We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Windsor

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Windsor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

696 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 675: English reviews
Sanibel Island, Florida
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very welcoming. Lovely staff. The hotel is in a good location very close to the centre Continental breakfast was good and tasty hot options.Comfy bed after a long day of sightseeing and Xmas Market. Would definitely return for a stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited in December for an overnight stay with family. We had 3 rooms all of a good standard. Continental breakfast is included and was good. Although the cooked option is extra it is worth it. I have read on trip advisor that the stair carpet it was worn, well it isn't, there is a little wear but not huge holes....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gercos
TheWindsor, General Manager at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review - we are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again on your next visit to Bath!

Plymouth
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was pleasant, overlooking a surprisingly quiet street. The hotel is behind on it's maintenance and the staircase is a liability - stair-rods loos and holes in the carpet on the stair nosings. All because someone has been too lazy t move the carpet every year. The continental breakfast was goo and the staff very friendly. The local Alistair Sawday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MajorMitchell
TheWindsor, General Manager at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I hope that overall you enjoyed your stay as you mention the room being pleasant and the street being quiet (Great Pulteney Street is lovely!) The stair carpet is to be replaced this winter you will be pleased to hear! Hope you might give us a chance again in the future.

Burlington, Vermont
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stumbled upon the Windsor late on a rainy night thanks to Bookings.com. We were so pleased to have a change from the cold, sterile environment of the large chain hotels, and the Windsor did not disappoint. The hotel staff is just lovely, very helpful and accommodating. The location is wonderful! It was a short walk to the Boater for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roxylg
TheWindsor, General Manager at The Windsor, responded to this review

We're very pleased you did stumble upon us! Delighted you found The Windsor to be cosy and charming and that you enjoyed the service! We work hard to make sure all of our guests feel special. Chez Dominique is indeed a lovely restaurant and just a few minutes walk from The windsor!

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here with my Mum for 2 nights recently. I called to make the reservation and was greeted by a very helpful man, Michael. We were lucky enough to meet him in person too. :) Just before the break, an email came through confirming the stay and saying they were looking forward to meeting us - what a lovely,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vikki W
TheWindsor, General Manager at The Windsor, responded to this review

Well we are all just delighted with your review! It was our pleasure to meet you and we are so pleased you had such a fantastic time staying at The Windsor. Nothing is ever too much trouble we are all only too happy to help our guests with anything they may need to ensure they get the best out of...

Kingston upon Hull
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sorry to say that at £200.50 per night for two The Windsor was a disappointment even if that included cooked breakfast (parking was an additional £12 per day - even from as late as 3.30pm on the Friday). Whilst the location could hardly be bettered – it’s a five minute walk into the centre of Bath, I’m afraid other aspects...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AHabergham
TheWindsor, General Manager at The Windsor, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disapointed with your stay. I would just like to clarify a few points. As you mention we are right in the city centre there is therefore no free parking for being situated in this very convenient location. We offer Parking Permits for £12 per night which are valid from check in until check out the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful, traditional, Georgian hotel. Very comfortable, cosy, super clean, just like being at home. Hotel staff were excellent, polite, kind and very accommodating. Our room was right on the top floor, a lot of steps to climb but the views were incredible, we were very fortunate to have the sun shining through our window each morning. It was very pleasant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaps D
TheWindsor, General Manager at The Windsor, responded to this review

What a fabulous review - we are all so thrilled you had a great time! The views as you point out are stunning from the top floor rooms and makes the climb up the stairs so worth it! Really pleased you enjoyed your breakfast we source our ingredients from local butchers and bakery, our breakfasts also feature delicious Burford Brown...

hopkins67
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a last minute getaway to bath What a great find,from checkin to check out Staff ere very friendly and took an interest in your stay Room cosy very clean and warm Only moan really picky would have been nice to have had bottled water in rooms Parking no problem and permit suited us cheaper than prev hotel parking Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hopkins67
TheWindsor, General Manager at The Windsor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review we are so pleased you had a fantastic break and enjoyed the service.

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was imacculate, the staff were polite efficient and interested. The room I had was at the top of the building , a bit of a climb but I liked the fact you felt part of the building and could appreciate some of its history. The breakfast included was a very good continental with the option of a cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally1234512345
TheWindsor, General Manager at The Windsor, responded to this review

So pleased you had a good time and found the hotel to be immaculate! There are quite a few stairs to the top floor but these rooms have some lovely views of Bath and the surrounding hills! Hope to see you again.

Ellon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely hotel, beautifully decorated rooms with everything and more I needed for a very comfortable, all be it last minute stay over in Bath. Room, including shower room was beautifully decorated, clean and warm. Breakfast was a continental style but was exactly all I needed, while other options were available. Fantastic location too and only a 5 minute walk from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tjc334
TheWindsor, General Manager at The Windsor, responded to this review

Delighted that you enjoyed the location of the hotel - we are on the stunning Great Pulteney street - a beautiful boulevard of Georgian Terraced Town houses (The Windsor being included) so nice and peaceful yet the buzz of Bath's main attractions all within each walking distance. Do come back again!

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#3 of 33 in Bath
1,122 reviews
0.4 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 33 in Bath
1,235 reviews
0.6 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#42 of 194 in Bath
257 reviews
0.1 km away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#15 of 194 in Bath
1,051 reviews
0.1 km away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 194 in Bath
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Location, Location, Location. The Windsor, a truly superb Grade 1 listed Georgian Townhouse on Great Pulteney Street, arguably one of the best streets in Bath and one of the finest boulevards in Europe.Just two minutes level walk to the city centre and tourist attractions such as the famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Thermae Spa. Two minutes to the huge variety of shops and diverse range of restaurants Bath has to offer, we are the perfect choice for both leisure and business guests.The Windsor houses 15 individually styled ensuite bedrooms. Period features, free wifi, air conditioning, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini safe and ironing board come as standard. The addition of thick soft fluffy towels, cosy dorma duvets, pillows and luxury Gilchrist and Soames toiletries complete tha package and add to the guest experience. Acclaimed for our warm and friendly staff, we are always ready with a smile and happy to help with anything from restaurant suggestions to planning your onward journey. We pride ourselves in our customer service and along with our award winning breakfasts, our aim is to send you home with a desire to return. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Windsor

Address: 69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: $172 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Windsor staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Windsor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on 2nd floor front. Sash windows open so you can dump the escess heat”
 of 5 bubbles MajorMitchell, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask if you like a bath - not all rooms have one. Our room was under the kitchen so we heard early breakfast preparation.”
 of 5 bubbles AHabergham, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have great views, especially back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check where the room is ,it is a climb to the top rooms with a narrow and steep stair. No lift. Georgian building! Very elegant”
 of 5 bubbles Sally1234512345, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a south facing room...... much more natural light and less noise too.”
 of 5 bubbles tjc334, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay