We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

pentahotel Reading

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
pentahotel Reading
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for pentahotel Reading
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,112: English reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Very good location - up to 10 mins walk from train station. The bar was cosy and warm. The beer tam was unfortunately broken :-( Rooms well equipped. Breakfast standardly good. The internet connection was poorly slow.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JKubica
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review. I am really pleased to read that you had a great stay and hope you will pay us another visit soon. Sorry the beer tap was broken that night, but you'll be happy to know it's working on full throttle again now. Best wishes Steve & the penta Team.

Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

The reception area is like a tacky 70s disco, however the rest of the hotel is quite tastefully decorated and the service is fantastic. The breakfast provisions were some of the best I have experienced in the numerous hotels I have stayed in this year on business, and the toiletries were a brand I can actually use even with my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma-Jane_R_UK
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review. I am so pleased to read that you loved the look and feel of the hotel, and really enjoyed our great service and delicious food from our great restaurant. We hope to welcome you back again very soon. Best wishes Steve & the penta Team.

Dorset
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Great location but average room that should definitely be upgraded. The wifi was shocking and if it were not for one individual at reception filling in for the non existent room service team I probably would have done quite a bit of complaining!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean E
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to read you had issues with the wifi, but do hope the team were aware so that they could help resolve this for you. All of our team are multi trained so they can work on the front desk, bar, restaurant or room service, so I am...

Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Great design and refreshing to see this in Reading instead of London, the staff is also great but I can only give it a 3 stars because they have to fix the basic and not just the decorations. The Internet is unusable, simply not working and the noise from the street is way to high for this price point so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FabBCN
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to read that you had issues with the wifi at the time of your stay, but do hope that team resolved this via our service provider for you. I am pleased to read that your found the staff great and enjoyed the look and feel of the...

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Can't believe this lot. You get a complimentary bottle of water on the first night but not for any subsequent night. I paid the same for each night !!! Management should take a good look at themselves and realise this is a pathetic decision! Hardly customer centric!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SteveWilliams124
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

I am naturally very disappointed read your review, only because the review is based on a bottle of 'complimentary' water that is placed in guests rooms on the day of arrival as a refreshment after a busy day. For the hotel team to be rewarded with a 1 star review is unjust and unfair, and goes no way into showing...

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed with my partner for 1 night Service was awesome , the place was awesome, so chilled , relaxed, very informal which I really liked, I wish it was a bit cheaper maybe offer some cheaper deals on booking.com... but I really would like to stay there again.. Only thing breakfast was cold :( which kind of upset me a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Klaudia S
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed our awesome service and was well looked after by the team. I am sorry if you found any of the hotel dishes too cold, please be assured that I will discuss your feedback with the team. We hope to see you back for another awesome...

Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I stayed at the Penta on a business trip. The place offers very good services, the rooms are well-maintained and its location close to the town centre. The buffet breakfast provides a good spread that caters to a wide taste. However, the shower area is a bit cramped and surprisingly the hotel does not provide even one bottle of complimentary...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank divtao
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am disappointed to read your feedback regarding the booked taxi's not arriving, please be assured that I will discuss your feedback with our taxi Co. Our rain showers are desinged for a comfy and relax experience, but am sorry you did not enjoy this. We place a bottle of...

Salisbury
Reviewed 3 October 2016

A pleasant nights stay at the hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Room was well priced & a good size for your money. Bar was open 24/7 with loads of comfy seats available which is always good! Could do with a bit more selection on tap as I prefer my ales to larger/beer although there were some bottled. Overall a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisnN6311TR
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am really happy to read that you had a great stay and were well looked after by the team. Great to read that you found our pentalounge and bar a relaxing place to be too, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes Steve & the penta Team.

Bucharest
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Very close to city center, relatively quite area. A good choice for business trips. Clean and quiet rooms, with big nice bed. WiFi speed was quite poor and better speed is quite pricey. Heating system seem not working, despite asked reception nothing was done and they did not came back with any resolution to the request.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dsocol
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry to read that no one came back to you regarding the heating issue you incurred. This is unacceptable and not the service that we aim to offer our guests, so please accept my apologise for this. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our central location and our lovely bedrooms....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Great hotel. Quirky, in style. Staff very helpful and polite. Rooms were easy to use and very clean. Comfy beds. Definitely value for money, cheaper than other local so-called 'budget' hotels. Will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 198Sarah
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review, this is great to read. I am so pleased that the team looked after you well, and you loved the look and feel of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back again very soon for another 5 star stay. Best wishes Steve & the penta Team.

237 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (200)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.5 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
944 reviews
0.7 km away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 32 in Reading
489 reviews
2.7 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
946 reviews
0.4 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
What makes us a cut above the rest is the way we do things. We have designed the pentahotel Reading to be simple and pentastylish, to provide excellent value for money, create a pentafun and relaxed space with service that is welcoming and personal. All of this not only makes us the newest hotel in Reading, but also your neighbourhood lifestyle hotel. The perfect place to eat, drink and relax is the pentalounge, our „lifestyle lobby“ that multi-functions as a reception, bar, and café, perfect as a neighbourhood hub. No matter what brings you to Reading, there is always time to have a look around. There are the medieval Abbey ruins, historic rivers and of course the majestic Thames Valley countryside to inspire you. If that doesn’t tickle your fancy you could also try out some of the local restaurants or pubs or the fabulous shopping at the Oracle and Broad Street malls. ... more   less 

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: $106 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from pentahotel Reading staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from pentahotel Reading staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from the main road, unless if you are slightly deaf like me, and then it doesn't matter!”
GaryJ397, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not beside the main road to the right of the hotel as you go in the door.”
463keithl, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get one to the back of the hotel away from the main street”
steve1903, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid any near the Inner distribution road”
Phil42bognor, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great bar for pre dinner drinks - stays open late”
Char21A, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5