We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

pentahotel Reading

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
pentahotel Reading
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for pentahotel Reading
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,110: English reviews
Budapest
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Cool hotel, friendly staff. Breakfast is excellent. Wifi is a bit weak, even on the 1st floor. Lobby bar is really open 24/7 but only offers import beer on tap. The location is OK, close to the main walking street.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gerzs0n
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank your for your amazing 5 star review. I am really pleased to read that you loved your stay with us and were well looked after by the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes Steve & the penta Team.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Hotel was reasonable but definitely not a 4-star hotel: - Bed was too firm and quality of bedding was very poor - Asked for a double bed but hotel did not have any bedding for double beds - Room was quite noisy as it is facing a main road - Telephone in room was not working so had to go...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank garykL789LS
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay. Our bedding is 100% Egyptian Cotton, but am sorry you did not like this, or our beds which come with 2 queen size duvets. As we are a town center location, there will be some noise from time to time, but do...

Preston
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Was a business trip easy access to the center of reading, really enjoyed the breakfast good quality, had a problem with the first room we had but the problem was rectified straight away, i will be stopping here again if we are in reading, highly recommend

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernadettep505
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review, this is really great to read. I am pleased to read that the team quickly sorted out your room issue, and you enjoyed our town center location. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our kitchen team too, thank you for this. We look forward to welcoming you...

Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We have just checked out yesterday after a week's stay, enjoying clean and serviced large room, big and comfortable beds, convenience at our everyday movements for necessary shopping for our fresher student son of us at uni, great chic indoors second to none of the hotels we visited in our life, making us feel comfortable and above all, very professional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marios C
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. I am so pleased to read that Leo, Amber and our newest member to the team Ian looked after you so well during your visit to our lovely hotel. We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Reading. Best wishes Steve & the penta Team.

Vilvoorde, Belgium
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Warm welcome in the Pentahotel with a good service. However, noisy surroundings which you can clearly hear in the room, even at night. Room temperature at arrival was 10 degrees and WIFI not working well in the rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T3318DYstephaniep
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry that you encountered issues with the heating and wifi, but do hope that the team resolved this for you. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided to you by the team and hope to welcome you back again. Best wishes Steve & the...

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 22 September 2016

The overall impression was rather good but i missed more water in the room. ironing board and iron were only available upon request and there was no safe or fridge in the room. Non-UK socket was not working in the room. Food in the hotel was rather mediocre.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank adelap136
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. To keep the rooms spacious for our guests we hand deliver irons/boards to rooms on request, 24/7. We do not advertise safe's in the rooms but do have a safe facility at reception for our guests to use at any time during their stay. On...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

We have been before and loved it so decided to return. Everything was just as great. Fantastic atmosphere, quiet rooms, friendly staff. Its an amazing location too. Really lovely rooms. Cannot fault it!! You should definitely visit! Thanks again xx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoatasticUK
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

What a fantastic review to receive, thank you! I'm so pleased to read that your return stay was as great as before and your recommendation to others is a true testament to the team so thank you again for this. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another 5 star stay. Best wishes Steve & the penta Team.

Rome, Italy, Europe
Reviewed 20 September 2016

I stayed in this hotel last weekend and I found it almost perfect. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable, the position is very good to go everywhere, very close to the railway station and to the center. The staff is very friendly and kind. If I go back to Reading, I' will try to stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aliosha66
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review. I am so pleased to read that you had wonderful stay with us and were well taken care of by the team. Great to read that you will be back to stay with again when next in Reading, we look forward to welcoming you back then. Best wishes Steve & the penta...

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

The hotel was very good and staff very helpful. Bedrooms were good. I liked the bag of toiletries in the bbathrooms. Breakfast was excellent I do feel the signage on the hotel very poor. We were new to Reading and didnt know where hotel was. We used sat nav to find it. Although sat nav said we had arrived at...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to read that you missed our hotel signage. I am not sure when you stayed with us but we do have our new cinema style signage in place for the last few months, and it's can be seen from a great far distance as is also very...

Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Overall a good stay. Our room on the 5th floor although double glazed there was a lot of noise from traffic, we overlooked a dual carriageway. The flush on the toilet needs attention room 529, I meant to mention it on checkout, so hopefully this will be done. very comfy beds and pillows.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazeltwig
ph_Reading, Manager at pentahotel Reading, responded to this review

Thank your for taking the time to write your lovely review. I will be sure to discuss with the maintenance team your feedback regarding the toilet to ensure the flush has been repaired, thank you for mentioning this. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed our super king sized comfy beds. Best wishes Steve & the penta Team

237 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (200)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.5 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
942 reviews
0.7 km away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 32 in Reading
489 reviews
2.7 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
946 reviews
0.4 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
What makes us a cut above the rest is the way we do things. We have designed the pentahotel Reading to be simple and pentastylish, to provide excellent value for money, create a pentafun and relaxed space with service that is welcoming and personal. All of this not only makes us the newest hotel in Reading, but also your neighbourhood lifestyle hotel. The perfect place to eat, drink and relax is the pentalounge, our „lifestyle lobby“ that multi-functions as a reception, bar, and café, perfect as a neighbourhood hub. No matter what brings you to Reading, there is always time to have a look around. There are the medieval Abbey ruins, historic rivers and of course the majestic Thames Valley countryside to inspire you. If that doesn’t tickle your fancy you could also try out some of the local restaurants or pubs or the fabulous shopping at the Oracle and Broad Street malls. ... more   less 

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: $104 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from pentahotel Reading staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from pentahotel Reading staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from the main road, unless if you are slightly deaf like me, and then it doesn't matter!”
GaryJ397, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not beside the main road to the right of the hotel as you go in the door.”
463keithl, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get one to the back of the hotel away from the main street”
steve1903, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid any near the Inner distribution road”
Phil42bognor, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great bar for pre dinner drinks - stays open late”
Char21A, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5