We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

County Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
County Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

945 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for County Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 924: English reviews
UK
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed for two nights as we got a great price for February and were very impressed with the room although it was a tad small. Everything was clean and up to standard. We were however disturbed several times on both nights by a young Irish couple staying next door, who after a few drinks at about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank its_grim_oop_north
GeneralManagerNCL, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear its_grim_oop_north, Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read your comments regarding your room and the value for money you felt you received. I am on the other hand quite perturbed by the incidents you have brought to light in your review. As an Irishman myself, I am incredibly concerned and genuinely disappointed that such incidents may...

Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Upon arrival the reception staff looked and spoke to myself as if I was causing them hassle by trying to check in when they clearly wanted to continue their gossip session. Eventually once I got the room key and made my way up to the room the corridor was filled with rubbish, every ledge was lined with dirty glasses and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grenaird
GeneralManagerNCL, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Greenaird, Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience on Tripadvisor. I’m disappointed to read that there were elements of your stay that you were unhappy with. This is generally the exception opposed to the norm as you can see from our many positive reviews. I would be delighted if you would accord me the opportunity to discuss your...

Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

The hotel is in a great place, right opposite the train station.There is plenty of choice at breakfast and because we were with a coach tour the evening meals we set as three course meal. But they were very helpful as there was foods on the menu that I didn't like and ordered something I did like. The bedroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyndadh
GeneralManagerNCL, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Lyndadh, Thank you for such a lovely review. We were delighted to have hosted you and your group here at the hotel. I’m pleased to read that you liked your room and found our staff to be helpful. I’m also happy to read that we were able to cater for your dietary requirements so as to ensure your personal...

Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed here on the 8th of July for one night. Situated opposite the train station it was an ideal choice. The service was excellent and although the decor in room I had was a little dated, it was clean and was equipped with a safe, kettle, iron & ironing board etc. The breakfast was great with a wide range...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GXW416
GeneralManagerNCL, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Hello TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at The County Hotel. I’m delighted to read that you found our service to be of a high standard, your room to be well appointed and enjoyed your breakfast. Such positive feedback is always fantastic to read and both the team and I really appreciate it. We...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Stayed here late June. I found the staff to be quite friendly. Rooms were a bit on the small side but what's really great about this hotel is the location. Literally a stone's throw away from the mainline station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beatrix G
GeneralManagerNCL, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Beatrix G, Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I’m pleased to read that you found our location to be suitable to your needs. Our location in the city centre on Neville Street, across from the Central Train Station makes us ideal for exploring the city or for a relaxing stay before or after a long commute. Once...

Reviewed 17 July 2015

Stayed at this hotel for a business trip. Looks lovely from the outside and in the reception area but room left a lot to be desired. There was a leak from the bath, constant laundry noises and felt outdated. Loads of potential-needs some love!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
GeneralManagerNCL, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alex P, Thank you for your review. I’m disappointed to read that your room was not to your liking. I have checked our management logs and cannot find any issues regarding a leaking bath having been reported. I can assure you, that had you reported said bath issue, we would have immediately changed your room so as to restore...

Glasgow
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Stayed whilst on business on a room only basis. Lovely looking hotel, limited parking which they charge £10 for. I'm already paying to stay in the hotel so it's a disgrace to be charging for parking as well. I can understand for day residents or non residents but for people residing overnight? Staff were efficient and friendly. Small double room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
GeneralManagerNCL, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Craig B, Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I’m pleased to read your comments regarding our staff being “efficient and friendly” as well as our location being to your liking. I’m disappointed to read your comments regarding our parking facilities. We do charge a nominal fee of £10 for overnight guests but in return guests receive parking...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Firstly the hotel is located in a great spot, we got a train down from Glasgow so the minute we got out of the train station the hotel was within sight. The service was great, we needed plasters: the reception gave us them. We wanted chinese food, they gave us a number to phone and when it got delivered to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ywats0n
GeneralManagerNCL, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Hello ywats0n, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience on Tripadvisor. I’m pleased to read that the hotel team were able to assist you with any requests you may have had. With regards to the Irn-Bru issue you encountered, the hotel is in the process of transition from the “Thistle” chain to the “Hotel Collection”...

Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

This hotel has an excellent location, directly opposite the main central station. The building is beautiful and the rooms are well furnished with comfortable beds. The hotel food has always been of an excellent standard and the staff are excellent. I use this hotel as a base for visiting family and friends and we always really enjoy our stays. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy N
GeneralManagerNCL, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Cathy N, Thank you for a wonderful 5* review. I’m delighted that hotel was to your liking and you found our staff to be “excellent”. Such feedback is fantastic for staff morale and for this I thank you sincerely. Both the team and I look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to see your family. Yours...

Shefford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed here on a business trip on a Tuesday evening. On a positive the location is excellent right in the centre of Newcastle and right opposite the train station. Upon arriving their was a group of six of us and only one person on check in which was very slow I would have thought a hotel of this size...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
GeneralManagerNCL, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Dean S, Thank you for sharing your observations pertaining to your recent stay with us. I am surprised by your comments as they are generally not akin to our usual standards of high service. I will share your feedback with my departmental managers so as to ascertain where and why there may have been errors and omissions in the...

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 km away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,743 reviews
0.0 km away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,109 reviews
0.3 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#19 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,111 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,056 reviews
0.6 km away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located across from Grand Central Station, the County Hotel is perfect for shopping, sporting and cultural events, and visiting the world-famous Hadrian's Wall. A magnificent Grade II Listed Victorian, the hotel is the ideal base for shopping, concerts and other cultural events, with attractions from Roman remains to the legendary St James' Park within a short drive. ... more   less 

Additional Information about County Hotel

Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DF, England (Formerly Mercure Newcastle County Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $87 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — County Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel, Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
County Hotel By Thistle Newcastle
County Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from County Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from County Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Brilliant for station, and central N'Castle, with taxi rank right outside”
 of 5 bubbles 173andir, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for the upper floors as it's next to a busy road and the train station.”
 of 5 bubbles marksW6986YC, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room320”
 of 5 bubbles lynn2207, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“3rd floor was pretty quiet?”
 of 5 bubbles FussyBum67, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“High floor less noise”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5