We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

633 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 623: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for 1 night on a good rate £53 for a night. Situated close to A1 and Metro centre with plenty of parking outside. There are a few eating establishments around and many more in the Metro centre. The rooms are standard HIE and were comfortable. Breakfast is taken in the room to the side of reception, with the usual... More 

Helpful?
Thank daveashuk
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Dear daveashuk Thank you for taking time to leave a review of your recent stay. We love that you enjoyed your visit and found our staff to be efficient. We do hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Michelle Tindall General Manager More 

Silloth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My wife and I stayed on Sunday evening on a shopping trip to the metro centre. The stay was faultless from arrival to departure. The staff were all friendly, helpful and never kept you waiting. In particular Brian Tempest was very helpful at check in. The room was clean, well furnished and warm (not too hot) with a comfy bed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank David T
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Dear David T Many Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn Express for your recent trip. We are delighted that you enjoyed a great stay. Our staff take great pride in looking after our guests, exceeding expectations every day. Brian is a fabulous team member, and he will be overjoyed with a notable mention from you guys. We are thrilled with your... More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here November 25th for 1 night whilst Christmas shopping. We arrived at 2 pm and were in room 5 minutes later . Reception staff super efficient and very pleasant. Room was nice and tidy and lovely and warm. Bed comfortable and pillows plentiful. We were directed onto a pathway to the metro centre which was a 5 minute walk.... More 

Helpful?
Thank kevan r
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Dear kevan r Thank you for the great review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro. The team at the Hotel are always happy to receive great feedback as they work very hard to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay from beginning to end. The Hotel is popular with shoppers as we close to the... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed for two nights here to go shopping at the Metro Centre. The hotel is easy to find and has plenty of free car parking which is very secure. The hotel itself is beautiful inside, cannot fault the rooms at all, beds were extremely comfortable and the hotel is very well maintained, very clean. Breakfast consisted... More 

Helpful?
Thank scotsrover1
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Dear scotsover1 Thank you for the fabulous 5* review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro. It is Hotel team always appreciate great feed back from our guests as they work very hard to ensure the Hotel is kept to a high standard from your check in to your departure. Our Express breakfast is a hit... More 

Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow, the evening staff were so rude! I mean really rude. The room was dirty with plenty of mystery stains, old uncomfortable mattress with a choice of hard or hard and lumpy pillows. Bathroom was gross. There is a sign saying staff will be happy to help if you forgot anything, but approach them at your peril. The window didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Review_guys
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Dear Review_guys Thank you for taking time to leave a review of your recent visit. We are sorry to see that you did not enjoy a great stay with us. Guest Satisfaction is at the absolute heart of what we look to achieve everyday in our hotel. We are gutted that you did not share the same great experience which... More 

Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with family overnight so that we could do some Christmas shopping at the metro centre. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk away from the metro along a cycle track next to the hotel. The staff were great...really friendly & helpful. The hotel is clean & well maintained with free parking the rooms are spacious.. my daughter had... More 

Helpful?
Thank jan1720
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here last night in a ground floor family room, T122 we had, sofa bed already made up so room was a bit cramped unmade up it would have been decent sized, very clean, all the basics you need to get comfy though and nice, clean bathroom, Check in super slick as I'd pre paid and I'm a IHG reward... More 

Helpful?
Thank wulfman73
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions when I have visited the area on business. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. There is no restaurant in the hotel serving evening meals however the hotel is next to a TGI Fridays, Frankie and Bennies and KFC, as well as being very close to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuart P
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Dear Stuart P Thanks for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Newcastle. It is fantastic to hear that you are a regular visitor enjoy your business stays with us, finding our rooms to be lovely and clean and comfortable. We look forward to your next trip. Kind Regards Michelle Tindall General Manager More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on the Friday night, fantastic hotel. Reception staff excellent, brilliant banter, made to feel very welcome even when we trailed garlic sauce all the way to our room 😂 Beds were comfy and the room was very clean. Will defiantly be back here again! Many thanks.

Helpful?
Thank Marie B
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Dear Marie B Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express for your recent visit to Newcastle. It is fabulous to hear that you enjoyed a 'fab' stay. Our staff loves to ensure our guests feel at home, and we enjoy some good chat too! Our housekeeping team work exceptionally hard to ensure our bedrooms are presented beautifully and we love... More 

Level Contributor
170 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have used Holiday Inn for accomodation up and down the country frequently before... But I have rarely felt the urge before to revue the suitability of a resting place more than I did on leaving this one. Newcastle was always, for us, just going to be a stop on the way to our final destination (Yorkshire) on the Halloween... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Angus E
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Dear Angus E We are delighted that you enjoyed a great stay with us over the Halloween weekend, and are thrilled to have exceeded your expectations - describing us as the "Best (reasonably priced) Hotel Ever". The whole team work exceptionally hard to ensure that every detail is attended to, from our warm Geordie welcome, and the super clean bedrooms... More 

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,077 reviews
3.9 km away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,784 reviews
4.4 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
294 reviews
4.8 km away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
417 reviews
4.3 km away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is a modern designed hotel ideally located just off the A1. Guest rooms accommodate two adults with up to two children and include Express Start Breakfast, free wifi and free parking. Guest rooms are en-suite with power shower, 32-inch flatscreen TV, free wifi, hair dryer and telephone. The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated in Newcastle Upon Tyne and is only a short distance from Gateshead, Sunderland and Durham. The hotel is an excellent choice for an overnight stay when visiting the area or as a stop off when on your travels. For the corporate traveller the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated only a short distance from Newcastle Business Park, Newburn Riverside Park, The Watermark and Team Valley Trading Estate. Major companies situated near to the hotel are BAE Systems and ITV Television. For the leisure traveller the hotel is situated a short walk from the Metrocentre, the largest shopping mall in Europe. Newcastle City Centre is only 3.5 Miles away and the infamous Newcastle nightlife is a must for any party goer. The city's many attractions also include Newcastle United Football Club, Metro Radio Arena and of course the famous Tyne Bridge and the Gateshead Millenium Bridge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Address: Clasper Way | Swalwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $80 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Forfar, Sotland
Leeds Yorkshire
over a year ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't think any of the rooms have a good views...”
 of 5 bubbles bgodda_507702, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If travelling to shopping centre by bus be careful when crossing road.”
 of 5 bubbles diane804, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Excellent facilities in the rooms for disabled but could have done with a bigger bed or perhaps two large singles”
 of 5 bubbles 790petrinab, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a room with a view of the river Tyne”
 of 5 bubbles H5462POsimonh, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stayed on 2nd floor, had nice view of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles OkiaCobra, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay