We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Angel Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Angel Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Angel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,101: English reviews
London
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Location of the Angel Hotel is excellent being very central but not noisy. Parking is free but cars are parked by valets who later return them to you while keeping your car keys behind reception - slightly inconvenient. Our room was large and recently refurbished. It would appear that a lot of money had been spent but it was not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shelley9London
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which is always useful to help us prioritise, particularly with regard to staff training needs. We hope the few little niggles won't deter you from staying with us again. Best wishes

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

We booked 4 rooms and stayed in the hotel for one night. The first thing I would like to stay is that the staff were all delightful and so helpful. Our car was parked for us and all bags brought in. The same thing happened when we were leaving. Great service. Our rooms were all clean and yes, one or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Isobel H
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a delightful review. I'll be pleased to share you comments with the team! Best wishes

Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Having lived in Bury St Edmunds for over 20 years I never had need to stay in a hotel there. However on my 65th the had cause to go back and thought I would treat my wife and I and stay at the prestigious Angel Hotel. We arrived late afternoon and a porter collected our luggage and took it to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clive J
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

I apologise that your stay was disappointing. Please be assured that we have already noted and taken the necessary actions regarding your room however the temporary scaffolding is unfortunately necessary during our refurbishment works. Should you wish to stay with us again please contact our Reservations team who can best recommend a room to suit your preferences. Once again I...

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed with a few friends on a sunday evening and booked two twin suites as part of a gourmet eat and sleep offer. Upon arriving at hotel and checking in we were not offered any help with our bags despite our two rooms being next to each other on the top floor at the front of the hotel. The view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebbers15
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

I'm really disappointed to read that we were not attentive either on your arrival or departure - a standard that we usually so proud of. I have raised your points regarding laundry bags with the housekeeping team and we will work hard to find a solution. We are in the midst of a room refurbishment programme which will bring our...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2015

There is a lot to like about this hotel - beautifully positioned right in the centre, obviously a lot of money spent on refurbishment, and overall it is lovely with good friendly staff. My only gripe is that the bedroom was so badly lit, including frankly ludicrous bedside lamps that had tiny lights perched on large porcelain toucans - impossible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrushM
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I do note your comments regarding bedside lighting. Unfortunately the shades do not allow for higher wattage lamps, however we are happy to swop lights on request. Should you choose to return, please let us know! Best wishes

Reviewed 2 November 2015

Greeted by an extremely rude receptionist who made us actually feel very uncomfortable and unwelcome considering we had jus driven 2hours to get to the hotel and were one of 15 rooms booked for a wedding. We ordered food to our room which we didn't even eat as it was cold, badly presented as didn't look edible. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LifeandStyleLondon
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Essex
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

My Wife and I just returned from a 2 night stay at The Angel. We arrived late afternoon so there were no problems checking in. Only problem we did have was locating the car park as it's at the back of the hotel and easily missed (in our opinion anyway) due to a lack of signage. We were later told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billins82
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your constructive comments and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return! Kindest regards

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2015

We went to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Upon arrival we were congratulated and quickly taken to our room. We had champagne waiting and chocolates. The room was fabulous. We ate in the restaurant that night, which was also good. They had a fantastic cocktail bar in the cellar which we made good use of! I would highly recommend this establishment....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. Thank you for your custom and we look forward to your next visit. Best wishes

East Preston
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Stayed for a couple of nights in a superior double room. Clean with all the expected facilities. We were overlooking the courtyard on the ground floor that was quiet but rather dark but perhaps quieter than looking out over the front of the hotel. Continental brakfast offered a very good choice and was promply served at the table rather that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 987BrianM
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Lovely feedback to share with our team! Best wishes

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2015

My husband and I recently spent a night at this hotel for a special occasion and loved it. We booked the hotel based on the photos on the website and we came and stayed on a Sunday night to take advantage of their 'Suite Sundays' offer which was for a stay in one of the suites for half the price!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurap8990
LynnCowan, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review. I've noted your feedback and will be delighted to share them with the team. Good advise to keep an eye on our website for more great offers! Kindest regards

625 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (287)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Other (146)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (314)
Viewed
Coach House Room (34)
Viewed
Contemporary Suite (33)
Viewed
Impressions Room (32)
Viewed
Ivy View Suite (38)
Viewed
Originals Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Romantic Suite (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
347 reviews
4.7 km away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
603 reviews
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
178 reviews
16.2 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
37.2 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Angel Eaterie
The Angel Eaterie
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Georgian ivy clad 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant in Suffolk surprises with a twist of urban chic. Our Suffolk hotel is right in the heart of Bury St Edmunds town centre and everything is just a step from here. Explore winding, cobbled, shop filled streets and a plethora of ancient architecture on the doorstep. Once inside, The Angel Hotel is a curious contrast of comfy contemporary design with touches of exotic grandeur. Warm leather sofas vie for your company in the lounge, which is filled with curiosities, pop art, eccentric oddities and cool vintage furniture. It is a hotel of many different aspects all artfully blended together into an exciting package and the bedrooms are no exception. The Angel Eaterie has a great reputation and dining here is a culinary treat. Take the steps down into the decadently curious Wingspan Cocktail Bar & Lounge located in the 12th Century vaults under the Hotel. Wingspan is the perfect location to meet with friends, for pre-dinner drinks, or simply to relax after a long day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: 3 Angel Hill, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: $209 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Angel Bury St Edmunds
The Angel Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Angel Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Norwich, Connecticut
Northampton, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Angel Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have mobility problems request a room on a lower floor. No lift.”
 of 5 bubbles louisehertfordshire, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we did not stay the night”
 of 5 bubbles irenefox, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not in front of the street lights in front of the hotel which stay on all night outside the window”
 of 5 bubbles Perrie3, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 9 or 14 in The Courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles R0bbie78, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Probably avoid a front facing room”
 of 5 bubbles Bignickandlittleted, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5