We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Griffin Inn (Hotel)

Save
Traveller (89)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (14)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Save this hotel
and keep track of your top hotel finds.
Save now
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good34%
  • Average7%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“sloping floors”(5 reviews)
“small pub”(4 reviews)
“pub with rooms”(6 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pool
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for The Griffin Inn (Hotel)
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
164
112
24
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
164
112
24
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssloping floorssmall pubpub with roomsgreat pubtheatre royalquirky placesingle roomprivate bathroompreservesgreat place to stayfull englishsmall roomroman bathan overnight staycooked breakfasttwo nightscentral location
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
71 - 75 of 327 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

I went to the Griffin with a friend for a drink. Although I live in Bath, ive never been in this pub and wont be rushing back anytime soon. Positively, the building is wonderful. Umfortunately, it stops there. Poor welcome from bar staff who could...More

1  Thank jennie h
Response from Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn (Hotel)Responded 16 March 2017

I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit - further to your comments I am reviewing the menu and pricing. Sam

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Popped in the other night for a quick drink. £13.50 for a pint and a glass of wine! Beyond London prices even. Guess this is another local 'pub' that solely caters for tourists. Won't return as there are plenty of other good local pubs that...More

Thank Janex_9
Response from Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn (Hotel)Responded 6 March 2017

Dear Janex, We have 18 beers and ciders on draught that range from £3.70/pint (Bristol Beer Factory's Nova) and 8 wines available by the glass that start at £4.00/125ml glass for our "Good" wines (our wines by the glass are priced as: "Good/Better/Best"). Our pub...More

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed in a single room for one night on Saturday 18 February. I was able to check in slightly early, and was taken to my room by a lovely lady from the bar. Although I didn't spent a lot of time in my room,...More

Thank Emma B
Response from Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn (Hotel)Responded 28 February 2017

Dear Emma, Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Sam

Reviewed 15 February 2017

We stayed at The Griffin inn for one night.We chose this place for location as it near to Royal Crescent,Baths shops etc and the good reviews.On arrival we were greeted by a very welcoming friendly member of staff.They explained about door key and using side...More

Thank Jan P
Response from Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn (Hotel)Responded 17 February 2017

Dear Jan, Thank you for your comments, we will do our best to address the problems with the room - I will have the mattress changed if necessary and we have some workmen coming in over the next weeks to address the wear and tear...More

Reviewed 14 February 2017

Love this place. Only two minutes from the Theatre Royal but feels away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Outstanding food including the best sandwiches going at lunchtime. Vast choice of ales and excellent wine menu. Try it once and you will be...More

Thank Dajari63
Response from Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn (Hotel)Responded 17 February 2017

Thank you very much, looking forward to seeing you again soon! Sam

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$87 - US$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$87 - US$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (89)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (14)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ben C
19 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from kate r | Property representative |
Hi Ben, Very glad to see that you have chosen to stay with us in September. We look forward to welcoming you. If there is anything that we can do to make your visit more memorable please just ask. Not saying we can work... More
0
Votes
Lianne C
8 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Sam G | Property representative |
The pub does not have its own parking, however Charlotte Street car park is 5mins walk away and costs £8.50/24 hours
2
Votes
Room Tips
"didn't stay"
Read review
"Beware the Hotel reception and the front door will be closed a 11pm"
Read review
"Only snag is - due to age of building - probably not wheelchair-friendly. But ask owners."
Read review
"ask for ensuite a little more expensive but worth the extra"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing