We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Abbey Hotel

Show Prices
#16 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,195: English reviews
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Fantastic hotel for our girly weekend away. Brilliant central location but no noise! Rooms are lovely and the staff great, very welcoming and helpful. Highly recommended for all groups/couples. Suggest that you get down early for breakfast though, lack of seating and certain food items.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeartHolidays1981
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was a lovely hotel to stay in - really central (pay parking just 200 yards away) and a delightful and comfortable hotel. It's an old building that has been modernised but kept some of the attractive original design. Our bedroom was really comfortable (at the back - we wanted a quiet room - so views of a Bath roofscape...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amdgriggs
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I arrived at the hotel and found my room to be very nice. It was clean, a better size than expected and had plenty of little extras. Impressed, I went out for the evening and returned later. I was however totally unable to sleep because of the loud noise coming from below my room. At 10.30 I ventured down to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 14kingfisher14
Andrew F, General Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 14kingfisher14, Thank you for taking your time to leave a review, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time here with us at The Abbey Hotel. I can only apologise that you were disturbed by a private function that was on going in our Igloo. We always endeavour to make sure this does not happen...

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited here during the Christmas period. It was truly magical. Our room was situated on the ground floor, hidden away. The room was clean, tidy and very grand. The room came with flat screen TV, iPad, chargers, bath and rain forest shower. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. The staff were helpful and couldn't do enough for you. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SurreyGirl26
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Abbey is a gem. Beautifully located with friendly staff and all you need. Check in and out was seamless. Room was perfectly clean and immaculate each day after servicing. Bed was warm and comfortable, decor was modern but cosy and shower was hot and efficient. Downsides were dirty underwear discovered in drawer on day 1 (left by previous guest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in the Abbey Hotel in August. The staff were extremely friendly and couldn't help us enough. We booked with breakfast included which didn't disappoint, there was a wide variety of food that was freshly made. The room although quite small had everything that was needed and we had a lovely view out our window. This hotel is central to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tori1996
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited bath for two nights over the Christmas break for my husbands birthday. The location is fantastic literally 2 minute walk from the Roman Baths. We didn't see a hotel closer than this one. Breakfast at the Abbey hotel was lovely. Parking was round the corner but you are able to leave your car outside for 20 minutes whilst...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natashac306
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Promises parking dont exist! You can find one around the corner for 12,50 per day.I think we got the worst room in hotel...122 place in basement with Windows to nowhere...smoking area of Iglo club.On morning between 8-9 o'clock sombody make terrible nosie,loud talkings, screaming And sounds of electric drill.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RockinTurtle
Management response:

Dear RockinTurtle, Thank you for taking your time to leave a review, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time here with us at The Abbey Hotel. We do not advertise that we have parking at The Abbey Hotel on any website; we do state that you can find parking in very close proximity to the...

Bawdrip, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent three nights over Christmas at The Abbey on their Christmas special and enjoyed every minute. The staff in the restaurant, bar and reception were very attentive and happy even if they were working Christmas. The food was very good, we did worry about the Christmas dinner as its never the same as home cooked but it was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ErnestTA78PW
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very disappointed by our Christmas dinner. With one glass of wine each in addition to the inclusive glass of champagne it cost us over £130 each. The fish starter was alright, but the soup was over-salted and by then we had already eaten enough and were confronted by a heaped plate of badly cooked and again over-salted 'turkey...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
Management response:

Dear Martin E, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, your comments are appreciated. Our Christmas package was inclusive of a 3 course meal, half a bottle of wine per person and a glass of champagne on arrival for each guest, which having checked with your section waiter you did receive. Of course if you were not...

383 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (292)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (165)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (57)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.8 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#8 of 34 in Bath
1,282 reviews
1.1 km away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 34 in Bath
2,565 reviews
0.5 km away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#7 of 34 in Bath
1,008 reviews
2.7 km away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: $141 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Abbey Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
Planet Earth
4 months ago
Sydney, Australia
over a year ago
Los Angeles, California
over a year ago

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from The Abbey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back are quieter but not such good views. Worth paying extra for the Superior rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles amdgriggs, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask if they have an event on while you plan to stay - and avoid it if they do!”
 of 5 bubbles 14kingfisher14, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try for the second floor with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles ErnestTA78PW, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try and get room maybe to the rear to avoid road noise and drunken bar patrons”
 of 5 bubbles hoozefarm, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a 'deluxe room' on the 3rd floor - it was spacious, light, super-comfortable, quiet, and had a lovely modern bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles samsG3082TT, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay