We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

749 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 743: English reviews
Perth Western Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for four nights as a base to explore the North. The room was comfortable, clean and had all the usuals. No view, but it is a city hotel. Restaurant was good in value and food quality for dinner. Breakfast is stock standard Holiday Inn buffet. I did order eggs benedict and the hollandaise was watery, split and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tatung01
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here a number of tie and always had a good nights sleep, clean room and great food, great location with wasy access both by car and on the metro. Breakfast always good and staff friendly, worth a stay here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey B
Kim R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review

Thank- you for such a great review of our Hotel! I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and have returned a number of times, hoping to see you again next time you are in Newcastle. Best wishes, Kim Front of House Manager

Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights to attend a wedding nearby at the Biscuit Factory. We booked in advance and got a great rate for the Executive King room. We also rang the hate in advance to ask for our favourite room. Rooms was very clean, quiet and when we asked for extra towels they came immediately. My daughter also broke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReigateF
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed Christmas Eve night and Christmas Day night. The hotel was not busy. We had asked for and got an executive room, which was excellent. It did look out over the main road, which fortunately wasn't too noisy. Staff were attentive and eager to please. Breakfast was very good on both mornings. Christmas Day lunch was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is in a very good location. 10 minute walk to the main part of Osborne Road with loads of bars, restaurants and shops. Going the opposite way it's a 10 minute walk to the city centre past the University. The car park is rather small however we stayed on a Saturday and had no problems getting a space...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carllongs
Kim R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review

Dear Carllongs, Thank- you for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn. As we discussed, unfortunately there is no way for us to pre-determine the actions of individual guests prior to their stay. Our night team, as mentioned, always do their utmost to minimise any disruption caused by inconsiderate guests. Following our private correspondence, it was...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Room ok. Breakfast substandard. Chef can't even cook a sausage. Pink inside. Rude as well as he tried to defend his shoddy cooking. I'd give it a miss if I were you. There are plants of better hotels in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul M
Kim R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review

Dear Paul M, I am sorry to read your review, it is extremely upsetting for myself and the team to see that you chose to rate us negatively despite our conversations to appease the situation following your stay. We take our food hygiene and safety practices very seriously which are also monitored by third parties. Please feel free to contact...

Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Good hotel in a good location with decent rooms and a good breakfast and restraunt. Let down by its parking. I Don't want to have to get creative with my parking when I've just finished working at 9-10pm. Probably wouldn't chose to stay here again due to the parking as I've not had parking issues at other IHG hotels in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew T
Kim R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review

Dear Matthew T, Thank- you for taking the time to write a review of the Holiday Inn Newcastle, Jesmond. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and sorry to read that you encountered some issues with parking during your stay. On evenings when the hotel particularly busy, our car park spaces can be limited, however we have...

Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Not impressed. Nothing to do with the hotel but Expedia were horrendous, they lied regards not being able to refund my money and blamed it on the hotel. I'm still waiting on "the manager" from Expedia ringing me back! The hotel was lovely except one night the heating packed in but they did all they could to help.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 8 December 2016

I was in Newcastle to visit my daughter who studies at the University. This hotel has a perfect location, very quiet and still within walking distance (20-30 mins) to the city centre. The metro is quicker, and there is a station nearby. Staff is friendly and helpful, breakfast delicious, beds good, room quite large and very comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linn J
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

My wife and I booked a one night stay, and paid in advance. Due to illness we had to cancel. We were prepared to lose our payment but the hotel was so helpful they allowed us to re-book for a few nights later. Unfortunately we had to cancel that booking for the same reason. The hotel again re-booked us for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B

481 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (212)
Viewed
Accessible Room (24)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Double Room (23)
Viewed
King Executive Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Standard King Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)
Viewed
Twin Room (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (185)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (106)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.1 km away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,011 reviews
1.3 km away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,278 reviews
1.6 km away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
712 reviews
2.6 km away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,886 reviews
0.9 km away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The contemporary 4 star Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond is conveniently just 2 minutes by Metro from Newcastle's City Centre. The quirky bars and restaurants of affluent Jesmond are right on our doorstep, and we're only a 10-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James's Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Located only 20 minutes from Newcastle International Airport. The hotel's well-equipped meeting rooms are ideal for conferences, and complimentary wireless Internet throughout makes it easy to stay in touch with the office. Unwind after a day of meetings and socialise over drinks in the stylish Terrace Bar. Jesmond Metro station is right next to the hotel, providing easy access to Newcastle's fine shopping, dining and entertainment. Closer to the hotel, Newcastle's vibrant Quayside is renowned for its nightlife and overlooks the River Tyne. Stroll down to Fratello's, Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond's street-side Italian restaurant, and watch as chefs toss the dough to make our delightfully crispy pizza. In the adjoining glass-fronted Lobby, colleagues and friends meet and mingle. After a busy day, retreat to your contemporary Guest room which features wireless internet connection and a TV that allows you to save programmes for a time that suits you. The hotel's Fratello's restaurant is popular for its wood-fired pizza. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Address: Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $107 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Essex, United Kingdom
UK
over a year ago
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had to drag suitcases miles, if you have a large case mention it to book a room that is a bit easier to access.”
 of 5 bubbles Tatung01, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles 305linnj, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Main road is busy, try and get one facing the rear or side of hotel if you can”
 of 5 bubbles SJDYorkshire, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on floor two, very quiet but view over the roof top”
 of 5 bubbles JoyceW366, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Give it a go if you want.”
 of 5 bubbles London_Scotti, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay