We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

498 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 485: English reviews
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Friendly staff who were very helpful. Really nice room, good facilitates. Evening meal and lunch was excellent - good selection of food although some of the choices were quite expensive. Good selection at the bar and nice seating area to relax. Free wifi and was pretty fast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andy M Thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel. We're delighted that you enjoyed the room, facilities and especially Emlyn Restaurant. We do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Paris, France
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Nice old house, charm of old England, almost at the country side, yet not far from train station (London Victoria at about 1 hour). Very good high speed Wifi (measured 20Mbs for the free wifi from my room. Now, it's an old building, cracking floors, you can hear whatever next room occupants say or watch on TV. Avoid rooms that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank matoux00
Nicholas B, Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear matoux00 Thank you for your recent stay at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel and for your feedback. I am very pleased to hear that you liked the hotel for its charm and character. I am sorry to find that you did not have a good experience with our Room Service food. We generally have great feedback regarding the quality...

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2016

We want to thank Burford Bridge including all the staff for an amazing wedding, we had the best day of our lives! Special thanks to Michelle who after losing our previous wedding planner made the last few months of our wedding and the day as smooth as can be. From the lead up, to the day before, and on the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Faye W
Nicholas B, Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr & Mrs Ansell Thank you very much for the fabulous review you have given us here. It has been a great pleasure for us to host your special day and we are glad to have been part of making it one of the best days of your lives. I have passed on your feedback to Michelle and Leslie...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

We booked by phone after a sudden bereavement and agreed a room for 3 adultsover the phone she explained it was a sofa bed they would make up - the receptionist when we arrived was not very welcoming she insisted the booking was for 2 and said the sofa bed had not been made up and they had no staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AJE27
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and I'm really sorry to read that you had trouble on check in. Please rest assured that I have investigated this matter with the team member involved to avoid reoccurance and I apologise for any confusion. We generally receive very positive feedback regarding our Reception Team so I'm sorry that you this didn't match your...

Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 31 December 2015

We stayed at the Burford bridge for 6 nights over the christmas period because we very much enjoyed the new year package last year.It was arranged for us by Nara who was delightful and very helpful who resonded to our queries via e mail rapidly. The welcome we received upon arrival was friendly and courtious and because we arrived early...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank donaldbovill
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding Christmas. We put a lot of effort into ensuring that this is a special time for our guests and I'm really pleased to see that you, and many others enjoyed it. I shall also ensure that the teams have read your comments. I really hope that we get to see you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

I have just spent the worst Christmas of my life at the Burford Bridge Hotel. We were booked in on a Full Board basis from Christmas Eve until December 27th, including Christmas Dinner on the big day. Unfortunately our entire holiday was ruined by a family of 30+ individuals who treated the hotel as if they had hired it for...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Banjo D
Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

I’m really disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us over this special time. We put a lot of effort into the planning and delivery of a special Christmas and New Year in order to ensure that everyone who stays has the best possible time and I've received numerous positive comments from this year. I am very sorry that...

Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2015

Food was very good, had a few questions about the modern Christmas pudding, but then again I'm a traditionalist. Setup, service etc was all very good. Good atmosphere, good decor. Definitely recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon E
Nicholas B, Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon E Thank you very much for the kind review of your work Christmas party experience at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel in Dorking. I am pleased to see that the food, setup and service were all very good and that you recommend us. Our Christmas pudding was a modern take on the traditional version which most guests seem...

Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2015

I came here in a group of six, for a festive meal two weeks before Christmas. The Christmas dinner that my husband and I ate was delicious, and our friends who had fish or vegetarian pasta thought theirs was excellent too. The dining room was relaxing, festive and elegant, and the staff were attentive and polite. It was an excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisandcats
Nicholas B, Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear chrisandcats Thank you very much for your excellent review of your Christmas meal experience at our AA Rosette awarded Emlyn restaurant at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel at Box Hill in Dorking. I am very pleased to hear that the food was all delicious and that you liked the ambiance and service. We hope you will visit us soon...

Surrey, England
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

Attended my boyfriends work Christmas party here and it was fantastic. Beautiful venue with lovely decorations and a fantastic meal too! I live in the area and have never been to this hotel before and I was so impressed. The hotel has been recently refurbished and they've done it well. The bedrooms are spacious with a fridge, tea/coffee, ironing board,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJones_8
Nicholas B, Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CJones_8 Thank you very much for your excellent review of the recent Christmas Party that you attended at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel at Box Hill in Dorking. I am very pleased to hear that the event and food were fantastic and that you found the venue beautiful and impressive. We do hope you will visit us again in...

Reviewed 18 December 2015

We arrived at Burford Bridge and was pleasantly surprised by the hotel and amenities. Considering we consisted of a large group I was very surprised with the level of service and above the quality and presentation of the food. A very high standard and we would certainly come back next year. I have in fact visited before and had exactly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian M
Nicholas B, Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adrian M Thank you very much for the lovely review of your recent experience at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel at Box Hill in Dorking. I am very pleased to hear that it was "a great evening and great food". Our kitchen team and the acclaimed Head Chef Nick Sinclair are known for their high quality food and exquisite...

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
6.8 km away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
1,106 reviews
2.4 km away
Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel
1.5 km away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#2 of 2 in Leatherhead
473 reviews
7.5 km away
De Vere Horsley Estate
De Vere Horsley Estate
#1 of 1 in East Horsley
891 reviews
7.5 km away
Woodlands Park Hotel
Woodlands Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Cobham
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4 star Mercure Burford Bridge sits at the foot of Box Hill, with the Mole River running at the bottom of the spectaculargardens. With 57 en suite rooms, the hotel is ideal for visiting the historic town of Dorking and the scenic surroundings. Easilyaccessible via the M25, Junction 9, the hotel is 12 miles from London Gatwick Airport, 1 mile from Dorking train station. 2 AA Rosette winning restaurant, cocktail bar and lounge. 7 conference and banqueting rooms, outdoor swimming pool. Free parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Address: At the Foot of Box Hill, Dorking RH5 6BX, England (Formerly Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Price Range: $167 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill Hotel Dorking
Mercure Hotel Dorking
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As far away from the Barn (late night music) as possible and at the rear for no traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Alison49, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on garden side (very loud on the road side according to an unlucky colleague)”
 of 5 bubbles Winchris, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the back should have less noise...we think?”
 of 5 bubbles Akwandrews, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure what a good room is!!”
 of 5 bubbles DavidA162, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a garden room for a quieter night”
 of 5 bubbles emmabW1054UX, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay