We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Oldfields House

Show Prices
#26 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Oldfields House
Oldfields House
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,015 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 978: English reviews
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A really lovely, warm welcome. However, our room in the basement had obviously recently been repainted - it smelt of mould mixed with strong paint and it was a fairly small room with a small double. Location was ok - a 15 minute walk to the centre and I would recommend a taxi back as its on a very steep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebeccasouthwell
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our first visit to Bath, and Oldfields Hs had been recommended by friends. From the moment we walked through the front door we could not have been made to feel more welcome. Our room was a haven of comfort, although sadly (because it was January) we couldn't make the most of the balcony. There's a comfortable and cosy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nothing to specifically complain about. Friendly, helpful staff, nice breakfast and comfy bed. However, we had one of the smaller rooms with a shower which for the money was rather disappointing, particularly as the rooms on the website looked better. Room also adjacent to road so did get quite noisy particularly on a Monday morning. So in essence ok place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naomi B
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Is it a hotel or is it a b&b? Not sure but don't really care as we had a lovely night. The hotel is on the south side of the city but only a 10 minute walk to the centre so the on site parking is ideal and very useful. Lovely greeting including mince pies and a hot toddy! Lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Biff61
AlessandraManagement, Front Office Manager at Oldfields House, responded to this review

Oldfields House is, in fact a B+B. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments re our breakfast portion will be passed on - so many thanks for that.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed only a couple of days, but it was perfect! Staff is friendly and accommodating. The hotel is just 10-15 min walk from the centre. Warm, cosy, quintessential English. Breakfast was great as well. They had soya milk for me, which was great! Bath is a must visit place when in England and this place is highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scoric10
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here many times in the past under different owners, but the current owners seem to have really taken this to another level. When we arrived we were given a room on the first floor with a view of the busy main road outside which gave cause for concern, however the double glazing with additional secondary glazing effectively...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KentCouple
AlessandraManagement, Front Office Manager at Oldfields House, responded to this review

We are pleased that you both enjoyed a further stay with us, at Oldfields House. As you rightly noticed, we did have rather a large amount of furniture in boxes in the Drawing Room and Reception areas, that were going into the two newly converted rooms downstairs. So apologies for that, and also for you missing out on the mulled...

Pontypool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Perfect location to town centre, 10 minute walk from hotel to town. Steep but a steady Hill. Fabulous and friendly staff, very clean, very friendly with a lovely breakfast. Fresh clean towels daily. Tea and coffee facilities in the room woth a good choice of each. Very accommodating. Carport is a tight squeeze though with narrow spaces. Entrance to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank becstewart
AlessandraManagement, Front Office Manager at Oldfields House, responded to this review

Dear Bec, We're so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us at Oldfields House. Bath is particularly lovely during the Christmas Market period. The team here thank you for your review. May we wish you and yours a very happy Christmas. Kind Regards, Julia

West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Visited in December for the Xmas market. We arrived earlier than check in time and was allowed to park outside although I drive a 4WD I managed to park in the one space left. The receptionist (Val) was very welcoming and helpful. She provided us with a map and advice on how to get into town which was a 15min...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Main57
AlessandraManagement, Front Office Manager at Oldfields House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Oldfields House. Our car park is not the largest, but we do manage to provide a complementary parking space for all our guests. Bath is especially lovely during the Christmas Market period, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The team work hard to make sure everyone feels welcome when they stay...

HERTS
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Stayed one night in early December to use as a base for the Christmas market. Used the onsite parking which was handy, but spaces are very narrow which made parking a challenge, we arrived an hour before check in and were able to leave the car and go into Bath city centre; down quite a steep hill and down some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JANE-HERTS
middlesex
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at Oldfields House. I am a solo traveller and it can be quite expensive to find somewhere to stay that is reasonable priced and good. Oldfields House have stars for both. I arrived before the check in of 2pm, the receptionist checked and my room was ready which meant I didn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank middlesex01

429 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (219)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (79)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (186)
Viewed
Classic Queen Room (22)
Viewed
Double Loft (15)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (19)
Viewed
King Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Second Four Poster Room (21)
Viewed
Single in Eaves (13)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (21)
Viewed
Superior Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.4 km away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#7 of 34 in Bath
1,008 reviews
2.4 km away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#16 of 193 in Bath
746 reviews
0.0 km away
One Three Nine Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 193 in Bath
1,004 reviews
1.4 km away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
1.3 km away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#15 of 193 in Bath
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 16 en-suite bedrooms, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Address: 102 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: $158 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oldfields House staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Essex, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Essex, United Kingdom
5 months ago
London
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Oldfields House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had Room 10”
 of 5 bubbles 26SharonC26, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not sure what the other single rooms they have but mine was nice”
 of 5 bubbles middlesex01, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles PatandKimM, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 has a view, is standard rate and perfectly adequate for a short stay.”
 of 5 bubbles SB012, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view (3 and 7 don't have any views)”
  • Room 3, Superior but no view
 of 5 bubbles Sue0513, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay