We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Show Prices
#14 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,046 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,971: English reviews
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

The front desk was very helpful. Full of good suggestions and eager to help. The location was excellent, though to be fair Bath is do small it's hard to be not well located. The beds were fine. The shower, sinks etc are typically English, which is to say less good than they would be at any cheap chain hotel in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillips3675
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Phillips3675 Thank you for sending in your feedback; I hope you managed to see all the sights of the city that you wanted to and hope we see you again at some time in the future should you be in Bath. Kind regards Mads Nielsen

Reviewed 30 June 2016

We enjoyed a lovely weekend away for my birthday, nothing was too much trouble, all the staff were polite and friendly. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. We paid for B&B and the choice at breakfast was vast. The restaurant was lovely and all the food fresh. Again all the staff were friendly and polite. We will defiantly be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Sue H Thank you very much for taxing the time to send in a review following your birthday weekend. It is great to see you enjoyed your time in Bath and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards Mads Nielsen

Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2016

My wife and I had a three day break at the Francis Hotel for a well earned rest. As a Grade 1 listed building the hotel has charm and character along with luxury. We had a great stay, the service was excellent, staff were friendly and breakfast was superb. We'll be back

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve_butterworth
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear steve_butterworth I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in Bath and we were able to provide a suitable setting for your break. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Francis in the future. Kind regards Mads Nielsen

Reviewed 30 June 2016

Amazing anniversary weekend thanks to the brilliant central location. Queens square is walking distance from all the main points of interest in Bath including the shopping, bars and restaurants. The hotel is beautiful the room was gorgeous but most impressive of all was the amazingly attentive and accommodating staff. Sincere thanks to everyone who took care of us.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mikeyl67
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Mikeyl67 Thank you very much for sending in such a positive review; we’re delighted you enjoyed your anniversary weekend. It is a boost to morale for all the team and we hope we will see you again soon. Kind regards Mads Nielsen

Brecon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Elegant building fills one side of Queen Square in the City centre. Externally restored perfectly; internallty re-designed for maximum elegance and comfort. Staff inredibly attentive. Everything you could possibly want is provided in the spacious and comfortable bedrooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Richard C Thank you very much for your positive review; it has been a great boost to all the team and we do appreciate you taking the time. I hope we see you on your next visit to Bath. Kind regards Mads Nielsen

singapore
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Room is small, not very clean, bathroom is really small, but location is near to tourist attractions. Also near shopping area. We are situated quite behind, but its suitable for us with kids. We heard others who are staying near the lift, complaint about the noise from other room. Will not coming back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hobtravel
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

de Dear hobtravel I am very sorry indeed to see that your stay wasn’t up to expectations. I would very much like to discuss this with you in person. Please can you call me on + 44 (0) 1225 424105. Kind regards Mads Nielsen

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

The hotel is in an excellent central location and has a car park to the rear but at a cost of £15 per 24 hours and the breakfast was fine (very nice Eggs Royal). The disappointing bit was the stained carpet in our room and blocked sink which left us a little underwhelmed at this price!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for your feedback. I do hope you managed to see all the sites that Bath has to offer when you were here. Unfortunately, due to the lack of space in the centre of the city, parking is at a premium throughout Bath. We are very lucky to have a small car park at the hotel that...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel for a single night on a very rare child free night for me and my wife. From the second we stepped foot into the hotel the staff were outstanding. The hotel is really quirky in its decor. Which is right up our street. We had the g and tea afternoon tea. Which dont get me wrong is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adamfaulkner
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear adamfaulkner Thank you so much for your feedback. It is always good to receive both positive and constructive feedback. I am delighted you have had such a good time, however, I am sorry that the shower in your room was not as I should have been. Please rest assured that this is currently being actioned and thank you for...

Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Such a lovely hotel to stay. Nothing is to much trouble for the staff the rooms are very tastefully done to an exceptional standard. Ideally located and most places of interest are no more than a few minutes walk. We was throughly spoilt rotten on our trip and I hope to get back to Bath and the St Francis very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa O
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa O We do appreciate your recommendations and I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Mads Nielsen

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

My husband and I booked to stay for one night and ended up staying for two! Lovely friendly staff, each and every one were polite and courteous. We had an amazing Gin Tiffin afternoon tea, just heavenly and on the first evening enjoyed a few cocktails at the bar. The room was luxurious, definitely quirky, painting hanging on the ceiling...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracy B
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Tracy B Thank you very much indeed for sending in a review following your recent stay; I am delighted to see that you stayed with us for an extra night. We hope to welcome you back to The Francis at some time in the future. Kind regards Mads Nielsen

601 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (500)
Viewed
Room/Suite (116)
Viewed
Bathroom (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (223)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (61)
Viewed
Classic Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,286 reviews
1.3 km away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
2.3 km away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#8 of 34 in Bath
1,296 reviews
0.7 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,165 reviews
2.8 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: $188 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Bloomingdale, Illinois
20 days ago
Hong Kong, China
4 months ago
Jacksonville, FL
1 month ago

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great Location”
 of 5 bubbles ShaunKilby, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“3rd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles ogfy, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Feature rooms are nice and spacious but at front of hotel which tend to be noiser”
 of 5 bubbles PEMCO007, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book car in”
 of 5 bubbles suneng3, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor at the front”
 of 5 bubbles DavidandRos369, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5