Tor Farm Lodges

Tor Farm Lodges

Traveller (72)
Decking area with owners house in background
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 1 lodge in Cheddar
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Great View
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Hiking
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Body wrap
BBQ facilities
Internet
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Facial treatments
Makeup services
Manicure
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Room features
Additional bathroom
Seating area
Sofa
Iron
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
67Reviews1Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 58
  • 6
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Susanna F wrote a review Oct 2020
Daventry, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just got back. Late booking due to our previous plans for our daughters 21st birthday being cancelled due to COVID. This is a great sized lodge with a lovely kitchen, log burner and surrounded by decking which included the hot tub & BBQ . The standard of finish on the lodge with the furnishings is excellent & is extremely comfortable, & the hot tub was cleaned every day. Wonderful Views, not overlooked, however beware the access road is very poor with very few pull in points, which we found out when we ran into a herd of cows coming down the road ! We have no real complaints apart from as it is luxury we would have liked some oven gloves, some cookware for the microwave and some normal size wine glasses ( Although plenty provided the glasses were extremely small ) plus some Gin glasses, but that's just me. The lodges are in a perfect location for Cheddar Gorge, Wells and Glastonbury. Although our week was not cheap, we would highly recommend them
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We booked Honeysuckle lodge which is dog free
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
longlegs wrote a review May 2021
Colchester, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived on time at 4pm, we had a booking for Honeysuckle lodge , having messaged ahead to ask for twin bedded room for use, we arrived and the room was locked, I called the owner and this was rectified quickly, the beds in the twin room were extremely soft I suffer from back issues so found this quite a problem sleeping, my husband doesn’t suffer with any back problems and he found the beds very soft, thank goodness for the hot tub every morning we both said, we had no mirror above the dressing table to dry hair with but since leaving the owner says they will purchase one, we found the lockable handle on hot tub broken as the lid came down on us while sitting in hot tub, we called and spoke to owners and they brought a stretchy along to tie lid up with straight away, they said they would get a new one so no one should have this issue, the views from lodge are amazing, and the decking area is huge the lodges are mostly very private, we have stayed in quite a few 5* luxury lodges and honestly I wouldn’t say these were, for the reasons given also the tv,s were very small for size of the lounge, the WiFi we found very slow, the area was lovely around the lodges. They say on there website come for peace and quiet, our lodge was close to the owners house, on the Sunday we were woken by there children out playing at 7.45 am, we thought this was quite early to be driving around in a battery car near to lodges. We did enjoy the holiday but the lodges but we wouldn’t book again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Honeysuckle lodge lovely views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karen Hansford, Owner at Tor Farm Lodges
Responded 19 May 2021
Thank you for your review. Having looked at email exchanges I could not find the request for the 2nd bedroom, so I can only apologise if this was sent on another messaging platform and I missed it prior to your arrival, as you have stated we resolved the issue as soon as we were made aware. Thank you for the feed back in the visitors book at the end of your stay regarding the mirror, one was ordered same day for the 2nd bedroom, we always ask guests to let us know any concerns immediately, as had we been notified at the start of your stay we would have immediately ordered the new one next day delivery and brought a temporary portable mirror for you to use until new one arrived. As in my email to you we spend a lot of money ensuring we purchase top quality mattresses, however we do not supply specific mattresses for specific joint or back problems. Our mattresses are usually the top thing that we get rave reviews on so I am so sorry to hear that this was not the case for you and your husband. You did notify us that the hot tub safety had broken and as soon as this happened we came with something to secure the lid, until the now ordered replacement cover lifter arrives (once again ordered same day) We are rural and so unfortunately we are still waiting for fast WiFi to reach us, we have recently switched to 4G routers to help improve speeds but until the infrastructure is improved we are very much restricted by our location. I am sad to see that you would not return to Tor Farm, we pride ourselves on providing the best service aiming to have everything you need prior to your arrival but if in the rare occurrence this is not the case, that we will rectify and act on issues as soon as they are raised. We can only hope that you may give us a chance in the future to improve your opinion of us. Many thanks Karen, Ben and family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rebekah M wrote a review Jul 2020
Cornwall
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from another visit to Tor Farm. We regularly come here as the cabins are beautiful and clean and the setting is idyllic, set amongst Apple, and pear trees with gorgeous scenery.

The cabin is well equipped and the hot tub was just the thing needed to be able to relax and unwind after working hard these last few months. The beds are so comfy I need to buy one! And there’s a choice of a deep bath or shower room in there. Karen and family are so lovely, they are there for anything you need but so discreet you feel your the only ones there.

We couldn’t use the outdoor pool this time due to government restrictions, but with hot tub no probs. Hubby was able to bike ride most days as the area is beautiful, and cabin is close for Weston Super Mare, Clark’s village, Wells and Cheddar. We also bring our pooch who settles in this place every time.

These lodges are so lovely and we can’t wait to come back again after summer, Only thing I needed to ask was where were the sheep this time? They usually have lovely fat sheep in the field in front of cabin.

Thanks Karen it’s been absolutely lovely, and we needed this stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Abby & Andy wrote a review Jul 2021
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just finished our 4 night break at Tor Farm, and a fabulous time we’ve had. We booked quite late and the communication from Karen was brilliant, the instructions provided for the contact free check in were very clear. We stayed in Clover Lodge and it was lovely, very clean and well equipped. The outdoor and hot tub area (which was cleaned daily) is very private and had a beautiful view.

