We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

pentahotel Reading

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
pentahotel Reading
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,082 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for pentahotel Reading
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,011: English reviews
Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The room was clean. The breakfast was very nice. Lots of variety and good food. The only thing that was missing was more closet space and if there was a refrigerator it would have been perfect. The staff was always polite and available to answer any questions and concerns.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 712idab
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am so pleased to read that you had a great time with us, and were well looked after by the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes Steve & the penta Team

York
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Staff very friendly and helpful but you just get that feeling that they can't wait to get out of there. Rooms were basic and clean and the free bottle of water beside the bed is a nice touch. The pillows were not to my liking and there weren't any others. Do people really like 2 single duvets on a king...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank philg956
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to read that you felt the team were keen to leave. I am very proud of the team we have in place but will most certainly discuss your comments with them as I'm sure they will be disappointed that a guest has thought this. It is a...

Dublin
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Terrible pillows ....bedding general poor....spent 10 days with neck ache and itchy skin....no bath in rooms and shower not easy to use....hairdryer not working and had strange man deliver spare one.....Novotel booked for next trip!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 874elaineg
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

I am sorry to read your review, and the pillow ache you had. I see that you spent 10 days in the hotel, but at no point asked for additional or a change of pillow type. As the team explained at check-in, there is someone based on the front desk 24hrs a day to assist with anything that our guests...

Attleborough
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not sure if I was unlucky with my room allocation but I had the 2 worst night's sleep of my life (and I normally sleep well). I was road side near the tunnel and the traffic noise was relentless all through the night. I checked a number of times that my window was closed as the noise was so loud....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y7492CUannm
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to read that you did not sleep well with us, this is most certainly not our aim and I am disappointed that we failed you on this occassion. Please could I ask you to contact me so I can discuss this further and make ammends. My email...

Manchester
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff are all very pleasant and friendly and excellent, thank you. The hotel itself is ok if not just getting a little tired in places. For those stopping on regular basis like myself the menu is limited and has not changed for months, but the food is good. All in all a typical corporate style hotel (not very homely), bar...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephensV5851AD
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank your for reviewing your recent stay. I am sorry that you found some of the hotel areas a little tired, and the hotel not so homely, this is disappointing to read. We have tried to create our specially designed pentalounge as somewhere to relax and put your feet up after a busy day, incorporated with the bar area to...

Omaha
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was clean. The bed was huge. There were no hidden fees. The restaurant was good. The decor was strange. The TV was difficult to operate, going through the hotel's weird menu system. There was no mini-fridge. But MOST IMPORTANT, the hotel internet access was useless. I often couldn't bring up even a basic google search like a map...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mitchm10
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very sorry to read that you had issues with the WiFi. Please be assured we are in talks with our current supplier. I am pleased to read that your enjoyed your room and super king sized bed, and enjoyed a great meal in the restaurant. Best wishes Steve...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here mid week, a Thursday night. The bar is great, I have been there many time s- it has good music, the drinks are expensive but tasty, and there is a good atmosphere. The bedroom I stayed in had no view to speak of (looking out over it's own roof) and was a little cramped. The decoration was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Char21A
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It's great to read that you've been to us many times before and enjoy the hotel. Should you require a little more room on your next stay, please do try one of our pentaplus room which I'm sure you will love, or if you really want something extra special then...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Penta is funky and reasonably priced. And well located! You can park in car park nearby but if it looks shut drive up to shutters and they will open ( after 7pm). Breakfast was great- could have been warmer! We came back later after checking out to change our clothes before going off to the Majedski and they kindly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cliff C
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank your for your great review. It's great to read that you had a brilliant stay with us, and that the team looked after you really well as always. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes Steve & the penta Team.

Portsmouth
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was not included but a kettle and tea and coffee was provided in the room. The only complaint was that the wi-fi was very weak and I could not get a signal on my tablet.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N6186XXpaul
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased to read that you had a nice stay with us and were well looked after by the team. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes Steve & the penta Team.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely stay - welcomed very warmly by the staff at reception. The woman spent some time looking for any upgrades she could offer us which was lovely of her There is no on-site parking, however there is a secure car park 2 minute walk from the hotel; if you let the reception staff know, they will give you a discount...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review. I am delighted to read that you were well looked after by the team and you had a fantastic stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes Steve & the penta Team.

228 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (191)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.5 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
891 reviews
2.8 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 32 in Reading
1,675 reviews
0.7 km away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 32 in Reading
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
0.4 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in the city centre, pentahotel Reading is the perfect choice no matter if you are travelling for leisure or for business. The four-star hotel has 11 meeting and event spaces for up to 250 people. European cuisine is served in the onsite restaurant which is open for breakfast lunch and dinner. Your room has air conditioning free on-demand pay TV and a private bathroom. Free Wifi is available in the entire hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: $106 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from pentahotel Reading staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
29 days ago
6 months ago
Essex, United Kingdom

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from pentahotel Reading staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great bar for pre dinner drinks - stays open late”
 of 5 bubbles Char21A, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room at the back in the centre. Much quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles M4J1K, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“High floor”
 of 5 bubbles Lisa21MiltonKeynes, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room as the road noise can be excessive.”
 of 5 bubbles jpktrk, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quieter room on a higher floor, when you book”
 of 5 bubbles 727nickl, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5