We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

919 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 913: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
 Click to rate
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Myself and my partner booked a night away in this hotel for our anniversary, which just so happened to coincide with the valentines deal so we snapped it up thinking we'd gotten ourselves a really good deal. The deal meant that we go t one of the suites for £65 on the provisal that we spent £100 in the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RJF1720
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked a Fabulous Friday deal. Room stylish, meal delicious. Unfortunately, had same nocturnal experience as BoBrinck the very next night in the same room, Penfolds. Probably the same people staying overhead as we were woken at 3:45am by heavy footsteps and water running through very noisy pipes which went on for over an hour. Additionally, regularly disturbed by other guests...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yabeclare
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Yabeclare Many thanks for your feedback. I am pleased that we were able to discuss the points raised and that the follow up email from ourselves was located. It is always our aim to respond to guest queries within 24 hours so i am pleased that this was the case. Again we would like to apologies for the noise...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Was really impressed with the room and the look of the whole hotel, staff were friendly and the food was very nice, decent location if you want to go to some bars on the quayside as it's only a five minute walk. Had an issue where at 5 am the pipes/boiler made an awful noise for an hour and then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matty A
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Matty A Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel du Vin. I am pleased to read that you have a memorable stay and that the team took such good care of you. We do apologise that your nights sleep was interrupted by the hot water issue, in 8...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel du Vin Newcastle. Spend to nights there. The room (Penfolds) ground level was large and luxurious furnished with a large bed and a double(?) shower and a small toilet. Unfortunately the upstairs neighbors walked around like elephants in a cage and when they decided to take a shower 4Am it woke me up with a sound that sounded more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BoBrinck
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear BoBrinck Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel du Vin. I am a little perplexed however that you have marked the hotel as 'Terrible' with your 1 star review. Even more so as the studio room is by your own admission luxuriously furnished and offers a king size...

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Best hotel in Newcastle. Gorgeous rooms and possibly the best steak I've ever eaten. Added bonus of bumping into Paul weller too! Lovely cocktails and an amazing stay. Can't wait to come back XX you won't be disappointed if you stay here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louisepj
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Louisepj Many thanks for sharing your very kind review following your recent stay with us at Hotel du Vin Newcastle. I am pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable experience. In regards to your steak, we changed our butcher in October 2016 and the steaks and meat they provide us with are outstanding. We have become quite...

SCUNTHORPE
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's not cheap but very nice and so comfortable. The rooms are very big and some have a separate bath in the actual living room so you can sit and watch the TV and have a soak! The bathrooms very adequate aswell with a huge shower! We didn't have lunch or an evening meal in the place but the restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GOOLEYMALC
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear GOOLEYMALC Many thanks for taking the time to share your very kind review. It is pleasing to read that your stay was such a success and i am pleased that you particularly enjoyed our bedrooms and breakfast offering. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for an overnight stay or Sunday lunch. Best...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here a few weeks ago and can't believe it's taken us so long to visit here. The food was truly superb - I would even go so far as to say this is the best meal I've ever had in Newcastle since moving here 8 years ago! Always thought it was a weird setting right on a main road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdvisorJoanna
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear AdvisorJoanna Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your visit to Hotel du Vin. It is always fantastic to read reviews from first time guests at the hotel. Despite being open for 8 years and now very well established in the city, it amazes me how many people have been past the hotel but never...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Met for a business lunch mid week. We were in a rush and the restaurant were able to make us a lovely healthy chicken salad and my colleague had cod. The food was very nice an portion size was generous. The restaurant was empty when we visited and so we had the pick of the tables. Very nice lunch and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Helen W Many thanks for taking the time to share your review following your recent dining experience. I am pleased to read that your lunchtime experience was so enjoyable and that the chef and indeed the front of house team offered you a bespoke lunch within your limited timeframe. Due to our location, our midweek lunch trade is limited,...

Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed here before just over a year ago it is a pleasant hotel a little out of the city centre but a nice walk the rooms are starting to look like they need a makeover the staff are first class the breakfast superb but very expensive the evening menu is pretty small but what a fantastic wine list.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fuggles1901
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear fuggles1901 Many thanks for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at Hotel du Vin Newcastle. It is always nice to hear from return guests and I am pleased that you continue to make the hotel us your hotel of choice in the city. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the team...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I wanted to do something special for my partners birthday and I'm glad I chose this hotel. We had afternoon tea in the lounge, very cosy and the food was divine. The rooms are luxurious and have absolutely everything you need. The staff are very friendly at attentive. We had paid extra for breakfast and it is so worth the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travel-lover86uk
HDVAdamGreen, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear travel-lover86uk Many thanks for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay with us at Hotel du Vin Newcastle. It is great to read that you had such a memorable stay with us! The bedrooms, decor, food and attentive service that we offer are certainly fitting for such a special occasion. I will certainly pass on...

448 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (277)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (116)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (162)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
Standard Room (19)
Viewed
Suite (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 km away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,088 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,039 reviews
1.5 km away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,050 reviews
0.6 km away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,293 reviews
1.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Address: Allan House City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $162 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Newcastle
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
england
28 days ago
england
28 days ago
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Hazel Grove, United Kingdom

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If they send an email offering an upgrade when you get there, if available, take it. Mine was worth every penny!”
 of 5 bubbles jordis100, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't overlook the Ouseburn river, you can smell it in your room.”
 of 5 bubbles christinetK9183XM, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a split level room”
 of 5 bubbles MoiAli, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for the optional upgrade offered on email”
 of 5 bubbles DrinksfromWales, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for room with a view to see the tyne bridge, millenium bridge etc”
 of 5 bubbles 443tonir, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5