We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Surtees Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Surtees Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

542 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 534: English reviews
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

went for a lads night out paid for 2 twin rooms. When getting there was no receptionist, had to wait 10 mins for someone to appear to check in. was told one of the rooms wasnt ready as they was a person down which was understandable. we put all our bags in the room which was available. room was an... More 

Helpful?
Thank bdb546
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here overnight. The location is great - perfect for a stay in central Newcastle. We were only a short walk from a great selection of shops, restaurants and the nightlife. Good for exploring the city centre and walking along the quayside. Its close to train stations, but also has a car park right next to... More 

Helpful?
Thank hezel13
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although the staff friendly and the room was good - the room although on the second floor was very noisy and it was difficult to get any sleep with the noise from Dean Street. There is also a multi storey car park which took us an hour to get into as there is only on street parking for max of... More 

Helpful?
Thank kimdolfin

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here on the 9th November for the night, great location couple mins walk to city centre hotel is a Georgian building room was clean comfy bed staff friendly. Would stay here again for the price

Helpful?
Thank kevk26
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review of our hotel, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Laura Thynne Hotel Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I never stayed at Surtees, as my credit card was incorrectly charged before I arrived for a deposit that was never agreed. I asked to cancel the room and have the unauthorised deposit refunded. The room had been sold with the conditions that no payment would be taken before the day, and you can cancel free of charge until the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lozbozzz
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, You made a group booking through booking.com which advertises clearly the group policy including the 10% non-refundable deposit for bookings of 3 rooms or more. It is the guests responsibility to read all of the advertised policies clearly before booking. This is part of booking.com's terms and conditions which you state you agree to when making the booking.... More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Basic hotel in the centre of Newcastle. My room on the third floor had a bath and even though it was a single room I had a double bed. There was tea and coffee facilities with biscuits. I stayed during the week so I did not hear much noise on the street.

Helpful?
Thank martinaoc9
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback and i'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay Kind Regards Laura Thynne Hotel Manager More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you picture an average hotel in your head this is the place. Close to city centre, be great for a lads weekend or maybe a cheap over night stay. Don't come expecting the world. It will give you a comfortable but clean night.

Helpful?
Thank Glen L
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are a very reasonable 3 star hotel and i'm glad to see that you encountered no problems and had a clean and comfortable stay. Kind Regards Laura Thynne Hotel Manager More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very spacious room but still needs updating, although it did have nice toiletries and and ironing board, fan and heater, the bed wasn't very comfortable, the windows weren't double glazed so quite noisy, didn't have breakfast so can't comment, staff very friendly

Helpful?
Thank LinsleyT
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I'm glad you found our services in the room suitable, I will look at the problem with your mattress and we are currently replacing the majority of our mattresses. In regards noise I can completely understand the issue, unfortunately we are a listed building so can not replace the windows with double glazing... More 

1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Very close to the city centre, walking distance from everything you need! Good service, clean rooms, great value and no problem getting deposit back (which was a slight worry in a group). Definitely recommend :)

Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Great location, but when we had already booked it turned out the "parking available" was a pay and display car park behind the place. The hotel is nice enough, it's not a top drawer one but seemed like the reception needed nothing more than TLC, the room was fine and clean. Turns out the building next door is a strip... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt T

224 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 km away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
416 reviews
0.2 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
924 reviews
0.3 km away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#54 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
379 reviews
0.4 km away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#29 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
822 reviews
0.1 km away
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
#42 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $77 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Surtees Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Surtees Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the rear as the front is very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles LinsleyT, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A room on a high floor may give you more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles lmorby, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“As close to the ground floor as possible in case the elevator still doesn't work!”
 of 5 bubbles weegerd, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go for a room at the back as less noisy”
 of 5 bubbles couldbeyou, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 14,24,34 seemed to be a bit bigger than the rest of our groups rooms with King Size beds etc.”
 of 5 bubbles RoscoHill, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay