gaileyDorset
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are very much appreciated. It was great to read your comments regarding our hotel and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have worked very hard to create an individual styled boutique...

north
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

Rock hard beds and pillows, have to sit sidewards in toilet as bathroom so small, corridors decorated like the inside of an industrial potatoe peeler. This was a superior King room as well. Breakfast cold, 15 minute wait for things to come out so left with half a plate. Waiter serves tea/coffee and that was 20 minute wait, 1 poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank biglad33
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. I was surprised to read your comments referring to the bed and pillows in your executive room. All of our rooms have new Hypnos beds in and the pillows have all just been recently...

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank simonl82
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Nakuru, Kenya
Reviewed 14 March 2016

What a relaxing stay - beautiful room, great food and fantastic service all round. The penthouse has a great view out over the castle and the staff did so much to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Thanks so much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rjones2014
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, your feed back is very much appreciated. It was great to read your lovely comments relating to your stay in our Penthouse Suite. I am exceptionally pleased that you enjoyed the facilities on offer in the suite. We have worked very hard to create a...

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2016

hotel trys to be a bit boutique but falls flat and feels like a boudoir. gaudy colour choice throughout hotel, trying too hard to be something else. Poor breakfast, no bacon, plates , orange glasses. Staff seemed to be running around but not getting anywhere. parking expensive in NCP car park. Beds comfortable enough, but restaurant and breakfast area needs...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 1blueboy
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. I was sorry to read that you were not in favour of the new décor within the hotel. The vast majority of feedback relating to our refurbishment has been very positive, however we fully...

Reviewed 10 March 2016 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel It's incredibly modern and clean with friendly staff The room I had was great - complimentary water and biscuits in a good sized room. Only slight downside was the tiny telly Nice bar area - very comfortable Breakfast choice was nice but swerve the awful pork & tomato sausage - bleurgh

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary G
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are very much appreciated. It was a pleasure to read that you rate our hotel as being "Fantastic" especially noting our modern appearance, clean accommodation and friendly staff. You mention that the only downside was that the...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2016

When you arrive at the reception everything looks very good but as soon as you go to your room you find this is not the case. Dirty is the word I would use to describe my room and tired more 70's motel than boutique hotel. I was in a small twin with a tiny tv and there was cracked flooring...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Fogeys300
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are very much appreciated. I was very disappointed to read that you refer to our hotel as being a tired, dirty 70's motel and not a boutique hotel. We have worked tirelessly to create an individual styled...

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2016

I stayed in an executive double room - it was more like a mini-suite, there was plenty of space and the bed was enormous! Location was ideal too, we were able to walk to the party in in Nottingham we were attending. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay, the staff were great, I loved the room and the decor, and the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank skullfunkerry
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. It was lovely to read your fantastic comments in relation to your recent stay with us. We have worked very hard to produce a unique styled boutique hotel, so it is especially rewarding to...

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

Here at the moment Looks good Rooms nice with complimentry bttle water cookies n kettle with tea bags As a professional tiler bathroom tiles aint in line with current EU standards bit was prob done before it came in. Parts need re-grouting but bathroom is clean If im in the area again i will prob stay here depending on price

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank obso
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the St James Hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. It was pleasing to read that your accommodation met with your expectations with all of the little added extras such as the complimentary bottles of water, cookies etc.. The hotel has recently completed a...

London
Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

I'm not really a big fan of "boutique" hotels but the St James is incredibly well placed in the centre of Nottingham and, given its location, is fairly quiet. Car parking is round the side of the hotel in what appears to be a post-apocalyptic wasteland but, hey, it's handy! The staff were friendly enough and our room, although small,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank garybons
Chris H, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, your feedback is very much appreciated. It was great to read that generally you enjoyed your stay at the St James Hotel. Unfortunately due to the city location of the hotel we unfortunately do not have any private parking facilities on site, hence we offer our guests...

198 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.5 km away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
549 reviews
0.7 km away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.2 km away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#14 of 54 in Nottingham
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
1.0 km away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#8 of 54 in Nottingham
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in a quiet area of Nottingham city centre adjacent to Nottingham Castle, the St James Hotel is just a 10 minute walk from Nottingham train station and within a short drive of the M1 making the hotel a perfect choice for business and leisure travellers.Guest facilities include complimentary WIFI and onsite parking. Additional parking is available in the adjacent NCP car park. We operate a non smoking hotel policy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St James Hotel

Address: 1 Rutland Street, Nottingham NG1 6FL, England (Formerly Rutland Square Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Price Range: $103 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St James Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your St James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Square Nottingham
Hotel Rutland Square
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St James Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Bath, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Dudley, United Kingdom

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from St James Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay elsewhere unless you are truly desparate.”
 of 5 bubbles traveller10185, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Crash pads are small but adequate.”
 of 5 bubbles AndyELancashire, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Executive Room was excellent”
 of 5 bubbles Tim57_12, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 416 was very peaceful :)”
 of 5 bubbles louiseh963, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sixth floor was quiet - can't comment on the others.”
 of 5 bubbles oliderby, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5