We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Griffin Inn (Hotel)

Save
Traveller (89)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (14)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good34%
  • Average7%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“sloping floors”(5 reviews)
“small pub”(4 reviews)
“pub with rooms”(6 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pool
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for The Griffin Inn (Hotel)
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
165
113
25
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
165
113
25
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssloping floorssmall pubpub with roomsgreat pubtheatre royalquirky placesingle roomprivate bathroompreservesgreat place to stayfull englishsmall roomroman bathan overnight staycooked breakfasttwo nightscentral location
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
61 - 65 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Firstly must say evening bar staff an morning breakfast staff were fantastic and helped out with any problems. But housekeeping terrible (current lack of staff). Room not cleaned properly and not ready for visitors. Corridors and staircase have filthy dirty walls and carpet. Mentions in...More

Thank Laetitia G
Response from Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn (Hotel)Responded 11 April 2017

Dear Laetitia, We are attempting to remedy the issues that you bring up. Thank you for your feedback Sam

Reviewed 8 April 2017

Absolutely disappointed of my decision. First of all, it is a very noisy hotel because of the bar on the ground floor. There is a door that could isolate the noise, but it is never closed. It is definitely not a family friendly place. The...More

Thank arturoguz
Response from Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn (Hotel)Responded 11 April 2017

Dear Arturoguz, I am so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. The Griffin does not pretend to be a family friendly hotel, as the Griffin is a pub with rooms. That said we will always do our best to accommodate families. Thank you for...More

Reviewed 5 April 2017

I really liked the location, it was walking distance to everything you could wish to do in Bath. The pub was great, the locals were friendly and drew us maps to some other interesting pubs in the area. I was a bit disappointed by the...More

Thank kakapo2015
Response from Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn (Hotel)Responded 11 April 2017

Dear Kakapo2015, Unfortunately the building is listed and so we are unable to change the size of the rooms, however we will be changing the shower and giving the rooms an refresh imminently. Thank you very much for your feedback Sam

Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

It is a good hotel due to the following reasons: 1) location: close to the termae and abbey (5min) 2) complete breakfast: English, omelettes, and other options 3) clean room 4) friends staff There is a restaurant and pub inside I would recommed it

Thank Eneko M
Response from Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn (Hotel)Responded 5 April 2017

Thank you very much for your comments, please come again soon. Sam

Reviewed 22 March 2017

The accommodation was of an excellent standard. Leah was fantastic and helpful in many ways. Nothing was amiss and the service was great. The Circus Room was of excellent standard and all amenities were provided. Breakfast was cooked to perfection.

Thank _eddiefelton2355
Response from Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn (Hotel)Responded 29 March 2017

Dear Eddie, Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to seeing you again. Sam

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Bath
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$84 - US$220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$84 - US$220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (89)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (14)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ben C
19 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from kate r | Property representative |
Hi Ben, Very glad to see that you have chosen to stay with us in September. We look forward to welcoming you. If there is anything that we can do to make your visit more memorable please just ask. Not saying we can work... More
0
Votes
Lianne C
8 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Sam G | Property representative |
The pub does not have its own parking, however Charlotte Street car park is 5mins walk away and costs £8.50/24 hours
2
Votes
Room Tips
"didn't stay"
Read review
"Beware the Hotel reception and the front door will be closed a 11pm"
Read review
"Only snag is - due to age of building - probably not wheelchair-friendly. But ask owners."
Read review
"ask for ensuite a little more expensive but worth the extra"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing