We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (5)
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good18%
  • Average11%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible40%
Travellers talk about
“taxi journey”(4 reviews)
“stag doo”(3 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pool
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
34
30
19
18
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
34
30
19
18
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaxi journeybrilliant weekendstag doowill defo be backbars and restaurantsfreeman hospitalcity centrelocation is brilliantbreakfast was includedrooms are cleanstayed for nightsladstoon
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

There was a big group of us stayed at the hotel for a hen do! We turned up a little tipsy and the receptionist was very polite (even though a few of the party were being a bit rude) The room I was sharing with...More

Thank ErinNewstead
Response from Ge0_87, Guest Relations Manager at George HotelResponded 2 days ago

Hi Erin, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at The New George Hotel. We are very grateful for the time spent leaving a review and are pleased our staff was able to accomodate your needs, hope to see you again in...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Very affordable and in a great location for students. Lee, the hotel receptionist is very helpful and chatty. The restaurant/ bar (Jam Jar) downstairs has amazing food and cocktails. They have the nicest and approachable staff! I will definitely return next time I visit Newcastle.More

Thank Franciszka S
Response from Ge0_87, Guest Relations Manager at George HotelResponded 2 days ago

Hi Franciszka, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. I will be sure to pass the comments onto the JAM JAR team also. Many thanks....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

we stayed for a stag and hen party. Rooms are hot, no air con. The first rooms we were given were in the basement which had no windows or air con. We complained and they changed our rooms for an extra cost. They weren’t much...More

1  Thank GeordieJ18
Response from Ge0_87, Guest Relations Manager at George HotelResponded 5 days ago

HI Jane, We are sorry to hear of concerns you have raised in your review, as 'new management', we adhere to make each guest as comfortable as possible. We have been and are currently in the renovation process, although this does not take away from...More

Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed in room 16 for one night on Saturday. 3 friends, the room was nothing special but for £150 for the night it was definitely expensive compared to how much it normally costs. When you arrive there is no clear signs to the Reception...More

1  Thank Nicole B
Response from Ge0_87, Guest Relations Manager at George HotelResponded 5 days ago

Hi Nicole, Thank you for your feedback, sadly as it was a busy weekend for the North East and surrounding areas, including the Ed Sheeran weekend, this meant the prices and availability differed and were raised slightly as a result. It should have stated our...More

Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

There is so much wrong with this hotel it is difficult to know where to start.... Entrance to the property is though the Jam Jar & into reception area which is pretty shabby, dark & dingy & right next to the kitchen. Greeted by pleasant...More

Thank Sarasota21
Response from Ge0_87, Guest Relations Manager at George HotelResponded 1 week ago

Hi, We are sorry to hear about your stay, we are currently working on renovating each room, as you can understand this will take a little time as the new management has only recently taking over, we do apologise that your room was not to...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$49 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$49 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (5)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from George Hotel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Room 7 is nice and big"
Read review
"Top Floor Room"
Read review
"Check tripadvisor and don't take any notice of published photos by this establishment"
Read review
"Don't bother!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing