We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,098: English reviews
United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Lovely hotel with lovely staff members. Stayed in a Cygn room, which is the smallest they have available, but still quite comfortable for staying on your own. Restaurant staff always friendly and nice. Hotel has a great oldy-worldy feel to it, which makes it unique.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller22AMS
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. We welcome customer feedback and are very grateful for your kind comments. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane.larcombe@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Mere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2015

We attended The Swan for our son's wedding. The staff were very welcoming and attended to our every need. The rooms have great character, but meet all modern needs.The hotel has a great smell from the many wood fires in the cosy lounges, and the creaks from the floors are appropriate for a building of this age. The room set...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim M
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments via Trip Advisor. We're so pleased to hear that this very special family occasion went so well and that you were happy with the level of service provided. Thank you again for sharing you feedback and if I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know....

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2015

My husband and myself stayed at the swan for one night on the 19th October to celebrate my birthday. We had the most fantastic time and everything was perfect. The room was gorgeous with beams and lots of luxuries such as lush bathroom amenities, biscuits, tea and coffee and little extra touches. We ate in the gallery restaurant in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justine W
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. Customer comments are important to us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back. If I can assist you at any time, please do let me know. Kind...

Shenfield, Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We stayed for one night for my husbands birthday in a Gainsborough room, which was lovely and spacious with a comfy seating area. The food was very good (actually better than I thought it would be) and service excellent. The breakfast was also good. the restaurant was full and had a lovely atmosphere with the piano playing. My husband was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. Customer comments are very important to us. Thank you for choosing to celebrate your Husband's birthday with us here in lovely Lavenham and we're delighted that you both enjoyed your stay. If I can assist you further, now or in the future, please do let me know....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2015

We stayed in a standard room in the oldest part of the hotel and although the room was not huge (it only had a double bed) it was perfectly adequate, well appointed and nicely decorated. The hotel itself is a beautifully restored 15th Century building with some recent additions. Coming from Australia this was such a novel experience for us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole M
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. We welcome customer feedback and your comments have been shared with the relevant members of the team. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day, if you return to the UK for another visit. If I can...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2015

This was the second time we had stayed at the hotel and we enjoyed it as much as the first time. Both food and staff were excellent and this time we tried the Spa which was brilliant. Really recommend this hotel for a special treat -we wiil be back again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LoulouBelle61
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We very much welcome customer comments and we're delighted that you enjoyed your birthday treat. We look forward to welcoming you back again, for your next visit. Thank you again and if I can assist you further at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards...

Reviewed 7 October 2015

We stayed (again) three nights in a heritage room. It was excellent all round. The restaurant is especially suburb with some of the best food I have eaten in England. Parking is a bit tight but OK. Staff are also excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aldeberan
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We welcome customer feedback and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. If you're coming to visit again, please contact us about parking, so that we can assist you with the location of both of our hotel car parks and also the large free Lavenham car park, as...

Los Angeles
Reviewed 7 October 2015

This seems to be the only Hotel in Lavenham. On the surface is seems very upscale and in some ways it is...the interior of the rooms just surrounding both sides of the lobby are almost elegant. Lots of nice individual sitting areas. It is a very old hotel. The room we had was just not quite up to snuff. It...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank QueenieLosAngeles
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on Trip Advisor. We very much welcome customer feedback, but I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with elements of your stay. I am sure that a room move could have been arranged for you, subject to availability of course. However please be assured that your comments...

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Excellent food in the main restaurant Excellent room with bundles of character Excellent service from all of the staff Excellent afternoon tea in the lounge Excellent location and such a beautiful village All in all EXCELLENT..!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard I
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Many thanks indeed for sharing your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor. If I can assist you further, please do get in touch with me. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane.larcombe@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Lincoln
Reviewed 5 October 2015

We had a beautiful lunch in the Swan Hotel recently and, based on the experience, will be returning to stay in the hotel. Even though we were late (it was nearly 2.30 p.m.) nothing was too much trouble for our waitress, Vilma. We enjoyed our lunch and coffee and then were invited to spend time in the lovely garden or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lis4444
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We welcome customer feedback and yours has been forwarded to our Food & Beverage Manager John Morrell, so that he can share your kind comments with Vilma, who I know will be thrilled. If I can assist you further, please do let me know. Thank you again...

301 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (274)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (126)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
25.8 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
17.5 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
932 reviews
33.6 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
30.5 km away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
825 reviews
29.0 km away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Price Range: $185 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Norwich, United Kingdom
Alicante, Spain
11 months ago
Hinckley, United Kingdom
8 months ago
1 month ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles jenbadstevener, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms at the front because of road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles andrewslifeofriley1, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We would recommend our excellent and comfortable room on the ground floor ,only a couple of steps..and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles clairehR737BP, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are some narrow stairs and corridors which may be a problem for some older guests”
 of 5 bubbles ronnyandlinda, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ASK for a porter long walk to room with plenty of doors to open.”
 of 5 bubbles charleslM7573CB, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5