We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,878 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,780: English reviews
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were able to roll our luggage from the train station to the hotel without too much inconvenience. The hotel is very close to the center of town, so there is really no need to use public transportation while there unless you want to go to the edges of town somewhere. I had read some negative reviews on here so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmeraldIsleNCGirl
Leicester
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Although the hotel is currently undergoing some renovation work the service was excellent and there was only minimal disruption.We had both breakfast and evening meals in the restaurant and both were first class. Our room was warm and very comfortable. Highly recommended. Already looking forward to our next visit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chetwood25
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments following your stay with us. We strive to offer the highest levels of comfort, service and cuisine to our guests and I am pleased we lived up to this ideal. I know the team will be most motivated to learn of your feedback. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the...

Wallingford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The staff and hotel were wonderful and we had an amazing first wedding anniversary. It was the first time we had stayed and will definitely stay again. The room was beautiful, extremely comfortable and very very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NatalieT1809
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I was delighted we were able to be a part of your first wedding anniversary. The hotel is a great choice in the beautiful city of Oxford for a romantic break or special occasion in walking distance of most attractions and colleges. We boast a fabulous all day dining...

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I had booked this hotel as a surprise Xmas present for my wife. I thought a bit of luxury on New Years Day would make a change from the usual celebrations at new year. On checking in there were a lot of people checking out from the previous night. All we heard were complaints. Somewhat concerning. The room, a classic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review following your visit to us. I am sorry to learn your were disappointed with your stay. We offer a variety of rooms at the hotel and I do appreciate some of our entry level classic accommodation is not large. We offer all rooms with every confidence guests will...

Beaconsfield
Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely picturesque location with great amenities. Everything is within walking distance. There is so much to do and see in Oxford. The hotel is beautiful, the beds are extremely comfortable and bathrooms are luxorious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunnysandy8
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review following your visit to us. We are perfectly located in the centre of the hotel in walking distance of most attractions and colleges. We offer 151 well appointed bedrooms and endeavour to offer the highest levels of comfort and service to our guests. We have a dedicated concierge team who are on hand to...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This has obviously once been a grand hotel but has seen better days. Very frayed around the edges. The rooms are clean but a bit small. We paid extra for an executive King room but still very cramped with very limited wardrobe and luggage space. The parking price is a complete rip off - 87 pound for 3 days. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We have carried out extensive refurbishment work at the hotel over the last year with our finishing touches to our lobby area underway. We have refurbished all our bedrooms and have a new all day dining restaurant Acanthus and Cartoon Bar....

Abingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a lovely stay. Greeted by lovely front of house and was informed that we had been upgraded to an excecutive room which was a great surprise for us both. We had a bit of a walk to our room but it was clear to find our room and the walking down corridors and up and down quirky stairs added...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben O
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review following your stay with us. I was delighted to learn of your feedback. The team will be thrilled. Our room service phone is covered 24 hours a day and I am sorry this was not picked up when you called. Our executive rooms in our Worcester Wing are popular with our guests being spacious...

West Linn, OR
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a comfortable stay for a single night while passing through Oxford. The staff upfront was great, especially the doorman -- very polite and helpful (his garb really put us back in time and in the mood for the holidays). The one standout individual was the manager in the breakfast room. Got us a table and gave us coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoshBar
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review. The team will be thrilled with your comments. We have a very hard working and dedicated team who do all in their power to ensure our guests enjoy their experience with us. I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future where...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very clean and nice hotel. staff were very polite and friendly. only problem was overnight parking. however you can park at in front of the Nando's Ringo number 3900. overnight parking cost was £3.50 at that place and pay by mobile you can extend your parking without displaying a ticket.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterJohn90
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I was pleased your enjoyed your stay with us. The team will be thrilled. Parking in Oxford is at a premium and is limited. We offer valet parking for £28.50 per night. There are options available operated by the council and the very user friendly park and ride allowing...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Macdonald Randolph is like a grand old lady well preserved in the public areas but with a modern flare of decor in the bedrooms. On arrival the car valet service makes it so much more enjoyable than trying to find parking in the centre of Oxford, and I did did check the rates and they were compatible with public...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymushka
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and I and the team were delighted your enjoyed your stay with us. The bedrooms have been refurbished and we have tried to keep the traditional feel with all the modern conveniences guests would expect from a hotel such as The Randolph. Parking is chargeable and pre-booking is essential. We offer around 40 spaces...

710 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (401)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (194)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (298)
Viewed
Amenities (63)
Viewed
Classic Suite (32)
Viewed
Executive Room (32)
Viewed
Modern Executive Room (30)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Single Room (25)
Viewed
Standard Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.5 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,089 reviews
0.5 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
De Vere Oxford Thames
#5 of 44 in Oxford
975 reviews
0.2 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
603 reviews
0.8 km away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: $228 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Randolph Hotel staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question
surrey
3 months ago
Jerusalem
1 month ago
Chicago
2 months ago
La Jolla, California
3 months ago

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Randolph Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a back facing room”
 of 5 bubbles Raymushka, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rom 023 was large and has view onto the street and Ashmolean Museum opposite.”
 of 5 bubbles kjtravelbug_12, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view!”
  • Lovely view from room (there's a spire there, if you look carefully), overlooking the bins, too!
 of 5 bubbles EMT64, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms only have viewed of brick walls so best to ensure when booking you have an outside room with a street view”
 of 5 bubbles engineerjim, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't book a room around the delivery area as cold and draughty”
 of 5 bubbles MazSurrey, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay