We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Luttrell Arms

0.1 km from Dunster centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
32-36 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

630 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Luttrell Arms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 624: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016

On arrival we received a very warm welcome by the reception staff and were informed that our room had been upgraded which was a lovely surprise. The room on the first floor was small but very clean, bright and cheerful. Although it overlooked the main road we didn't have any problem with the noise of the traffic below. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ValHorton32
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived for a three night stay to meet up with family. The first thing we were told was how lucky we were because we had been given a free upgrade to their best room! It was amazing. 4 poster bed, reading room, lounge area, window seat: I could go on. The staff were so courteous and helpful. The food,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsTrace
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review - We hope that you will be back soon!

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Staying here for 2 nights (room 34). Bit disappointed on arrival as room (which is up steep stairs at end of long corridor with fairly soiled carpet) is small for deluxe (£160 per night). The room smells badly of damp and we can hear next door room noise. The small verandah outside is quite dirty. Eating in restaurant tonight so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meribel1
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

Sorry that you didn't like your room or the sun terrace; it is usually a very popular room, especially at this time of year when you can make to the most of the beautiful garden and access to the deer park. It is as you mention, the room is down the corridor into the old cottages, not usually an issue...

Street, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

We stopped off here for a light lunch having spent the morning at Dunster Castle. We both had a ham sandwich. Lovely fresh, thick cut brown bread with plenty of hand carved ham, some dressed salad leaves and a portion of chunky chips between us. A good selection of real ales. A lovely old hotel with lots of rooms scattered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review - next time you visit you should stay the night, we have some great rooms too!

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

We only stopped here for a morning coffee and clearly need to find an opportunity to come back here for an evening meal and to stay. We had our coffees (excellent cappuccinos) out in the Secret Garden at the back, which really is a gem - several separate seating areas on different levels, lots of colourful flowers and shrubs, all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amdgriggs
Becca W, Manager at The Luttrell Arms, responded to this review

Brilliant - We look forward to welcoming you!

Plymouth
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Stayed here with my best friend over the end of May bank holiday and had a thoroughly good time. A very pleasant twin room, and we had a lovely afternoon sitting in the sunny garden on the Sunday, followed by a very enjoyable dinner. This was despite having to listen to some whining and complaining from a nearby table (the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank je9341
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

Arrived at the pub/hotel for a business sleepover. What a beautiful, well kept wonderful place with great staff. Lots of different little cosy snug areas to socialise or hide away romantically. Food was delightful, I had the gourmet burger while my colleague had the humble pie. Room is gorgeous, bed is like a cloud. Huge towels, shampoos and soaps available....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ToniConduct
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Stayed with Female partner for allo allo night 16th june. good parking in square, nice check in The staff all of them is fantastic and a credit to the hotel. we have been for lunch and dinner many times and always a pleasure with good food. However on that night you could not call it food. Beetroot tarte tatan was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry P
Bath, UK
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Stayed overnight as we were playing golf at Minehead G C but albeit only on B&B basis, we enjoyed the experience. The room was spacious and had everything we needed and the breakfast was cooked to order, quick and very well presented. Dunster town is very picturesque although parking can be a bit difficult as it is free and people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WidcombeWanderer
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Great fun night at Rennie's cafe with lovely food, great adult fun with a lovely group of people. The food was lovely and the actors and staff worked hard to please. Thank you to everyone for making this a great night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda C

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (127)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.0 km away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
180 reviews
36.2 km away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
491 reviews
27.8 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 km away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
22.3 km away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
136 reviews
3.1 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Luttrell Arms is a 3 star, 28 room hotel. Set in the medieval village of Dunster with its many interesting buildings, under the shadow of the Castle and within the Exmoor National Park. The privately owned 14th century Luttrell Arms is surrounded by beautiful countryside making it the ideal destination for that weekend break or midweek getaway. Stroll around the village, walk the moor, or just sit by a log fire in a building where hospitality has been a way of life for hundreds of years. Heritage "If you could bottle the air in the bar at the Luttrell Arms and sell it you'd clean up" so wrote a local journalist. The smell of logs burning on the fire, a hint of hops from the pints of ale, add to this the smell of something aromatic being cooked in the kitchen, and the most essential element - the smell of history, it oozes out of the walls which have stood for 800 years. There are many outstanding architectural features, the medieval hall with its hammer beam roof (room 17) and twelve light window. History seeps out of the blackened frames, which had their glass rattled loose as Cromwell’s gunners laid siege to Dunster Castle from a defended strong point at the end of the garden. Cromwell’s Commander, Col. Robert Blake walked the corridors of the hotel, it was then called the Ship Inn and was used as his headquarters throughout the siege of the castle. Also of note is some very fine plasterwork on the ceiling of the lounge downstairs, and the plaster over mantle in room 12, showing Actaeon being devoured by hounds. The Arms of Luttrell that we use today carry us back to a Gentleman of 1261, the crest takes us only back to 1621, but the supporters are directly derived from one of the Barons who coerced King John into sealing Magna Carta. A more modern visitor is Hercule Poirot. In "The Cornish Mystery" he confronts the murderer in one of the hotel’s bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Luttrell Arms

Address: 32-36 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Price Range: $164 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Luttrell Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Luttrell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Hotel Dunster
Luttrell Arms Dunster
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Luttrell Arms staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
5 months ago
London, United Kingdom
Northampton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Luttrell Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Am sure that there are no "bad" rooms at this hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles jamesdouglas2014, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 10 own patio area ont secret garden”
 of 5 bubbles jacquifish6969, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All perfect”
 of 5 bubbles deeannrob, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Personally I would always go for the 4 poster feature rooms as they are stunnigly beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles TabbyWabby1, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room No:9 is at the front of the hotel with views of the market place. The room is very comfortable and spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles saffy58800, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5