This is the perfect place for a relaxing staycation, it provided us the peaceful break we needed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merrick T wrote a review Feb 2020
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely place for a relaxing few days away from it all. Very easy to find with simple check in. Lodge done to a high standard, nice big kitchen and entertainment area. Lovely hot tub, cleaned every day. Nice bath and shower facilities, though the water jets on our bath seemed to not be working properly. Bed a bit soft for our taste but still nice.

Lodges in a lovely quiet location if you’re looking for some peace and quiet, but local town and attractions only a short drive away (Cheddars 5 minutes in the car). Recommend Tuckers fish and chip shop as a good place to eat in Cheddar, tasty food and good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lmjbristol wrote a review Feb 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Five of us enjoyed another fabulous stay at Tor Farm Cheddar.
The lodge was spotlessly clean and so comfortable! Everything there you need including dish washer and a washing machine if required.
The Hot Tub is the icing on the cake for pure relaxation ! We all loved it !
Look forward to the next visit!
Visited Wells, Cheddar and a must to Cheddar Market on the Sunday.
Lovely drink in The Cider Barn and a lush Carvery at The Rodney Stoke Inn the staff so very friendly there !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kateg28 wrote a review Jul 2021
Hertford, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have tried to find something wrong with these lodges but am struggling. They were clean, well appointed and tranquil. The booking of the pool (due to COVID) was easy and meant we got a private pool for an hour. The staff were lovely and unobtrusive and we had a lovely week enjoying ourself in the surrounding area, coming back for a swim, dip in the hot tub and then a barbecue. Pretty much perfect.

The cows next door had calves and the sheep were a bit vocal but we enjoyed the sounds of the countryside.

The wifi was a bit random and dropped out a few times but we were expecting this and didn’t really impact our holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: All lodges are slightly different so worth considering what suits you. We had meadow view and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma T wrote a review Jun 2021
Ipplepen, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the 3rd time we have stayed here and its been excellent again. Stayed in buttercup Lodge this time and as always the lodge is immaculately clean and well equipped. This place has the most amazing views and is so peaceful. We were out exploring cheddar and surrounding areas during the week and loved being able to come back here to chill out on the decking area and in the hot tub. We got to use the outdoor pool on our stay this time (usually stay when pool closed out of season) even better in a way that because of covid we had pool to ourselves as had to book time slot,so only people in your party using it at one time. Thank you again tor farm for a relaxing peaceful stay. See you again I'm sure 😊
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brenda l wrote a review Sept 2021
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely thrilled with primrose lodge when we arrived for our staycation holiday this year .
Fully equipped and quality fixtures and fittings plus added bonus of the hot tub!!
Would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a relaxing break away. Plenty of places to visit in the Somerset area.
We shall definitely be returning sometime in the future xx keep up the good work !!
As shown in pics we also ventured to the top of nyland tor which is directly opposite the farm was well worth the climb for the stunning views. Xx
Won’t let me upload any pics for some reason!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tweetyEngland wrote a review Sept 2023
Liverpool, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We our having the most amazing stay at Tor Farm .
Everything about the lodge is 5 Star
We would highly recommend to anyone .
The lodges are kept to an exceptional standed
Hot Tub private decking .
Heated out door pool .
The Hosts can't do anoth to make your stay wonderful
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Take supplies with you as shops are a good way out
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Hannah
Manchester, United Kingdom65 contributions122 helpful votes
There weren't any blankets provided when we were there. I'd take some with you ☺️
Steve Hawkins wrote a tip Apr 2024
Yarm, United Kingdom150 contributions139 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring sundries, no shops in walking distance. Try Uphill Nature Reserve & Marina for lovely dog walks with views & a nice cafe at the start/end."
Read full review
Peaches H wrote a tip Mar 2024
Warwick, United Kingdom23 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The shops are a fair distance away, you can’t walk there you will need to drive so maybe take groceries"
Read full review
Steph C wrote a tip Mar 2024
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No smart TVs so talk to eachother or take a laptop. WiFi works well and perfect place for romantic getaway."
Read full review
SPW1970 wrote a tip Sept 2023
UK36 contributions54 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early, you will love this place"
Read full review
DNock88 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Chelmsford, United Kingdom259 contributions95 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just be prepared for a cold swimming pool!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cheddar area.
PRICE RANGE
S$322 - S$1,027 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSomersetCheddar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TOR FARM LODGES: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 84 Photos (Cheddar, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Tor Farm Lodges
Which popular attractions are close to Tor Farm Lodges?
Nearby attractions include Wilkins Cider Farm (4.3 km), Cheddar Crazy Golf (3.7 km), and The Cheddar Gorge Cheese Company (3.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tor Farm Lodges?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Tor Farm Lodges?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Tor Farm Lodges?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Tor Farm Lodges?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tor Farm Lodges?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zen Thai Restaurant, The Packhorse Inn, and The Almshouse Tea Shop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tor Farm Lodges?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Tor Farm Lodges?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Tor Farm Lodges?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Tor Farm Lodges?
Many travellers enjoy visiting King John's Hunting Lodge (4.8 km), Cheddar Parish (3.7 km), and St Andrew's Church (2.8 km).
All Cheddar HotelsCheddar Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CheddarHotels near Tor Farm Lodges
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire