We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

634 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lansdown Grove Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 624: English reviews
Buckhurst Hill
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We enjoyed our 3 night stay. staff were helpful and the grounds would have been very pleasant to sit in if only the weather had been better! We upgraded to an Ambassador room which was worth the extra. It is certainly a formidable climb back up to the hotel from the centre but buses are convenient - although do not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mrtony7023
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrtony7023 Thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review. I will check out all room information to ensure its all up to date. Hope to see you again in the future. Regards Jane

London, England
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Good value for money. Stayed with friends. We had three rooms and they were all clean and comfortable but a little dated. The hotel had character and the rooms were all different. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a little disappointing as not all items on the menu were available e.g.croissants and the scrambled eggs were grey....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank warrenhouse
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Warren house Its great to read you though your stay with us was value for money. I hope you asked the staff for any extra items you would have liked at breakfast as we usually do have extra in the kitchen . Will be speaking to the chef regarding the scrambled egg. The walk up the hill is a...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Nice hotel with lovely staff a stones throw away from the center of Bath. We stayed in a family room, which was huge and had lovely high ceilings. the TV worked really well and the room was clean and presentable. Excellent Wi-Fi. Only recommendations for improvement are cleanliness, the bath room, which was lovely and large with a great shower,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaMaxTaylor
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you MaMax Taylor I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly look into the recommendations you have mentioned to all staff concerned hope to see you again in the future. Regards Jane

Bournemouth
Reviewed 24 August 2015

This hotel was built in the eighteenth century and wears its age well. Money is being spent on refurbishing the outside but more needs to be spent internally especially on the room we were allocated. The worn carpet had large wrinkles in it, the window needed painting inside and the trouser press did not work. My wife and I were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank william15
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear William15 Thank you for taking the time to post a review. As you mentioned we are refurbishing the outside and yes we are currently looking at starting on the inside. I am sure you can appreciate that there is never a right time for any of this kind of work to be done. As you mentioned in your review...

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015

We visited this hotel a year ago and liked it enough to come again. There is much to see and do in Bath. This time we paid a supplement for a room at the front of the building. This proved to be well worth it because the view over the city from our third floor room (304), particularly at night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maurice M
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Maurice M for such a lovely review. Its great to see returning guests who come back now and again and continue to enjoy their stay with us . Its a great view for 304 and as you say especially at night ,you get to see how big the city of Bath really is. Looking forward to welcoming you...

Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

2 wonderful Ambassador Rooms for the family. The staff could not have been more accommodating. We enjoyed Bath so much, we will return, so many more things to see and do. The rooms opened out onto a patio area with table and chairs. The hotel kindly put in two single beds for the children. The majority of the guests are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 309ral
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you 309ral, for taking the time to post another review. I am happy to read that your family break was such a success and that you were able to enjoy the patio areas whilst here. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the staff. Please feel free to contact the hotel once again should you wish...

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2015

At the top of the town, its a long walk from the centre (near the abbey) There are buses, No.31 which stops near to the hotel. A big old hotel, a bit tired. Scaffolding up at the front of the building. Limited car spaces. Possibly about 30-35? Staff were quite good on the whole. The room was very dusty and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keith B
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Keith B, for taking the time to post a review of your experience. I must say that it does concern me that your experience was so different than that of your friend, who recommended the Lansdown Grove to yourself. As I often mention, I do encourage customers to bring their concerns to the attention of my staff, whilst...

Northampton
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Friendly helpful staff, comfortable, spacious room. We would stay again. Hotel is at the top of a steep hill. So not the elderly or infirm may struggle, however the hotel is on a bus route and plenty of taxis.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steven802950 H
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Steven802950 H, for your review. I am glad to read that you found the hotel comfortable and staff helpful. As you say, we are on a hill, so if walking is a struggle, the number 31 Park and Ride, runs every 15 minutes and a Taxi to the Abbey/Pump Rooms will cost £5-£6. I look forward to your...

London, England
Reviewed 1 August 2015

We just had a Monday to Friday break here with Shearings and we had a lovely time. Our room (104) was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was a little tired in places but very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely with a good selection and there was also a good choice for our evening...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Christine1612
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Christine1612, for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to read that you found you recent stay with us a comfortable one and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the portion size of the Tomato and Mozzarella starter on the...

Truro, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2015

I stayed here for 2 nights, lovely hotel and 10 minutes walk down hill to the centre of Bath. Ambassador rooms were big and worth the upgrade, breakfast very nice and very helpful at reception. Ask cafe and pubs 5 minutes away and shops 10 minutes away. Parking at this hotel but there was also a bus down the hill....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emily S, I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent mini break with us. We are located within close walking distance of many of the attractions. The City, Hop-on Hop-off is a great way to visit the main sights around the city centre. That ticket is also valid within a 24 hour period, for use on...

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.2 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
1,270 reviews
1.0 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Apsley House Hotel
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.4 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#8 of 34 in Bath
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: $138 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lansdown Grove Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Burntwood, United Kingdom
4 months ago
St. Leonards-on-sea, East Sussex
St. Leonards-on-sea, East Sussex
St. Leonards-on-sea, East Sussex
5 months ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Lansdown Grove Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a handicapped room everything provided”
 of 5 bubbles 378patriciaj, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms have good views over the city. Lift only runs to the 3rd Floor.”
 of 5 bubbles margareth700, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Paid extra for single room, but only one bed in so could only be used by a single person”
 of 5 bubbles diddydi2016, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“High floor and to the front is very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles SheilaH702, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you have disabilities speak to the hotel who will be more than helpful and get you a room to suit you.”
 of 5 bubbles davidthomasdave, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay