We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bull

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bull
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

473 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Bull
See the most recent reviews
Showing 472: English reviews
Karalee, Australia
Reviewed 28 May 2016

We love old pubs with character and this pub had it in spades. Beautiful old carvings and hasn't been "done up" which is great. We had a lovely meal and would definitely want to revisit when we are back in the area. Not expensive either.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Feathers013
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

Thanks very much for reviewing us. It's great to hear that you had a good stay and enjoyed the ambience, charm & character of the Bull as much as we do. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Regards Gary and the Bull team

Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2016

We were very pleased with the improvements that have been made since our last stay. Service is not an issue as the front of house staff, as ever, are excellent. The quality of room cleaning and poorly repaired lead-light windows (very cold at night and loud traffic noise). We are pleased to say that the problems we experienced with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike g
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback Uncle Fester. I am glad to hear of the improvements with your room since you visited last time. We do look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes Gary

Gloucestershire
Reviewed 22 May 2016

We stayed here for two nights and realy enjoyed it, the hotel is quite old and could do with some TLC but is full of character and the staff very friendly and helpful, the food also very good. Our room was very comfortable and warm, good bed and good en-siute, the only complaint I would make was the top opening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher A
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

I am pleased to hear your recent stay at the Bull was enjoyable and that you would return. We continue to refurbish the Hotel and hope that you will notice a difference on your next visit. I will pass your kind comments on to the team. Regards Gary

Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Very pleasant dinner with a French exchange group. Fixed menu was well received by all; some 80 plus people. Service for the large group was prompt for all 3 courses and the quality was excellent with very positive responses from the French.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vegas69024
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

Its lovely to hear that your recent Twinning Dinner with us was well received and the that the French visitors all had an enjoyable time. We do hope to see you all again soon. Kind regards Gary and the team at the Bull.

Bruisyard, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

We have been to long melford steam rally year after year but never came off site to look around. So as it was out anniversary we decided to book at the bull. A very old inn with masses of character the building and furnishings are all kept with in character with the age. We had the honeymoon suit room 30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharron W
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your anniversary weekend with us recently and thanks very much for reviewing the Bull. The maintenance issues in that room have now been addressed. We hope to welcome you back again soon Regards Gary

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2016

We come here each year and the standard is always very high. This year from on high someone has insisted on one hand towel per room thank goodness for commonsense from the staff- personal hygiene prevailed. Missed the chance to read the newspapers in the lounge as an edict has gone out no free newspapers-it is easy to buy one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geniusnz
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your feedback. Its always great to welcome you back and wonderful to hear your kind comments about the team, I will make sure I pass them on. See you again next year. Best wishes Gary

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Lovely old hotel and accommodation but let down by the food. Nice sunny patio area. I was recommended a "medium" rib-eye steak but I received a lump of tough "bloody" meat, Obviously the chef does not know how to cook a steak. (Last time we visited our steak meals were refunded). Pudding was 3 tiny balls of ice cream in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank searcher_23
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear your meals here recently were so disappointing. Please be assured that I will discuss your comments with the Chefs. Regards Gary

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2016

my wife and I choose to get married at the Bull. We wanted a small and affordable wedding so choose the Bull as we had heard good things. we were absolutely delighted. the food at both the reception and breakfast was really nice and got loads of compliments. we were really impressed by the value for money. we stayed at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dan272016
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

I am are so pleased to hear your recent Wedding with us was enjoyed by all. Thank you for taking the time to review us and also for your lovely compliments. Regards Gary

Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed 1 May 2016

This all happened quite randomly. I received a Tweet from the Bull in Long Melford and it made me think about the place that I haven't seen in more than 20 years. So I replied and we got into a conversation. It just happened that I had a weekend coming up where Mrs H and I were thinking of having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJH701
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

Your wonderful review is really appreciated and I will pass you kind comments on to the team. Please don't leave it another 20 years until your next visit though ! Kind regards Gary and the team at the Bull

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2016

Attended a dinner dance at The Bull. Had previously been 6 months earlier and the food was nothing short of dreadful. However this time I only have compliments. Seafood starter, vegetarian main and fruit pud ! All ver nice ! The service was excellent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Bull, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your kind feedback, I am glad to we have improved from your last visit. We do hope to see you again soon Regards Gary

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
6.1 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
0.2 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
117 reviews
0.7 km away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
981 reviews
18.4 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,085 reviews
38.8 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Bull Hotel Restaurant
Bull Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about The Bull

Address: Hall Street, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Long Melford
Price Range: $106 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Bull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Long Melford
Bull Long Melford
Bull Hotel Long Melford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bull staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Ely, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Bull staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My was perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles jacquelinem493, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else for food”
 of 5 bubbles Christmas1956, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“In the summery time the rooms at the back are more quite with the windows that open onto the garden instead of the street.”
 of 5 bubbles cstewartDallas, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quiet rooms are at the back of the hotel. Bathrooms need refurbishing. No lift. Very warm hotel in January!”
 of 5 bubbles angelab448, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a superior room”
 of 5 bubbles loopyscotter, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5