We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown at Woodbridge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown at Woodbridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 309: English reviews
Start your review of The Crown at Woodbridge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just had afternoon as part of a group of 14 only to be left dissapointed. Staff were very ignorant throughout the whole afternoon despite the fact we were paying over £200. We already had our concerns after the organiser was hung up on earlier that morning by the manager. It took two attempts to recieve any soya milk considering we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodie G
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location in centre of town, delightful spacious room. Superb choice of breakfasts included in price, and very friendly and helpful staff. We will be back! Free car park. Excellent bar with wide choice of wines and other drinks served by friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank John C
london
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel as it was near to a wedding we were attending and i've got to say it was one of the nicest places we've ever stayed. Check in was very quick and our room was fine. Nice bedroom and very good size bathroom. Staff all very helpful. Breakfast was enormous even for me and check out was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tonycat22
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Slightly disappointing table as we were stuck in the corner despite having booked so it was quite cramped and away from the gorgeous bar area! But the drinks were so tasty and the food was lovely - i went for the pork cheeks which were delicious but the rest of my family had steaks and didn't rate them! Great service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EllenaF94
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had a scrumptious meal here,fantastic service from the lovely Helen ,so attentive & even though it was very busy we got our drinks,starters & meal so quickly ! Delicious mussels ,scallops for starter & fab burger & sea bass for main ,just didn't have room for dessert ,was made to feel very welcome by Helen the manager ,will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank joshandholly
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had business meetings here over 4 days with a Colleague from overseas. Her room was beautiful, comfortable and good attention to detail. The service we received throughout the day was excellent. Staff were friendly, attentive, efficient and helpful. The food is excellent. For business and pleasure this is a wise choice. Impressed!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank juliapapworth
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked for husbands birthday more so we could eat at The Unruly Pig (which was fantastic). Paid £160.00 which was steep for the standard of room. Carpet needed replacing, lightbulbs out in corridor and bathroom, sealant and woodwork around bath needed some love, tiny TV, average tea and coffee tray etc. Think they can charge this as no competition in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgie T
JaneLarcombe, Business Development Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies that your experience didn’t match your expectations. We are sorry that you didn’t feel able to share this feedback with us at the time, when we would gladly have taken action to resolve your concerns. If I can assist you further, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything about this place is cool. Staff were spot on most noticeably Josh Hicks. Totally attentive and professional even when under pressure. Food was excellent especially the breakfast. Fresh orange and starched linen napkins are a wonderful touch !

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dawnstevens01
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We value customer feedback and appreciate your comments - thank you. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane@tahotelcollection.co.uk

UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Newly refurbished, a very stylish gastro pub. Food however a little disappointing. Half chicken seemed very much the flattened pre-prepared variety and was quite plasticky in texture. Chicken pie was over creamy and left a cloying aftertaste. Rosemary chips and seasonal veg were good though, other than extra portion of fine green beans which were undercooked. Excellent Addams on draft....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulm2101
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I can confirm that our method of preparing the chicken, is to debone it and then to cook it with its marinade sous-vide. We have had such positive feedback on the dishes you mentioned, so it's a real shame you did not enjoy your experience. It is impossible to rectify issues with meals after...

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Booked the crown as I am getting married at a local venue in the morning. Looked elegant etc. was told on check in that there would be a house music DJ here til midnight, had we been informed? No we hadn't.. I said that due to wedding in the morning I didn't want to be kept up. Was told that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer B
JaneLarcombe, Director of Sales at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. Firstly, we would like to congratulate you on your wedding and we hope that you day was wonderful. We were hosting a special event on that evening and it was advertised on the website & our various social media channels. We are sorry this disrupted your stay...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
2.3 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
952 reviews
3.2 km away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
11.7 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
953 reviews
4.8 km away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
484 reviews
35.8 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Crown in Woodbridge offers all that is great about escaping to the country, with all that is good about staying in a wonderful market town. With old fashioned inn keeping in a modern setting, we boast ten magnificent boutique bedrooms, a bustling bar and a real Suffolk food experience. Situated at the end of the thoroughfare in the heart Woodbridge, we are ideally situated for all of the great things that the town, surrounding countryside and Suffolk coast have to offer. If your passion is walking, sailing, horse riding or you simply have a love of good food and drink, you will find it all at The Crown and nearby area. We are open for breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. Head chef Luke Bailey showcases all that is great about Suffolk's local produce, reflected in our food offering that includes a mix of rustic and refined dishes, with simple, high-quality ingredients coming alive on the plate. Our bustling cocktail bar serves everything from local beers and ciders to the latest trend cocktails. We also have an extensive and well-balanced wine list that appeals to all tastes and preferences, reflecting our passion for high-quality wine. Long or short, sharp or smooth, there is sure to be a drink to suit your mood. The upstairs of our historic building has been transformed into luxurious yet affordable bedroom retreats, created by award-winning London based designers, Bentheim. With goose-down pillows, crisp cotton bed linen and underfloor heating with high-quality toiletries and personal touches to match, staying at The Crown is a enchantingly relaxing and satisfying experience. With a laidback and often thriving atmosphere, where traditional meets modern and rural meets cosmopolitan, you are sure to have a unique and highly memorable experience, whatever the occasion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown at Woodbridge

Address: Thoroughfare, Woodbridge IP12 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Price Range: $222 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown at Woodbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Crown at Woodbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Woodbridge Hotel Woodbridge
Crown Hotel Woodbridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown at Woodbridge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
9 months ago
London
11 months ago
London

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown at Woodbridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Speak to staff.”
 of 5 bubbles 108JohnC108, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Noisy facing street - Might have quieter rooms”
 of 5 bubbles GeorgieT478, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 7&8 are the biggest and are also quiet”
 of 5 bubbles dawnstevens01, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms I saw seem to be ok .”
 of 5 bubbles bryn1949, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe room was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles TezEssex, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5