We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,056 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,029: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Indigo Newcastle
 Click to rate
england
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Pros: - Great location :) Staff at front desk gave me a map and ideas for places to go, I didn't have much time to do much (1 night only) but managed to see Grey Street and restaurant nearby. - Free minibar items - snacks and drinks given without charge - notified by staff upon check in! Thanks, much appreciated....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trippyEngland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The reason I'm writing this review is because we had our 15-year-old son with us and he's autistic - he is quite severely disabled. He had a very hard time settling in at dinner but the staff were kind and patient. They never made us feel like we should leave or like we were disturbing them in any way. At...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mia Z
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed one night for a university visit for my daughter. Brilliantly located for the station - very easy to find by foot. And easy to get to the main shopping streets and up to the university. First impressions at reception were good, both in decor and customer service. Then after checking into our room, the staff at reception recommended a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked for my wife's birthday - hotel was very nice. Booked a room with a view but didn't get it (don't think this is the hotels fault but may be as booked through a third party) Lovely surprise with happy birthday treat in room on arrival. Very nice place and easy to walk everywhere from the hotel. Marco Pierre White...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lulu_Stevens
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to provide this kind review of your recent stay with us, I am pleased to read you had a very enjoyable stay in Hotel Indigo and Marco Pierre White Steakhouse despite the inconveniences you experienced. The feedback will be passed onto the relevant departures to help us improve where necessary, I do...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well appointed hotel and location. Check in is very slow and under staffed, morning service for breakfast very poor. Ordered tea and coffee staff forgot about this ! Ordered 2 pouched eggs 🍳 20 minutes later still no pouched eggs,had to re order . Ample street in restaurant! Need more organisations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark Conrad S
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced, our aim is to be a 'Great Hotel Guests Love' and on this occasion we were not quite able to live up to this standard. The feedback will most definitely be used to help us improve on the areas necessary,...

Dereham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to stay at Hotel Indigo for a couple of days on our recent visit to Newcastle. The hotel wasn't easy to find amongst the one way system and the car park is very tight with limited number of spaces. The hotel was central. Very close the train station and to shops/restaurants. The rooms were very clean and comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sjb0701
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, I am pleased you had an enjoyable experience despite the early difficulties reaching the hotel. I will pass on the kind words to the team and we would love to welcome you back soon! Kindest regards Paul Borg- General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location & the rooms were all clean as was the rest of the hotel. The breakfast was lovely & the girls who checked us in were helpful & cheery. The manager David was as miserable as sin but other than that i would definitely recommend the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FPez
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Hotel Indigo, I am pleased to read the team provided a very warm welcome upon arrival however disappointing that there wasn't the same level of consistency throughout. I will ensure that the team are providing the high levels of customer service at all times, please let us know of...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Checked in with high hopes. Thank you Sydney on reception. Lovely greeting and then down hill The room was "ok" the bed sounded like it was broken every time you sat on it!! The mattress wasn't comfy in the slightest. The pillows were like sleeping on rocks. The shower - more power in a mobility scooter on the motorway!! BUT...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorna S
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to provide this honest review of your recent stay, I truly value the in depth feedback and will ensure that each department will be looked at accordingly to see where we are able to improve. Our aim is to be a 'Great Hotel Guests Love' and on this occasion we were clearly...

Northallerton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Easy check in, great room, excellent breakfast and service with a smile, parking at £12 for overnight, was not expensive, and good location for station if your not driving. No complaints, which for me is rare!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joadv1903
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you so much for the kind words, I am pleased to read you had a very enjoyable stay with us at Hotel Indigo Newcastle. I do hope we see you again when in the city! Kindest regards, Paul Borg- General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I have spent many a pleasant mealtime enjoying the food on offer here. We have always been made welcome by the attentive staff who do their job well without being pushy. The food has always been well cooked, presented and tasty. The afternoon teas are amongst the best we have experienced. The car park attached to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
paul B, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Newcastle, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for the kind review. I am delighted to read you had a very enjoyable stay with us and choose Hotel Indigo when in Newcastle. I do hope you have a great weekend and I hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards, Sam- Assistant Reception Manager

717 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (453)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (162)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (170)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (131)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Luxurious Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Room with City View (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (133)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
843 reviews
1.1 km away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,118 reviews
1.2 km away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
445 reviews
0.3 km away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
361 reviews
0.4 km away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is just a two-minute walk from Central Station, and a ten-minute walk to Newcastle United Football Club. This upscale venue features an iconic Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, delivering to our guests a refreshing and welcoming experience.Hotel Indigo is a boutique concept by InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), offering guests the luxury and individuality you would come to expect of a 4-star hotel. The design of the venue has been heavily influenced by its location within the historic Grainger Town area and will feature bold geometric forms, classical proportions and repeating patterns to mimic the architecture and rows of columns that can be seen around the local neighbourhood. Today, the Grainger town area is a hot-spot for cutting edge architecture and just a short stroll away from the city’s art galleries, restaurants, shops, bars and business district. Hotel Indigo Newcastle has a car park at the rear with charges at £12 per night. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Newcastle

Address: 2-8 Fenkle Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $133 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Indigo Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Indigo Newcastle staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Indigo Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stick to room only”
 of 5 bubbles priorylainee, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you have IHG status, Staybridge is better bet, east end of city centre”
 of 5 bubbles 108anthonym, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms immediately off the lift lobby/landing”
 of 5 bubbles rodneym, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Research all the external booking agents before committing”
 of 5 bubbles 270iainm, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Up graded rooms have a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles barbaras2121, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5