We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

506 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 498: English reviews
Leek, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

A lovely old hotel, we were lucky to have a window table so could watch all the activity in the main shopping street. The staff very attentive and once ordered the food arrived without a long delay. It looked good, very tasty, the presentation excellent. There are lots of different eating areas in the hotel, formal, informal, all offering interesting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of The Swan Hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your meal at The Swan Hotel and that you consider us "too good to miss". What a compliment! We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Many thanks, James.

Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Booked the Swan for Sunday Lunch. No F1GP so plenty of time to get out and enjoy Sunday. Fantastic service attentive without being overpowering and stunning food. The Duck hash was amazing full of cooked duck ,spicy chorizo and topped with a soft poached egg I would return just for that dish alone. Traditional roast main courses followed by pudding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JNM63
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the Swan Hotel. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us and that you particularly enjoyed our delicious duck hash. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Many thanks, James.

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Nice smiley staff is always a good sign I think. Lovely surroundings and quick and efficient service. A quality bacon sandwich and a nice breakfast menu. Lovely coffee is always a winner with me so all in all a very successful start to the day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiplingsMom
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of The Swan Hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your business breakfast with us and that our staff provided such excellent, friendly service. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Many thanks, James.

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

A trip down memory lane for myself and my wife. The hotel was helpful in rearranging our room. It had been previously booked as a Twin room through Hotels.com. However, simply by changing the booking from three to two nights, the room had been changed to a superior double room costing more and with just the double bed. Something to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trurotel
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a business trip in Stafford and was pleasantly surprised by this delightful hotel. Arrived late in the evening following a flight, staff were lovely. The room was fairly basic but comfortable with a nice selection of teas. We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious with efficient, friendly service. A real selection to choose from,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grainneteg
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of The Swan Hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the food and serivce excellent and the room very comfortable. I will pass on your comments on church bells to our executive team. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Many thanks, James.

Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Second visit for afternoon tea me and my friend take our daughters here for a treat one is 10 the other is 6 they love it the children's afternoon tea is brilliant and so is the adults and the prices are amazing cheapest afternoon tea I have had only by about £5 but ever little helps and it's the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nakisha K
ChrisLStaffs, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your afternoon tea experience at The Swan Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again very soon.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I didn't actually stay at The Swan Hotel, I was in town on business and because it was an early start, popped in there for a breakfast. From the off set, the service was terrible! I waited ten minutes to even be acknowledged and seated. I eventually had my order taken but was not invited to the help myself to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 211garry18
ChrisLStaffs, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review regarding your breakfast experience at The Swan Hotel. Firstly may i apologise for the shortfall in our standards or service on the day. I am not sure as to who was running the shift that morning as you don't state when you ate with us. I can assure you that the issues raised have...

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Latest visit was for lunch from the bar. Good options for food and drink. Apart from lunch I've also had meals in the Bistro- breakfast for a business meeting, evening family meal, office outing for Christmas meal and in 2015, we had a family lunch on Boxing Day. Never been disappointed, except when they stopped doing fresh tuna😢

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Liz, Thank you for taking to the time to review your visit, and your continued support of all areas of the Swan. I am pleased to see that each visit has been as enjoyable as we would expect and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Our menus do change of a very regular basis, with lots...

Cullompton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Three things that are key at any hotel when you stay away with business: 1. Comfy bed 2. Good Shower 3. A good breakfast (most important) Unfortunately the breakfast in terms of food quality, service and cleanliness of the dining room last Wednesday was terrible. I counted how many tables hadn't been cleaned of dirty pots (10) no orange juice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeanSilvo69
ChrisLStaffs, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at The Swan Hotel. I am pleased to read that you had a good nights sleep and that the shower was to your liking. I have spoken to the team on duty last Wednesday and they apologise that the service you received was not to our...

Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We used the Swan Hotel as the base for our wedding last year and we were not disappointed. We knew that we would need all of the rooms of the hotel and so as we were booking very far in advance they allowed us to reserve all rooms without taking any deposit from us. Our guests then were able to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NoraLee11
ChrisLStaffs, Front Office Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of The Swan Hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your wedding with us last year and that everything was perfect for you. It's fantastic to hear that everybody enjoyed themselves and that breakfast was so fantastic. I'm glad that you enjoyed your room and that you also found the family rooms you used to...

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stafford hotels
5.7 km away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
750 reviews
5.9 km away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
689 reviews
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Vine Hotel
Vine Hotel
#10 of 11 in Stafford
179 reviews
4.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swan has been providing a warm welcome at the heart of the beautiful county of Staffordshire for nearly 300 years. Nestled in the centre of Stafford's historic and pretty high street, our lovingly restored coaching inn now acts as a vibrant, modern hub for stylish accommodation,dining, relaxed coffee shop, social and family celebrations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 46-46A Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Price Range: $133 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Stafford
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stafford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#7 Family Hotel in Stafford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet room on the second floor at the back.”
Mossey2014, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Never be afraid to ask the staff to help....it makes all the difference. Service with a smile.”
paulsM2307ZU, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one with a double bed!”
Kenneth_Smith, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Probably best not to stay in a room that faces the high street”
BlueDog01, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“have not had an overnight stay so cannot comment”
karenconn1, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5