We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Duke of Marlborough

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Duke of Marlborough
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Duke of Marlborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 278: English reviews
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 7 August 2016

A good location outside of Woodstock. We had a lovely room and appreciated the food and drinks. The manager was very helpful in advising us with bus schedules and other things. The owner Derrick was friendly and we enjoyed our talks with him. We had two dinners and two breakfasts on site at the restaurant. The only improvement would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stoversj
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay here at The Duke. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room and food to a good standard. Unfortunately, your stay with us was during Countryfile Live, hence why there was a slight delay with your food. This happens very occasionally...

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Had a very enjoyable stay here. Location was great, lovely garden area. Our room was very good, it was clean and felt very homely. Breakfast was also very good, with excellent choice of items and excellent quality of food. Would recommend the Duke of Marlborough to friends and family. Just one negative point, which was the payment side of things....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine J
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us and I'm glad to read that the accommodation was comfortable and you enjoyed your meals. I am sorry about the issues that you have had with regards to the payment and I hope that it is all now solved. As a result, we are also...

Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed again at Duke of Marlborough, still a lovely friendly place , staff lovely ,barman (sorry forgot name !) Very helpful as we were going to Blemhiem Palace he suggested to avoid traffic,you can walk there only about half hour or so ....I have to say a beautiful walk (first bit along busy rd for about 300 hundred yard) then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanzanitelady
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay at our Inn. We were so pleased to see that you have chosen to stay with us again and enjoyed the facilities we have to offer. If you plan on visiting Blenheim again then you will pleased to know you can purchase your entry tickets from us...

Hounslow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from a lovely stay at the delightful Duke of Marlborough. From the moment we arrived we were charmed by the wonderful Derrick who with his dry sense of humour made us feel most welcome. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable in beautiful surroundings. Perfectly located for Blenheim Palace and the quaint village of Woodstock. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PS0103
Management response:

Paul & Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. I was so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. You may notice some small changes when you next stay with us, including redecorated bathrooms and new beds, making your stay with us even more comfortable. I've informed Derek that you will be...

Reviewed 1 August 2016

Wonderful atmosphere on a Friday night with Folk music. The location is superb if you want to visit nearby sights, such as Blenheim Palace, Oxford or the Cotswolds. Super child-friendly with great green lawns surrounding the accomodation, children's menu/drinks, and outside seating for dinner/lunch. Great quality food and affordable prices! Cannot fault anything and would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anneri W
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of our Inn. We are very pleased to offer such a variety of food across our breakfast, lunch and evening menus and happily cater for a variety of dietary requirements. We hope to welcome you again soon, maybe on another Friday night when you can join in with...

Oxford, UK
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Europeans Friends (couple, child & grandparents) I hadn't seen for over 3 years wanted a couple of nights stay in Oxfordshire after having visited London and wishing to spend one day of their holiday visit at Blenheim Palace as well as within convenient distance from the city centre of Oxford to experience some outdoors theatre plays prior to driving off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChereAmie
Management response:

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review of our Inn. I am so pleased to hear that your friends stay and your meal together was the highlight of their visit. We have high standards in relation to our food and accommodation and I am very happy to read that you agree our facilities provide...

Reviewed 22 July 2016

We enjoyed our stay and found everything satisfactory. We were impressed with the extensive gluten free option particularly as the majority of hotels simply do not cater for those with food allergies. With regard to cost, services, accommodation etc and when comparing other hotels we stayed in during our two-week touring holiday (all around £95 to £125 per night), we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased to see that you noticed the range of dietary requirements we cater for. We are well known locally for our specialist gluten free menu. Our prices reflect our high standard of accommodation and facilities along with the breakfast offered as part of the package, as...

South Bend, IN
Reviewed 12 July 2016

At first glance this inn may appear to be less than it is: an excellent place to spend several nights. We were here two nights and chose The Duke at the last minute for a weekend stay when everything else was filled. The large room with comfortable bed also has a nice sofa. Windows open to farmland adjacent. Staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank compost4all
Management response:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you were pleased with your bedroom, hopefully the facilities made your stay even more comfortable and relaxed than expected. We hope to see you again for another stay with us.

Ulverston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016

A very pleasant stay! The accommodation was very spacious and welcoming and it was lovely to have a large sofa in the room. Just a couple of small negatives - the bathroom was looking a bit tired with signs of damp around the skirting boards and the complimentary toiletries (a nice touch) would have been more pleasing if they had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rtbls
Management response:

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would stay with us again. In relation to the couple if issues you raised about your stay, you will be pleased to hear that we are currently redecorating our bathrooms and all bath panels...

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2016

A lovely, comfortable Inn to stay at for a weekend away. Bus stops are right outside the door for journeys to Woodstock/Blenheim Palace (4 mins) and Oxford (25 mins) and well worth using as parking spaces in Oxford are few and far between. Would have been nice to stroll in to Woodstock (about 30 mins) and handy to walk back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette L

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
2.8 km away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,547 reviews
2.8 km away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
733 reviews
7.0 km away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,117 reviews
2.8 km away
Marlborough Arms
Marlborough Arms
#3 of 14 in Woodstock
324 reviews
2.9 km away
The Glove House
The Glove House
#1 of 14 in Woodstock
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Duke of Marlborough is a 13 bedroomed historic coaching inn situated just outside the well known town of Woodstock and a stone's throw from Blenheim Palace, the birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill. The hotel features a bar, restaurant and large function room serving a wide selection of traditional English food with many ingredients locally-sourced. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in public areas and free parking is available for all guests. Recently refurbished the bedrooms at the Duke of Marlborough are well appointed and spacious, situated over two floors overlooking the grounds of the hotel. Located just 2 miles from Woodstock, the Duke offers easy access to the historic city of Oxford, which is just a 25-minute drive away. Blenheim Palace is only a 5-minute journey by car. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough

Address: Woodleys, Woodstock OX20 1HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Price Range: $159 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Duke of Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Woodstock
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Duke of Marlborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were only here for midday meals.so can not say”
 of 5 bubbles 944richardc944, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“It's a small hotel and all the rooms are quiet and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles , 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They are all very nice”
 of 5 bubbles 21lindag, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms offer best accessibility”
 of 5 bubbles johnlU6410QM, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 205 is slightly bigger than others”
 of 5 bubbles le_frenchy, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5