We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Bath

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
YHA Bath
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Bath
See the most recent reviews
Showing 222: English reviews
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here recently pleasant place to stay with great views of Bath.25 minute walk down hill to bath centre you can get bus back or taxi as it's a steep hill back.we had breakfast which was extra cost this was extremely dissaponting it was served cold.lady on reception was lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drtaze2012
Phil M, Operations Manager at YHA Bath, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and especially thanks for the positive comments about our team. So sorry that your breakfast was cold, since your stay we have now ordered a brand new hot plate to ensure that our great breakfasts are piping hot from now on so hopefully your next visit will be even better.

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016

There is a lot that can be done to improve this hostel. The food was terrible and the games in the lounge room incomplete and tatty. There were also some very strange clientele when we stayed making us feel unsafe. Bedrooms were clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlotte377
Phil M, Operations Manager at YHA Bath, responded to this review

So sorry to hear you didnt enjoy your stay with us at YHA Bath, however , your feedback is invaluable in helping us get better and improving our service and facilities. You will be pleased to hear that we have scheduled a sizable investment into YHA Bath later this year which will address all the areas you mention and many...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Stayed here during the half term holidays with my husband (in male dorm) and teen daughter in our female dorm. This was our first dorm experience (all the family rooms were fully booked) and it was much better than expected. All the others in the dorm were considerate and tidy and we all slept well. Despite the hostel being full,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
Phil M, operations manager at YHA Bath, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at YHA Bath and we hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2016

The room we stayed in was comfortable, but with mud on the floor, some rubbish on the floor and the plug stuck in the sink let it down. We were next to the bathroom which proved noisy. A rugby team were set up doing massages late at night outside our room. Also the continental breakfast was non existent on our...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevinblower
Phil M, Operations Manager at YHA Bath, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words about our team and sorry the rest of your experience wasnt up to the same standard. We value all feedback as it is essential in helping us in getting things better next time. I have personally picked up on your comments and am dealing with the points raised. I am sure the next time you...

Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2016

We spent a not inconsiderable sum of £156 for a room for four people on the 5/6 Feb 16. We along with several other unfortunate people didn't get any sleep due to a bunch of drunk yobs with no respect for anybody in room 25 a short distance away from us. This can happen in a hostel, I accept that....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert Rhys J
Phil M, Operations Manager at YHA Bath, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback Robert and really sorry that your esperience of YHA Bath was spoiled by some inconsiderate individuals and that in addition you were not satisfied with the assistance you recieved from the team on duty. If you would like to contact the hostel and get them to send me your contact details i will happily speak to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here while at a university conference. It was unlike hostels on holidays to other parts of Europe. Not a lot to be aid tbh. Was a relaxed place to stay, quite nice that we all knew each other there. Location is not too far from the university and is one 5 min bus ride to town centre. It has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramin N
New Forest, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with our 2 young kids and another family of 4. We got adjacent dorm rooms, which were basic but did the job for 2 nights. The kids had a blast and we were able to put them to bed safely and us adults eat downstairs and socialise without any issues from other guests or staff. YHAs offer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LynseyC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

This is a nice place to stay with clean rooms and bathrooms (small but it's a hostel so expected). It's a little for out of the city Centre and is thus difficult to travel to with luggage. Especially because we were there for only one night but had to leave our bags in luggage storage on both days because the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jordy R
Amy B, Manager at YHA Bath, responded to this review

Dear Jordy R, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Yes we are a little out of the city, but we get great views in winter. I’m glad you found it a nice place to stay. YHA has over 150 hostels across England & Wales, try out another one, as some of them are right in the...

Surrey
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

We were on a weekend trip to see the City and Christmas Market and stayed at the YHA. The hostel is in a handsome old house on a hill outside the city centre. Our room wss comfortable, in the annexe, and the staff were very friendly as they always are at a YHA. The walk to the city, with views...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew S
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Rundown facility with unwelcoming staff at the front desk. Had to ask staff 3 times where the hotspot for wifi is. On that note, wifi was terrible, only available in the dining room but still poor. Don't leave your windows open after dark as mosquitos will come in from the surrounding bush.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
Amy B, Manager at YHA Bath, responded to this review

Dear Anthony P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate all guest feedback. I'm sorry that you found the staff unwelcoming. I'll be sharing your post with them. I'll be highlighting to them the importance of mentioning wi-fi on check in as it's a requirement of most people these days. We are a charity and...

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.0 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
12.2 km away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 34 in Bath
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
4.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.3 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Famed for its grand Georgian architecture and hot springs, Bath is a World Heritage City of many contrasts. It also offers a vibrant nightlife and progressive counter culture to round off your experience. Hearty breakfasts and a quality evening menu are available in our restaurant. YHA Bath is a listed building and welcomes all types of guests. However, if you have a child under the age of 3 years or any other requirements related to mobility or access, please mention at the time of booking and we will endeavor to book you in the most suitable room. YHA Bath comprises two buildings which are both in the same grounds. The hostel has both dorm beds and private rooms available, with some en-suite. We are perfect for backpackers, families and couples alike. Bed linen is provided but towels are not, however please do bring your own or you can hire them from us. There is FREE Wi-Fi available in the social areas. There is 24 hour access to the hostel for all guests that have checked in (code given during check in). YHA Bath is located on Bathwick Hill, within walking distance of the city itself. All the main city attractions are close enough to walk, including the Roman Baths, the Jane Austen Centre, Bath Abbey and the Bath Thermal Spa. Immerse yourself in the rich history of this World Heritage City, explore the gorgeous Georgian architecture or relax in the spa before returning to the hostel for a quiet drink in the bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Bath

Address: Bathwick Hill, Bath BA2 6JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: $31 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Yha Hotel Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Bath staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Bath staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay in the lodge!!!”
 of 5 bubbles thefam0usfive, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were next to an outer door, so quite noisey”
  • Our bedroom
 of 5 bubbles J7, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book an en suite room”
 of 5 bubbles A-Reel, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ensuite rooms in the annexe, ask to be right down the end of the corridor to minimise the noise”
 of 5 bubbles pauffleys, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for the ensuite so you don't have to share the toilets with strangers lol”
 of 5 bubbles monicaw353, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5