We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Surtees Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Surtees Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

548 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Surtees Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 540: English reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

Located in pretty good location 2-3 minute walk to quayside the rooms were clean the staff very friendly. good value for money for a 1 night getaway when you just need a bed for the night can't beat it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sean d
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2015

Seen a couple of bad reviews,but we thought we'd go for it! Whingers! Ok,the lift could be a problem,if previous users had not shut gates on it properly.It's only 3 flights,for goodness sake and staff would help out if required.Found that to be part of its charm.My wife was ill so we changed to seperate beds on second night "not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BOB M
Reviewed 26 March 2015 via mobile

Me and my friends stayed here and were extremely happy with this hotel. The receptionist shelly gave outstanding customer service. Ours rooms were really good especially for the price we paid. The location was amazing too. If your going for a night out in Newcastle then I would definitely recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laura W
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2015

After purchasing a wowcher voucher trying to book was anightmare. They then booked it incorrectly and never deleted this. My friend then took it over which they said would be fine. I therefore never got to stay either did my friend or a refund. After months of calling and emailing. Also asking to speak to the manager I kept getting...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steph254
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Booked for 2 nights for a military reunion taking place nearby. Room was more than adequate and breakfast full of choice and cooked to order. Comfortable nights sleep with good shower and toilet facilities. Close to amenities metro and central railway station. Cannot understand how it got so many poor reviews as my stay was very pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Zhukov45
Reviewed 16 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel as part of a hen party. We stayed in room 38. The room was awful, the shower was disgusting and the water was cold on one of the nights. The Tv had no remote. There was mould on the walls which was brought to the attention of the receptionist. She said it was biscuit but definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G19827344
Castlewellan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2015 via mobile

Prime location near to train station and centre. Hotel was reasonable but was very shabby and dirty inside and out. Carpet not fitted properly, dirty bathroom, poor, beds clean. If I had of known I definitely would not have stayed. Staff were very friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BMS68
Reviewed 1 March 2015

Dingy. The lighting is horrendous!! Good luck doing your make up in the dark if you're a girl. Doors don't lock properly, on arrival to our rooms, all room doors were open. The attitude of the staff is awful, in particular the manager. They will accuse you of anything to get more money and not to give you your deposit...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Hszel
SurteesHotel, General Manager at Surtees Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Firstly i would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel, I'm sorry to find the hotel was not to your liking. In regards the Group deposit that was kept, we only keep the deposits when actual damage and disturbance is caused to the hotel and other guests by your group....

Reviewed 27 February 2015 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel, as we went to Newcastle to watch the X factor and the metro radio arena on a Thursday night. This hotel is in a perfect location bars, restaurants, train station so close. The staff at the hotel were not friendly or helpful, they did not make no conversation what so ever. They...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michaela H
Reviewed 27 February 2015 via mobile

Me and my partner spent one night in Newcastle as we went to watch the X Factor at Newcastles Radio Arena. We got the train from Hartlepool to Newcastle's train station and we got a taxi to the hotel (5min drive, I would suggest that you book a proper taxi firm instead of the ones waiting outside due to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenny F

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (204)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 km away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
447 reviews
0.2 km away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#54 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
385 reviews
0.2 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Euro Hostel Newcastle
#55 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
402 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,065 reviews
0.1 km away
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
#42 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Surtees Hotel

Address: 12-18 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $78 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surtees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Surtees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surtees Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Surtees Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
3 months ago
3 months ago
Derby, United Kingdom

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Surtees Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms access from first floor stairs but has a lift”
 of 5 bubbles michaelLincolnshire, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the rear as the front is very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles LinsleyT, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A room on a high floor may give you more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles lmorby, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“As close to the ground floor as possible in case the elevator still doesn't work!”
 of 5 bubbles weegerd, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go for a room at the back as less noisy”
 of 5 bubbles couldbeyou, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5