We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

De Vere Oxford Thames

Show Prices
#5 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
De Vere Oxford Thames
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,079 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for De Vere Oxford Thames
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,041: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is set in pleasant grounds and not too far from Oxford if you have a car. I used it for a one night stay while in the area with work. The grounds are attractive and the hotel is nicely decorated but it seemed a bit lifeless to me. Although staff were helpful and friendly they were often stood...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 24HoursFromTulsa
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear 24HoursFromTulsa, Thank you for taking the time to review De Vere Oxford Thames, following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your experience, but obviously disappointed that you did not feel the "wow factor". We certainly strive to exceed our customer's expectations each and every day and will take your feedback and share it...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was lovely. Staff very helpful and the housekeeping came in to spruce our room up every day and that was fabulous.Made the beds, replaced towels and beverages. There is also a silver tray that has a few other drinks on it, including wine and we wasnt sure if it was some kind of mini bar/service tray that may...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl K
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl K, Thank you for your review of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and we will of course use your constructive feedback to improve and make changes where we can. If you have booked and payed for a Superior or Deluxe bedroom, the complimentary drinks tray is included, but...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I celebrated my birthday with 5 friends at the river room restaurant and had a perfect evening. The food was amazing, the service was faultless and the atmosphere was all I had hoped for. Claudio, the Masterchef chef, came to ask if everything was okay. Lovely guy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RosieBrito
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear RosieBrito, Thanks for taking the time to post your super review of your evening at De Vere Oxford Thames. I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your meal in the Restaurant. Claudio is so passionate about his food and very much enjoys speaking with as many diners as he can for their feedback. Do come back and dine again...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent a night at the De Vere and we really enjoyed it, lovely grounds and the hotel it's self is very pretty. Rooms were big and clean with a very stylish bathroom, mini bar is complementary which I have never ever heard of(Red and white wine, coke and snacks) 👍 Facilities are excellent with a gym and pool that can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Tony B, Thank so much for your super review of De Vere Oxford Thames hotel, following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations and thanks for your descriptive comments, which will certainly help other potential guests decide to stay with us at De Vere Oxford Thames. We hope to see you again soon....

Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as a birthday treat. The hotel is set in impressive grounds and features a nice indoor pool and spa. The breakfast option is great - we couldn't get enough of it. The dinner menu was also as nice. Rooms are of a nice size with a huge bed. We travelled into Oxford twice during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Read89
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Read89, Thank you so much for your super review of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am delighted that you chose to stay with us for your Birthday and that you had such wonderful stay with us. We do hope that you will return to De Vere Oxford Thames soon. Many thanks, Jonathan Oldroyd

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This truly is a wonderful hotel. I loved every minute we spent here. We walked into Oxford along the tow path and spent the day there. We returned to the hotel room and found complimentary drinks in the fridge. Bed was so comfy and the room perfect! We overlooked the river and had patio doors onto the grounds!. Evening meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo N
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Jo N, Thank you for your super review of De Vere Oxford Thames, following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your whole experience with us, particularly your Garden bedroom overlooking the Thames. We look forward to seeing you for your Birthday in August! Best wishes, Jonathan Oldroyd

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this on Secret Escapes for our 29th Wedding Anniversary. Everything about this hotel is outstanding, from greeting on reception, staff in bar and waiting areas, all exceptionally polite. They are a credit to the hotel. They cannot do enough for you. Food amazing. The room we had was lovely, overlooking the Thames. This was our wedding anniversary and everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beeniecrew-182
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear beeniecrew-182, Thank you for your wonderful review of De Vere Oxford Thames, following your stay with us to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary. The team and I are so pleased that you had a "Brilliant" time - great to know you were so well looked after and that you particularly enjoyed the food. We look forward to your return visit...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this for my fiancés Birthday treat, unfortunately we were both suffering from viruses but other than not being able to use the spa facilities which we usually would we loved every minute of it here. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist. The room was beautiful overlooking the garden and access to a stocked fridge. We both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Lisa M, Thank you so much for posting your review following your stay with us at De Vere Oxford Thames. We greatly appreciate such comprehensive and generous feedback.It's most encouraging to note that every aspect of your recent stay exceeded your expectations, particularly our award winning food and our welcoming and attentive team. We sincerely look forward to welcoming...

Ruislip, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival we were greeted at reception. We were asked if we were staying for a special occasion and l said it was my birthday the next day. We went to our beautiful spacious room to unpack then returned to the bar for lunch. On return to our room the staff had left a birthday card and a box of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen s
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Karen s, Thanks so much for your wonderful review of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am delighted that you had such an excellent stay for your Birthday and you were well looked after by the team. Do come back again soon to De Vere Oxford Thames. Best regards, Jonathan Oldroyd

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Only stayed one night here before heading off for a full days shopping at Bicester, but I cannot rate it highly enough. The Hotel itself is stunning, set in beautiful grounds and immaculate throughout. The Staff literally cannot do enough for you - they are all very well presented, friendly and helpful. The rooms are delightful and the restaurant is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smiffy40
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear smiffy40, Thank you for your super review of De Vere Oxford Thames following your stay with us. It is so good to hear that you found the hotel and staff "Wonderful" - we are delighted that we exceeded your expectations and very much look forward to your return visit to De Vere Oxford Thames. Warm regards, Jonathan Oldroyd

543 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (331)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (69)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (158)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
College Chic Room (26)
Viewed
Connisseur Room with Balcony (22)
Viewed
Connisseur Room with Terrace (20)
Viewed
Garden Chic Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Standard Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Room with Sitting Area (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
4.8 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
5.1 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
4.7 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,661 reviews
5.5 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
665 reviews
1.4 km away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This stylish AA Four star Oxford hotel, is perfect for those wanting Oxford accommodation in a rural setting. Set on the river, in 30 acres of landscaped grounds, this Oxford hotel is just three miles from the city centre. The River Room Restaurant has an AA Rosette award for its food quality and choice. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Oxford Thames

Address: Henley Road, Oxford OX4 4GX, England (Formerly Oxford Thames Four Pillars)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: $200 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Oxford Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Oxford Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Thames 4 Pillars
Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel Sandford-On-Thames
Thames Four Pillars Oxford
Thames Four Pillars Hotel Oxford
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#6 Business Hotel in Oxford
#7 Family Hotel in Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Vere Oxford Thames staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Oxford Thames staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 24/25 overlook the garden and were quiet”
eckingtonrooms, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“New rooms on ground floor”
Jimmy0106, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for the executive with a view!”
JoN705, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“overlooking the thames”
beeniecrew-182, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Garden room”
lisamZ7510RW, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5