We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Malmaison Oxford Castle

Show Prices
#6 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Malmaison Oxford Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,740 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,672: English reviews
Start your review of Malmaison Oxford Castle
 Click to rate
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

My friend treated me to afternoon tea at Malmaison Oxford in January at it was lovely. Great selection of tea or alcoholic drinks if you wish and a great selection food. The staff were friendly and provided great service. I would definitely suggest to friends and I am planning to treat my mum and nan there soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
Antonio S, Operations Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review

Dear Kelly W, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased you found our afternoon tea selection and our staff to be great. Please let me know if I can help in any way to make it special when you bring your mum and nun. Kindest regards Antonio Sanchez Operations Manager

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This place is wow off the scale. Rooms named after cells this former prison does it for mr. Hopefully the closest I will get to jail but what a good use of an old building. And fun to boot. Great location. Great staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PadiP
Antonio S, Operations Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review

Dear PadiP, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are please you had such a fantastic time in our former prison and you found our amenities and staff to be great. Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards Antonio Sanchez Operations Manager

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Obviously great location in site of old prison, so very special with bedrooms made of three old cells. This is really cool and the hotel location is very good as right in the centre. Rooms are comfortable, functional with some nice touches like prison type carpets. Now for the not so good , breakfast real let down for a hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
Antonio S, Operations Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review

Dear Daniel L, Thank you for taking the time to write review, we are pleased you enjoyed our former prison, we are very sorry that our usual standards were not met in the Brasserie, I have shared your feedback with our Food & Beverage Management team and we are working very hard to address this points. We hope to welcome...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

On sundays they do a deal where the room is £25 if you spend £75 in restaurant, the room was pleasant and comfortable. The restaurant was very underwhelming, poor service and the food was really quite awful - I barely touched my meal. I am not a huge one for writing reviews, but the customer service was incredibly disappointing. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel17fa
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is really quite special, we've certainly never stayed anywhere like it before. We stayed in the 'A Wing', which was on the lower ground floor beneath the main prison block - we were slightly disappointed to have not been given a room in what was the main prison as we felt we'd paid more in order to ensure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LauraSmith83
Antonio S, Operations Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review

Dear LauraSmith83, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are please you enjoyed your visit to our former prison. All our room In "A Wing" are former prison cells and that includes the rooms in the basement near our original cell. Please let me know on your next visit and we will allocate you an upper...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here recently during a visit to Oxford. This hotel is a converted jail which has to rank as one of the most unusual places that we stayed. It has been wonderfully renovated, but it is totally in keeping with it's past life as a jail. We had a superior room and our price included a continental breakfast £161.00....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucytynan
Antonio S, Operations Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review

Dear Lucytynan, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very pleased you had such a fantastic experience in our former prison and you enjoyed all the amenities in our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kindest regards Antonio Sanchez Operations Manager

Bize-Minervois, France
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were visiting the UK and had a couple of days between family visits, so we decided on Oxford. We wanted a central location with parking. This hotel, an ex-prison, satisfied our requirements and also sounded intriguing. We found all the staff very helpful and charming. Parking is expensive, but so it is at other hotels here. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue_Ac_10
Antonio S, Operations Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review

Dear Sue_Ac_10, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased you had such a fantastic time with us in the former prison, we hope to welcome you again on your next visit to the Uk. Kindest regards Antonio Sanchez Operations Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had stayed at this hotel before because of its central location and cleanliness which is why we decided to spend Valentine's day here again. Unfortunately our experience was not as positive this time around. We arrived by car and made use of the car valet service for the first time: Your car keys are taken at the door /...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vera J
Antonio S, Operations Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review

Dear Vera, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very pleased you enjoyed the former prison and that our rooms and amenities made you feel at ease. I have shared you feedback with our front of house team and we are working very hard on rectifying the issues you have brought to our attention so...

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here overnight on a Saturday evening as a Valentines treat. There's nothing I can say that hasn't already been mentioned in other reviews but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Yes, it's expensive at £300 for one night including breakfast and the parking is also over the top at £28.50 for the night but it is a truly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie165
Antonio S, Operations Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review

Dear Anne-Marie165, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to Malmaison Oxford. I have shared your feedback with the team and they would like to also thank you for your kind words about them. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kindest regards Antonio Sanchez Operations...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff were pleasant and tried to get us warmed up. The restaurant (in a cellar, also a bit chilly) played a kind of ultra-modern jazz - even at breakfast - that seemed inappropriate for clientele - mainly 50s and 60s couples. My 'calves' liver' at dinner was more like a liver and bacon cut.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie C
Antonio S, Operations Manager at Malmaison Oxford Castle, responded to this review

Dear Bobbie C, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very sorry you felt disappointed with your visit to our former prison, We are working very hard to rectify the points you mention and we look forward to welcoming you again so we can show you the improvements. Kindest regards Antonio Sanchez Operations manager

1,636 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1291)
Viewed
Room/Suite (227)
Viewed
Bathroom (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (302)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Other (634)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (329)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Cell Standard Room (35)
Viewed
Cell Superior Double Room (34)
Viewed
House of Corrections Double Room (35)
Viewed
Junior Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (65)
Viewed
Standard Double (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,105 reviews
0.9 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
610 reviews
4.9 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.9 km away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you're tired of doing hard time in run-of-the-mill hotels, it's a completely different story at our former gaol, Malmaison Oxford. Instead sip the coolest cocktails in the free world at MALBAR and enjoy an eclectic mix of classic dishes with a twist at the Brasserie, from freshly caught fish to the famous Mal Burger. Good behaviour will get you privileges like free Wi-Fi, drench showers, plasma TVs and and even toiletries that are just begging to be nabbed by light-fingered guests. This is one hotel in Oxford city centre where you'll be happy to get a long stretch. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Malmaison Oxford Castle

Address: 3 Oxford Castle, Oxford OX1 1AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: $255 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Oxford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Malmaison Oxford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Oxford Castle Hotel Oxford
Malmaison Hotel Oxford
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#5 Business Hotel in Oxford
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Malmaison Oxford Castle staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question
Grantham, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sydney, Australia

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Malmaison Oxford Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The superior rooms are very nice, but am not sure if there are any with a view”
 of 5 bubbles lucytynan, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we stayed in the governors room, perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles ajaynew, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want a feel of history and intrigue choose a prison cell room.”
 of 5 bubbles ashell, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not above the courtyard!”
 of 5 bubbles 176jacquic, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“C Block was quiet and spotless”
 of 5 bubbles 477ralphk, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5