We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Swiss Cottage Luxury B&B

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldeburgh
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Swiss Cottage Luxury B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Our 2nd visit to Swiss Cottage having just spent a most enjoyable weekend with my Mum, Dad and sisters. It was a surprise trip to celebrate my Mum's 80th birthday. Heather & Eugene made us all very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We thoroughly recommend it and will definitely return again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GraemeandJulie
Essex
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We had a lovely two night stay at Swiss Cottage. My husband and my family practically took over the place and Heather and Eugene were excellent hosts. Their house is beautiful and the location great for exploring the region. I cannot rave enough about the breakfast! We ate so much! Would recommend Swiss Cottage without a doubt.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sparkybec
London
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Swiss Cottage. A really beautiful home, immaculately clean and excellently located to explore local towns and the heritage coast. 5-10 minute drive to snape, thorpeness and Aldeburgh. Great choice for breakfast and very tasty!!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 501TTD
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Wonderful time at Swiss Cottage . Spotlessly clean , spacious room , great shower and comfy bed. We had a lovely room on the ground floor by the front door . I was a little worried it might be noisy as it was close to the main entrance. Swiss Cottage was full and I am pleased to say although it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janette C
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Swiss Cottage, and it was everything we had hoped it was. The pictures on the website don't do it justice, it is simply a slice of paradise. Everything was beautifully presented, including a lovely flower arrangement in the entrance that added that nice touch when you walk in. The rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank StuCarter
Carcassonne
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Arrived late but we're given a warm welcome by Heather and Eugene. We were blown away by the wonderful room (the best we have stayed in). Had 2 excellent nights sleep in comfy beds. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of it. The dining room looked out over the beautiful well cared for gardens.. Swiss Cottage is in a convenient location...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sylvia T
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Arrived late on Sunday. First impressions good. No drinking water in the room or glasses and the sink of our well furnished bathroom was dirty. Later found the bed to be unsupportive and constantly rolling to the middle. Woke up with low back pain. Breakfast was a protracted affair. We arrived promptly yet it was some twenty five minutes before...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anglophile1956
SwissCottageBnB, Owner at Swiss Cottage Luxury B&B, responded to this review

As this is the first negative review we have had in the five years since we opened our Bed and Breakfast we were genuinely concerned to read it as guest satisfaction is our number one priority. However, when we got to the part where you IMAGINED we would put salt in with your fruit we realised we couldn't take your...

Hampshire
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Wonderful, comfy bed, bedding and towels all perfect, clean, lovely host and hostess, Location is perfect for trips out without driving too far each day. Breakfast too really good, Nothing to criticise at all.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank weekender25
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a really lovely B&B run by a very relaxed and unobtrusive couple who do everything right to ensure your stay is an enjoyable one. Eugene and Heather have a relaxed style to running their business but this is not at the expense of their attention to detail. Our bedroom and ensuite was extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank glenlodge
Norfolk
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We booked this accommodation after reading previous reviews. Whilst we agree with most of these I'm afraid we can't give it 5 stars. The owners were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. The Thorpness room we stayed in was very comfortable One small point was the poor fitting of the shower control. Didn't affect the working of the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toastracknorfolk

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.2 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
909 reviews
0.7 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,337 reviews
0.7 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club
7.7 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
750 reviews
14.2 km away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Swiss Cottage is a newly established 4* luxury Bed and Breakfast conveniently located between Aldeburgh and Thorpeness. Our peaceful leafy location provides a relaxing base for anyone looking to visit the nearby pretty Suffolk villages. Our large comfortable rooms meet the highest standards featuring kingsize high quality beds and stunning fully tiled en-suites. Heather & Eugene look forward to welcoming you and making your stay as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swiss Cottage Luxury B&B

Address: Aldeburgh Road | Aldringham, Aldeburgh IP16 4QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Price Range: $134 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Swiss Cottage Luxury B&B staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Swiss Cottage Luxury B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any, but the pink room named Thorpeness I think was really lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 139gracep, 28 May 2014 | Read review
“The Aldeburgh room is placed over the breakfast room and next to the stairwell so no disturbances from anyone else. Heather and Eugene live in another part of the house.”
 of 5 bubbles boxofchocs, 21 Apr 2014 | Read review
“We had a room with double aspect, so lovely and sunny and nice ensuite shower room. I think all rooms would be fine.”
 of 5 bubbles Joyce75971, 24 Oct 2013 | Read review
“The room we stayed in is in was a very high standard but it is in the roof and although there is great natural light, good blinds and even a mosquito net over the large skylight, it has a low ceiling and may not suit anyone over 5ft 10, otherwise perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles JudyHertfordshire, 27 Aug 2013 | Read review
“We stayed in Thorpeness. Had a very big bed and a lovely view of the garden.”
 of 5 bubbles ruarih, 15 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5