We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle upon Tyne
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Plough Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 127: English reviews
northumberland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Last night a group of our friends got together to celebrate a couple of birthdays and the upcoming Christmas season and we went to The Plough. It's a popular regular haunt of our's that never fails to hit all the right spots for us all, due mainly to the consistently warm welcome and the wide varied menu selection that has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorthumberlandGaggle
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had a beautiful romantic meal, the food is just amazing, great choice for whatever your mood. Management are very welcoming as are the rest of the staff. Would highly recommend, you won't be dissapionted. Thank you for a lovely evening and an amazing meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirstywithers
Rothbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have lunched here several times during the past year, with friends and family, and the food has always been excellent, congratulations to the chef! The service has been very good with one exception when it appeared that one waitress was left to cope on her own with a lot of tables to look after. The venue is fitted out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
diddy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just visited very disappointed by being given a sandwich that was made with dry bread.No one available to complain as I was unable to eat dry stale bread I informed the waitress when she cleared the table only to find her very rude stating I had left the bread to long before eating.Never to return advice to management improve customer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank diddy7
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

You ordered soup and sandwich to come together. You ate half your sandwich, all of your salad and crisps, then a substantial serving of homemade soup with a bun, then left the other half of your sandwich. Your words were the first half was perfectly fine, bread was ok. After 25 minutes of it being served you decided the bread...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed overnight here after stumbling across this in August on our way home . We had a lovely meal then and loved the look and atmosphere so decided to visit for a birthday in November . There are three rooms all beautifully decorated . I had a look at all three as my friends had booked the other two ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We all enjoyed your visit as you are such a lovely, fun group who know how to enjoy themselves. We try to go the extra mile here at The Plough Inn and it is much appreciated by all when this is recognised by our customers. Look forward to your return....

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Now then I ve hummed and harred over wether to do this review I don t normally like to pick holes in places, preferring to just not go back, but, and here it is the food was to good not to go back, in fact me and the hubby really want to go back. So here it is when the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ermentrude2014
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry it wasn't 100% for you. We try very hard to ensure the staff at the plough inn know what they should be doing ie starter cutlery to b put down after order taken, if this had been done correctly you wouldn't have had a cutlery issue. Can't understand why they missed a starter, soup should have taken seconds...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've been a couple of times for drinks & always loved it. Sunday lunch had a good selection of food & offered 1/2 portions for children. The food came out in good time, well presented & hot. The couple of issues, not offered condiments i.e. mint/apple sauce we had to source it. The adults were finished eating, the waitress started...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon O
Wales
Reviewed 2 November 2016

all of our meals were beautifully cooked and tasty, apart from the vegetables, which were tasteless and soggy - a shame really as it was otherwise very good. I am particularly fond of vegetables and I was very disappointed. Staff efficient and the place is clean and well furnished.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrsbicky
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

The Plough has fairly recently been refurbished to a high standard, there is original art work by local artists on the walls and for sale, and the bar and seating areas are stylish and comfortable. The drinks are extremely reasonably priced, and the food is comparable to average 'pub grub' in price, but of a superior quality. We had four...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ailceinblunderland
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the plough inn. Great feedback. Happy you enjoyed your visit. Thank you.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

I have visited on a number of occasions and on each one I have enjoyed amazing food and first class service, with a smile from all staff. I always choose a different meal and have never been disappointed. I would highly recommend a visit. I certainly will be returning soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
theploughstamfordham, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Diane, lovely to hear you enjoy your visits so much. See you soon. From All at the plough inn.

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
6.9 km away
Ryton Country  House
Ryton Country House
#49 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
160 reviews
10.9 km away
Horton Grange Country House Hotel
14.9 km away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
426 reviews
18.7 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
622 reviews
7.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following an extensive period of refurbishment, the Plough Inn is once again ready to welcome and wow guests who come to call. Ran by the Graham family, the Plough Inn is located between the village of Stamfordham and the hamlet of Eachwick, a mere 10 miles from the city of newcastle Upon Tyne. The Plough Inn;s location makes it an easily accessible place to enjoy a tranquil and relaxed environment perfect for either a quick drop in or a more leisurely vista. all tastes are catered for, with delicious food and refreshing drinks, with particular focus on those designated drivers. With a number of different spaces available, the plough inn is a venue that can offer a venue as distinctive and individual as your event. From our off set 'Drawing Room' which offers the opportunity for an intimate and private fine dining experience for up to 24 guests, to our fabulous first floor Restaurant with its own dedicated bar, for parties up to 60 people. Be it a wedding, a special birthday, an impromptu gathering or even a meeting or conference, we are confident we can exceed your expectations and deliver an event to remember. With 3 well appointed en-suit rooms, the plough Inn offers a luxurious place for you to unwind and base yourself for a break or for business in North East England. Located close to Newcastle International airport, our location is within easy access of the beautiful North east Coast, the rolling unspoiled country side of Northumberland and the world heritage site of Hadrians wall. we are within an easy drive of the bustling city centres of Newcastle Upon Tyne and Durham and also Europe's larges indoor shopping centre The metro Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: Stamfordham Road | Eachwick, Newcastle upon Tyne NE18 0BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Plough Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle, United Kingdom
11 months ago
Gloucester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Plough Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure if rooms are available.”
 of 5 bubbles Ailceinblunderland, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet location only three room available”
 of 5 bubbles j_eglinton, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Nice and quiet accommodation”
 of 5 bubbles wrighte365, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Only went for lunch”
 of 5 bubbles N10BOR, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Winter time grab a seat near the fire,cozy!”
 of 5 bubbles michaelb156, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5