We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Apsley House Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Apsley House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Apsley House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,302: English reviews
West Midlands, UK
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just spent the weekend here, the hotel is a credit to Gillie, Raphael and their team, they make you feel like old friends from the minute you arrive, the honesty bar is such a refreshing idea, our room was lovely and the breakfasts were wonderful, we would definately return in a heart beat

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WestMidlands_UKLulu
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear West Midlands Guests, Why thank you so much for your kind and personal words, and for taking the time to write your thoughts on here, It is always a pleasure to receive such lovely guests, and to know that we have made their stay enjoyable. I have passed on the feedback to the team and it really helps with...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Title says it all really. If you are looking for a upmarket B&B then this is the place to go. What it isn't though is a hotel, so if you are expecting all the trimmings you would get in a hotel you will be disappointed. All that said the staff were very friendly the rooms were very cosy. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark P
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on here, and we do appreciate the points you have raised on here. We would hope that we can provide the same level of service as other hotels, and please let me know if you have any suggestions as to what you may have been missing during your...

Newtown, Connecticut
Reviewed 20 October 2013

When we arrived at the Apsley House we were welcomed as if we were arriving at the home of good friends or family. Innkeepers Raphael and Gillie could not have been more hospitable and owners David and Stephanie (Steph) were absolutely delightful. Apsley House is an elegant home overlooking a beautiful garden and hillside scenery. The views from the lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tmcct
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest across the seas, Many, many thanks for your lovely feedback you have posted here. It really does help, and we love to hear how we have helped people like yourselves enjoy their stay with us. I have passed on your feedback to the staff and the owners (Nick and Claire Potts are the owners), and everyone is...

Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in Beau Room ...Beautiful....it has its own private entrance from the garden .....Super comfy BIG Four Poster Bed ..... Loverly Big cast Bath ..... ......Breakfast is delicious .Daily..Special.......Very very nice ...Chef is to be commended .... Hosts are absolutely wonderful ....We WILL return .... Thank you so much for a loverly stay ..x

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barbara M
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barbara, We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, and want to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I have passed on your feedback to Raphael about the breakfast, We do try to get the bed right and the breakfast right, as we think that this is the key to...

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed 4 nights in Garden Room in early October. large room, door onto gardens, separate dressing area, large, modern bathroom. Room was clean, and well decorated. Breakfast room was beautiful, with great views across the garden and valley beyond. There is a breakfast special each day, in addition to normal menu. Locally sourced ingredients - really great tasting bacon. To...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon, Wow, thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and also for taking the time to write a review for us. We just recently started using a local farm to supply our meat, as we believe in supporting local producers as well as providing the cleanest, freshest ingredients, so it...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife and I are traveling the UK as we catch up with adult children now living in London. On this part of our trip we were traveling with our son and we selected this as a perfect self catering spot as we explored Bath. This is first class accommodation and well located. There is a downstairs lounge room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review on here. I have passed on your feedback to the owners, who are delighted that you had such a lovely experience. Your feedback really helps others make a more educated decision, and understand what kind of stay they can expect, and it helps us too. Many thanks again, we really...

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Apsley House last weekend. We received the warmest of welcomes from the manageress Gillie and Raphael the manager. Nothing was too much trouble. They were friendly snd courteous and made the stay one to remember. If you want a relaxed peaceful stay in Bath with superior service, look no further than Apsley House.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SGRH
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, Thank you so much for your kind and personal feedback here on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and your review has already helped other people make their decision. We strive to maintain a friendly yet peaceful environment, so we are delighted that this was the experience you had here. Thank you again....

Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We spent two nights at the Apsley House for our honeymoon. They are such friendly people and it was so nice to have the opportunity to stay there. We had heard rave reviews and can now be included in those. We were arriving very late so they were nice enough to accommodate that. The breakfast is delicious. The rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ashley W
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ashley, Thank you so much for your lovely review. Especially when you have travelled so far, from Canada, it is great to hear that we have lived up to your expectations, and you enjoyed your stay here. It was a pleasure meeting you both, and we hope to see you again sometime. Warmly, Gillie

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed at the Apsley House in mid-September, at the beginning of our trip throughout England. The place is just beautiful…from the lovely breakfast room and sitting room, to the elegant stairway and the tastefully furnished rooms. We stayed in the Salamanca Room, which required a two floor climb, but was bright, roomy and had great views of the garden....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dagny123
ApsleyManagement, General Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind feedback and comments here on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, especially the breakfast, which we pride ourselves on! Every piece of feedback helps, we really appreciate it, thank you. Warm Regards, Gillie

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Me and my wife stayed at Apsley for a two day break to Bath . We stayed in the Wellington room on the first floor .The room was superb with lot of character and lovely old furnishings ,A really comfortable king size bed and great bathroom , The room was very spacious and had a lovely view of the garden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Higgimx
ApsleyManagement, General Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your kind feedback. We always pass on the feedback from here to the staff as well, as it really helps to keep them motivated and give them a sense of reward for the work they put in. We really appreciate your review and hope you come and visit...

685 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (369)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (101)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Other (123)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (247)
Viewed
Garden Suite (Family Room) with Garden Access (39)
Viewed
Romantic Room (43)
Viewed
The Coach House (Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom) (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)
Viewed
Vitoria Room (28)
Viewed
Wellington Room (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (55)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
3.0 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,165 reviews
3.1 km away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#7 of 34 in Bath
1,018 reviews
2.3 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
2.3 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#8 of 34 in Bath
1,296 reviews
3.5 km away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the City, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: $275 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#2 Business Hotel in Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apsley House Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
4 months ago
4 months ago
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Apsley House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Wellington room is brilliant, The Romantic room is excellent too.”
 of 5 bubbles ChristianB, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are beautiful, but I think the first floor rooms are more open compared to the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles IrishRMH, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 12. It is, conveniently on the ground floor but smaller and less attractive.”
 of 5 bubbles Sustainer, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Garden suite will be even more comfortable in the summer.”
 of 5 bubbles 877wenl, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Look at the site as they are all different”
 of 5 bubbles sharuss, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5