We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grey Street Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

452 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 446: English reviews
Start your review of Grey Street Hotel
 Click to rate
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Myself and a friend stayed here in a twin room while in Newcastle for a weekend break. We were mainly visiting for the nightlife so this hotel was perfectly situated within walking distance of all the main bars and clubs. Although it's currently undergoing some renovations we had no noise disturbances whatsoever as a result. The room was spacious with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Osulle46
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you found your stay 'faultless' and please do come back soon! Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night to attend a concert and was a bit disappointed with our deluxe room on the first floor (6). The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment so there are workmen on site and we heard banging late afternoon after checking in. The hotel is centrally located so is perfect to see the sights of Newcastle, though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hutchinson2
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience whilst staying with us. We are currently going through a refurbishment therefore there is workman present through out the day however we try our best to keep the disruption to our guests to a minimum. I would hope if you were not happy with...

Benidorm, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel as a deal was available for a suite with prosecco. The room was very clean. plenty of space in the bathroom which was just as you come in the door. Only issue if any one has mobility problems the sleeping area is down approximately 15 stairs. This is due to the hotel being in an old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed the spacious and clean standards or our room. The room in which you were allocated is one of our Junior Suites which we complementary upgraded you to. If you have issues with stairs you just need to let us know and we can accommodate you accordingly. Please come back soon....

Reviewed 1 week ago

room n 47 noisy central eating ,kitchen extractor noisy, full of dust,arrived tired left exhautedI was awake most of the night - smelling of paint (newly decorated) very noisy plumbing (all night) Grey street hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sad to hear you found your experience with us 'disappointing'. We are currently going through a refurbishment plan to improve the standards of rooms therefore they are getting fully decorated which explains the odor of paint. Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was created by a VILE room at the Grey Street hotel, absolutely filthy! After being told the hotel was full I decided to look elsewhere, however the room next door then miraculously became available. It was better but still not up to the usual city hotel standard. I have heard great things about this hotel so was particularly disappointed....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise F
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The reason in which you were advised we were full, is because you had made your reservation in the wrong room type and when you arrived, you requested to change the room type however we at first glance, it did not appear that we had any of the other room types available. However we looked...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel was ideal because it was right in town, close to all the shops and pubs. The hotel was beautiful and fantastic. The view was amazing. The reception staff were very welcoming. The room was stunning and we were delighted with the experience. The only problem we had was our toilet was faulty, but we informed the staff and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abbi M
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are privileged you described us as 'Beautiful'. I am pleased we rectified the problem with the toilet immediately and thank you for recommending us. Please do come back soon. Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in a newly refurbished room. Described as delux double with seating area. prosecco and 2 glasses provided . There was no seating area just one chair. In truth no room for another. Also hotel described as having wifi in all rooms. We had wifi but only very occasionally and the max speed was 0.49mbps at 6 am. By 7am...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ruth k
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear we offered you an alternative room and you found this more to your liking. The green light above the door in the room is an emergency light and due to safety regulations this is mandatory in all rooms. I am sad to hear you found your stay with us disappointing...

Lisburn, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I love my city breaks. I been to London many times also Manchester and Liverpool but I must say this is the best hotel I have stayed in. Staff are really great ;friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. It's amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley G
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review! We cant do much better than 'Best ever Hotel' can we. Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wow! What a beautiful suite we were given. We stayed in the Charles Grey room & it was stunning. Hotel laid on lovely extra touches as it was our mini moon. Roses & petals on the bed. A card & sweets. We stayed here the weekend we got engaged & can safely say that we would come back multiple times....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaz1104
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed the extra touches we added to your room as we tried to make it very special for you. Our Hotel is receiving a full refurbishment which includes the stair case also. I do look forward to welcoming you back. Many thanks, Lainey Westgarth

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

TERRIBLE .... noisy Music played till 1.10am then came back on for 10 mins to wake us up 6.55am Manager never replied to my e mail of complaint Far better Hotels for the money Shabby around the edges Breakfast was ok

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxine P
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As discussed with you, the reason I had not responded to your email was because I was on annual leave when you sent the email, and as soon as I returned, I responded and we have settled this and I believe you are happy with the outcome. We are a city centre hotel that has...

197 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (122)
Viewed
Double Room (22)
Viewed
Junior Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Superior Twin (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 km away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
347 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,039 reviews
0.4 km away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,072 reviews
0.8 km away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,256 reviews
0.4 km away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shop, party, relax or dinein the heart of Newcastle city centre. On Newcastle’s most prestigious street, The Grey Street Hotel Newcastle (in association with The Living Room Restaurant chain). The historic Grade II listed hotel is boutique and chic in style and cleverly merges the old with the new keeping many of the impressive Georgian Terrace’s original features and adding modern touches, making the hotel an interesting find for people looking for a unique place to stay. Adding to the prestige of the Hotel, is the magnificent restaurant which is part of The Living Room chain which can only be found in cosmopolitan city centre locations across the UK. The Grey Street Hotel is the only hotel association to the chain. Facilities■There are a choice of room types available at the hotel from standard rooms to suites■An intimate bar located in the cellar (available for private hire)■Meeting and conference rooms■Venue hire for weddings or special occasions Finishing Touches■Play station & docking station available■dvd and cd player & library■Crisp, white, Eygyptian percale cotton bedlinen■cafetiere coffee and herbal teas■broadband internet access ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grey Street Hotel

Address: 2 - 12 Grey Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $97 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grey Street Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Grey Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grey Street
Grey Street Newcastle Upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grey Street Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Bradford, United Kingdom
Cardiff, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Grey Street Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If mobility a problem let the hotel know as some suites only have a couple of stairs unlike the one we had.”
 of 5 bubbles sandrabQ899HJ, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are steps in some rooms so you need to be careful my sister got up for the loo through the night and fell and hurtled her ear”
 of 5 bubbles 683shirleyb, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Facing the back may be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Mosymoo, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for one higher up hotel as these rooms are refurbished .”
 of 5 bubbles dundeegirl46, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that has been refurbed”
 of 5 bubbles Puddin3, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5