We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beryl B & B

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Beryl B & B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 281: English reviews
Start your review of Beryl B & B
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What can I say? The Beryl is stunning, lovely owners, lovely food and a beautiful house in beautiful grounds. The room is stunning, full of period features with a fantastic view over the surrounding countryside. Will definitely return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed in this B&B hotel for 1 night on Friday 21 April. It's a Gothic-style house (13 guest bedrooms) built in the 1830's and located just outside of the city of Wells. It is set in some lovely grounds, is really full of character and a great place to stay! We received a really warm welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveRayb
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Beryl B&B one night. Overall, it's an impressive manor house, filled with oldness. Also rather extensive grounds. A very relaxing feeling about the place. The bedroom itself was small and basic. The owners offered us an EXTREMELY tasty cake and tea. They also have an "honor bar" where you take what you want and note it down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights in "Butterfly" which is a very pleasantly appointed room. Sadly, we had the same experience as Gail L with an overpowering smell of fried onions in the room when we returned from a meal out in town. I would like to have been able to discuss this with the owner but unfortunately she was occupied...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anncolly
Holly_and_Mary-Ellen, Owner at Beryl B & B, responded to this review

Thank you vey much for taking the time to write this review and also for staying with us. We are so sorry that you too expirienced the same inconvenience with the smell of onions, its such a rare event that this would happen and in fact we have never had a food smell complaint in 36 years but we have...

Kent, UK
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Beryl is a mile or two outside the town centre, but it's a smasher. An Edwardian building in a grand setting makes for a very special little bolt hole. Friendly but unobtrusive staff, clean, crisp rooms, great breakfast. We only had one night, but we'll be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hanskraay
Holly_and_Mary-Ellen, Owner at Beryl B & B, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for writing a review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again one day. With warmest regards from all at Beryl

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2017

The hotel is in a quiet location but is 20 minutes walk from Wells,walking through a housing estate. Steep on the return journey, so you need to be fit or prepared to use the car. The Master bedroom was clean and large with views over the garden. The staff friendly and helpful but a strong smell of fried onions permeated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gail L
Holly_and_Mary-Ellen, Owner at Beryl B & B, responded to this review

May we apologise for the elements of dissappointment during your stay with us, we will re-look at our literature to make sure that it is clear that we are exactly a mile from the city centre. It is rare that cooking takes place late a night but we apologise for any inconvenience caused and appriciate you taking time to point...

Reviewed 22 March 2017

Stayed for a few days on a visit to Wells and nearby Wookey & Cheddar Gorge. The house was excellent with a real quality feel to it. Really nice room with authentic old house creaky floorboards. Breakfast was very good with a fine selection of food. The staff were very pleasant and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
Holly_and_Mary-Ellen, Owner at Beryl B & B, responded to this review

THank you very much for your kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again one day. With warmest regards from all at Beryl

Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

My partner and I had a two-night break here last weekend. The house is unquestionably beautiful, the staff were outstanding and the breakfast was fine. I'm not a complainer but sadly based on my visit, I would not revisit and want to flag several issues up that we experienced so that the owners can look into them and readers can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilybet15
Holly_and_Mary-Ellen, Owner at Beryl B & B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your feedback. We have fully noted your complaints and we are looking into rectifying as many as possible. We apologise for your dissappointment. With warmest regards from all at Beryl

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

The bedroom was clean and beautifully decorated, bed comfortable and breakfast made to perfection. Not much else to say really . . . wouldn't hesitate in recommending a stay at Beryl. Hope to return in the autumn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PPetts13
Holly_and_Mary-Ellen, Owner at Beryl B & B, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your time at Beryl and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back later in the year. With warmest regards from all at Beryl

Birmingham
Reviewed 6 March 2017

From the moment we arrived, we knew that this was somewhere special. A lovely fire burning in the hall and a friendly, unfussy welcome and then just being left to enjoy this remarkable house. Breakfasts are generous and delicious - served in a delightful room overlooking the stunning garden. The hosts and all staff are friendly and welcoming and attention...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WorldWanderer2009
Holly_and_Mary-Ellen, Owner at Beryl B & B, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future, with warmest regards from all at Beryl

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.5 km away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
3.1 km away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
962 reviews
1.5 km away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
166 reviews
8.2 km away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
937 reviews
0.7 km away
Stoberry House
Stoberry House
#3 of 40 in Wells
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Beryl B & B

Address: Hawkers Lane, Wells BA5 3JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Price Range: $165 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beryl B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beryl B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beryl B & B staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Beryl B & B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Can only comment on the cooking smells permeating "Butterfly"”
anncolly, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed at the top of the house in Spring. Small room, but lovely. Four poster and a view of Wells Cathedral.”
  • View at dusk towards Wells
hanskraay, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book early as they only have 14 rooms.”
F8447DWphilm, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The most luxurious rooms seem to be on the first floor overlooking the garden. But all are excellent.”
WorldWanderer2009, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Due to the location of the Beryl i'm sure all rooms are quite ,and you can chose your room off the website”
DilysH_11, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5