We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (5)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good20%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(54 reviews)
“abbey gardens”(32 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
259
82
37
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
259
82
37
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubabbey gardensunderfloor heatingboutique roomsfor sunday lunchcar parkfamily mealpiping hotlovely accommodationbottled watervaried menutown centrecouldn't faultlovely bathroomeasy parkingtea coffeecomfortable bed
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Very comfortable and well appointed rooms, very relaxing. Excellent food, great beer - naturally. Warm welcome from very attentive, friendly and cheery staff . Couldn't ask for a better overnight stay in this wonderful town.

Thank mgordon2152828
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Over the past 5 years I've been to the fox several times as my partner lives in Bury but I have never thought to leave a review until now. Went for breakfast this morning. Kat the manager was very welcoming with a lovely smile and...More

Thank gillianward66
Response from Kat T, General Manager at The Fox InnResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thank you ever so much for taking the time and trouble to leave you very kind and detailed compliments. I am so pleased that you enjoy your visits to us, and gratefully receive your lovely feedback. I hope to keep seeing you and your...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Am sad to say that The Fox has gone down hill. What was once a lovely pub to eat in is now lacking in customer service, the food is of poor quality and is expensive for what you get. Staff couldn’t have cared less if...More

Thank bird73BuryStEdmunds
Response from Kat T, General Manager at The Fox InnResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to us, and I would like to discuss this further with you, Please do contact me on 01284 705562 or 1071@greeneking.co.uk...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night then moved on to another hotel but we wished we had stayed longer. The room was beautiful, clean, comfortable, no criticism at all. Real luxury and a quick pleasant walk into town. We will 100%come again. Catered for my gluten...More

Thank ruth j
Response from Kat T, General Manager at The Fox InnResponded 1 week ago

Hi, I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments. I am happy to see you will stay again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

great staff and excellent food. Situated with easy walk to town and has own parking but also connected to a main car park though a walk way. Staff very helpfull and friendly. Has log fire. you can also stay here but i have never stayed...More

Thank Sjj75
Response from Kat T, General Manager at The Fox InnResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you for your lovely comments. I am very happy you enjoyed your visit, and the team have also seen your kind feedback. We hope to see you again very soon! Kind Regards Kat Thorpe General Manager

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$142 - US$218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Details
Price range
US$142 - US$218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
teel
21 March 2016|
Answer
Response from James M | Property representative | Reviewed this property |
01284 705562
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Room 6 is lovely - up a wooden stairway and very relaxing"
Read review
"room 3 was all we saw and it was fab"
Read review
"Room 6 for a couple"
Read review
"Room 2 has Room 6 [the suite] above it, and as we found out, you can hear people walking around, opening..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing