We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Harley Hotel

334 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2HW, England
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Weston Park
    0.5 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Breakfast included
Reviewed 23 October 2016
Much better than expected!
My stay for 1 night cost £39 and that included a free breakfast... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 156: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a single room on laterooms for £22 as attending a Christmas do and it was cheaper and easier than getting a taxi home! You get exactly what you pay for- which actually when you get a great breakfast & coffee too is actually a bargain! Yes it is above a music venue (clearly stated on booking site & their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allie G
Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Why on earth does it not say on booking.com that they are a live venue and the wardrobe will vibrate until 4am with loud pounding music. Yes there is a sign up in reception but it's a bit late when it's booked and and you arrive and have no where else to stay. Never again. Absolutely disgusting.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sally R
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

There are some quirks to this hotel for sure... it's loud, however I find it ok on the top floor. There are sometimes a few holes in the floor, and you get no shower gel... However for 30 quid a night! I'm just happy to have somewhere to kip and a tv to watch. You also often get breakfast thrown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James H
Reviewed 26 November 2016

the place is advertised by booking.com as hotel. big lie it is not, it is students accommodation or shall i say a place to stay if you come to enjoy what some would describe as music. i felt terribly fooled by booking.com, it doesn't say anywhere that it is a pub which in fairness has lovely burger and nice atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pascal B
theharleyhotel, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pascal B, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that you found your stay with us unacceptable. We do mention on all of our booking websites, including booking.com, that we operate our hotel above a music venue, and that the noise is audible from some of the rooms. We certainly understand that...

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Loud music until 3am!!!!! They should say that before I booked my room...impossible to have a good night's sleep. I had a terrible, terrible night. I strogly recommend you book any other place in Sheffield other than this one. As you can see in the picture, they don't care.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmollina
theharleyhotel, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mmollina, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us last week. We do try our best to warn guests about the noise from our bar before booking. However, this information can be missed on an occasion. We are extremely interested in customer feedback concerning this matter, so that we can better forewarn our...

Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

The Harley is right by the University. There is only paid car parking close by ( and costly). The room was clean and warm. The noise from bands in the bar went on until 4:00 am and, although our room in the second floor, was away from the noise, the heavy drumming could still be heard. The breakfast was ok...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
theharleyhotel, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roy, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you found our staff both friendly and helpful. Although parking is an issue, rest assured, we are currently working towards being able to offer our guests a cheaper solution in one of the nearby secure car parks. Although this can be a timely...

Halifax
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Very basic and scruffy. Bed clean but tiny. Shower OK. Very very loud music, it does warn you in the description but only if you click to read more. Open with loud music till 4 am. Staff very nice. Breakfast was OK. Great location though

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline1967
theharleyhotel, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caroline, Thank you for your review of The Harley Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you found the staff friendly and accommodating. As you found out, the noise from our bar doesn't always suit some guests. We do try our best to inform potential guests before booking. Your comment on how this is shown on the website...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Possibly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Ever!!! Room wasn't clean smelt funny, I've seen stray dogs sleep in better conditions. Expect noise and vibrations. I Checked out 3 days earlier it was that and lost £. I would sonner sleep on the streets.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank philcrossan
theharleyhotel, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Phil, Firstly, thank you for your review. We take all claims in these reviews seriously and therefore are very interested in the aspects of why you found your stay so unsatisfactory. Should you wish to, please email the details of your stay to hotel@theharley.co.uk so our hotel manager can converse with you directly. Although we certainly understand your issue...

Martlesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

My stay for 1 night cost £39 and that included a free breakfast. I must say I was very impressed. Yes it was basic and a bit noisy in the night. However I was warned about the noise before booking and everything I needed was taken care of. The working TV and ensuite were nice touches. The thing that amazed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack T
theharleyhotel, Manager at Harley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jack, Thank you so much for your review. We are certainly pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on how friendly our staff are and it's always good to hear when this is noticed. We look forward to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Hotel Management

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

A friendly just offcentral location with great burgers!! And Jasmine the bartender permitted the promotion of my group book reading!!! A cool reasonably priced dark little venue with a great atmospheric feel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniella S

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.9 km away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#33 of 54 in Sheffield
430 reviews
1.6 km away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#34 of 54 in Sheffield
352 reviews
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#24 of 54 in Sheffield
608 reviews
1.6 km away
Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel
1.1 km away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 54 in Sheffield
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Food & drink at the hotel
Harley Hotel Bar
Harley Hotel Bar
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Harley is a small, friendly hotel next to the University and Hospitals. It is located next to the University of Sheffield tram stop and is 5 minutes walk from Sheffield City Centre. All rooms are simple yet comfortable and well appointed, with en suite, TV, telephone, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The hotel bar has a late license. All room rates include breakfast. 'Please be aware that this hotel is situated above a live music and late night venue which is open until 4am most nights. Noise from the bar can be heard in the hotel rooms, so we are not suitable for light sleepers or early risers.' ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harley Hotel

Address: 334 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Price Range: $59 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com and LateRooms so you can book your Harley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harley Hotel Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Harley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get the third floor. You might be ok on the second floor if it's not a busy night.”
 of 5 bubbles jameshG3921SN, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles graham1975, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlesL837, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“oh! and no wifi, only accessible at the noisy bar. Good luck!”
 of 5 bubbles Tilou88, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't book here is the best advice I can give ...”
 of 5 bubbles susiejay, 24 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5