We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 66: English reviews
Solihull, England
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Working in Sheffield for a couple of days, I wanted something different to the plastic hotels. this is not a plastic hotel by far. It is a pub but the rooms are not over the pub but in a annexe at the back of the main building. There are three well proportion rooms. Mine was a twin with ensuite. Everything...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KenSolihull_England
Joanne J, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks ken for the glowing report. After I had spoken to you saying the snow wasn't bad it came down, didn't it. So glad you made it.

Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

A friend booked this, and what a pick. Clean, warm and great views. The staff are fantastic and so is the food. Only 6 miles outside Sheffield, it costs £15 in a taxi to get to the Arena. No rush to shut the bar when you get back from town, a great place to base yourself for touring or a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geoff S
Joanne J, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Geoff for the great review. So glad you enjoyed yourselves with us. We aim to please. I also went to the gig at the arena it was great. Don't forget to pass our details onto your tour manager mates. joanne and dave.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

Just been for a festive sing at the famous carols - a bit early for some but many had made a long journey for this. There was a bit of locals being served first at the bar, but overall it was a mint and unique experience. I would really recommend going.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kingofgeography
Joanne J, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the carols, hope to see you this year. Sorry it seemed that locals being served first, dave my husband works frantically behind the bar at the sings and I can assure you no favouritism is being shown. joanne.

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2015

The room was great. Really friendly staff, so helpful and accommodating. The food in the bar was proper homemade stuff which was good. The only disappointment was that I had to leave before breakfast was served, but that was my fault not theirs (I had been told that breakfast is great)! Will be heading back when I'm in the area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
Joanne J, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Lee thanks for the review and we hope to see you again. Make sure this time you fit in the brekkie, nothing fancy nere just the good old English fry up. Happy new year to you joanne.

Hampshire
Reviewed 1 October 2015

We stayed two nights whilst visiting our daughter and her family in Sheffield. We were given a very warm welcome, our room was very clean and comfortable. Toiletries provided were really good quality, full sized bottles, and the hospitality tray had everything we needed. We ate in the pub on the first evening, and would thoroughly recommend that you try...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jfrakers
Joanne J, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

glad you enjoyed your stay. I believe its the little extra that make a stay that bit more special.

Leicester, England
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Two ladies in a twin room were only there for one night but, we will be back. The rooms have everything you could need, (except a mirror in the bathroom for the vertically challenged!!!). Shower very good, loads of toiletries & plenty of drawers etc. There is also bottled water, tea, coffee & biscuits Although the rooms are in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank readingfast
J0anne02, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you both enjoyed your stay, short but sweet. Sorry the mirror is a title too high for you. We unfortunately are unable to lower it any more As it wouldn't work with shelf being under neath it.

Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

I stayed here after booking it last minute via Hotels.com When I arrived I was welcomed into the hotel straight away and I could tell that this was a lovely family run hotel. While checking in one of the staff members pointed out that I had paid too much for my room. They kindly offered me to us thief land...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JHodgetts
J0anne02, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words. Sorry the wifi didn't work I will check it out, maybe need a booster.

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Lovely hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and well-stocked with tea/coffee etc.; shower was nice and powerful (and as other reviewers have said, nice Body Shop products supplied). But we were most impressed by how helpful and friendly the owners were. We were attending a wedding in a village a couple of miles away, and rather than leave us to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
J0anne02, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Samantha thanks for all the lovely comments. We try to make anyone's stay a pleasure. The lifts are just part of our service and will give a lift where ever possible so both of you can have a drink.

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

I booked this as a stopover on a longer journey, but I'm planning to return another time as it was so lovely. Quick note about the location - if you're driving from Sheffield, you'll go around the back of Damflask Reservoir then take a sharp left. The hotel is about a half mile from there, on the left hand side....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sometimesong
J0anne02, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Diane many thanks for your wonderful review. The details are much appreciated. The attention to detail is due to my own stays away from home on business, I wouldn't let any one stay in anything I would not stay in myself

North Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2015

A great place to stay when you are working in the hustle of Sheffield. A short drive to the town centre but you are in wonderful countryside. Have stayed a number of times when working in Sheffield and every time have been made to feel very welcome. The food and drink are fantastic although you may want to watch the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun3973
J0anne02, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Shaun great review.

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
8.0 km away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
1,399 reviews
6.1 km away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 54 in Sheffield
671 reviews
7.5 km away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#21 of 54 in Sheffield
985 reviews
17.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mosborough Hall Hotel
7.9 km away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Hotel is a family run pub. On the edge of the Peak District, high on the moors, northwest of Sheffield but only a 20-minute drive from the city and Meadow Hall shopping centre. Its location makes it the ideal place for visiting the area or for those that want to stay longer but not wanting to stay in the hustle bustle of a city. Owners David & Linda Lambert and Dave & Joanne Jubb offer all guests a warm and genuine welcome. For all you business people that want a homely feel look no further. We now offer free Wifi ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Main Road | Dungworth, Sheffield s6 6hf, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Price Range: $75 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 4 is nice”
 of 5 bubbles bazzs_13, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms good”
 of 5 bubbles KenSolihull_England, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Only three rooms... book early!”
 of 5 bubbles jfrakers, 1 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Book up early as only three rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles readingfast, 23 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet, comfortable, and warm. If you find a room that you prefer, just ask and Jo will ensure you are in your preferred room. * Fitness centre is the great outdoors - the Peak District national park starts on the opposite side of the road to the pub. ** The swimming pool is the Lido in Hathersage - a 15-20 minute drive for probably the most spectacular views you will ever see from a pool.”
 of 5 bubbles GlynC515, 22 May 2013 | Read review
5 of 5