We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book Now and save 25% off
Booking.com
US$123
View deal
Expedia.com
US$122
View deal
DoubleTree
US$141
View deal
TravelocityUS$122
Hotels.comUS$122
TripadvisorUS$122
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (406)
Room & Suite (207)
Dining (21)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 10/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon
Updated 10/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 30 hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don't just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Now and save 25% off
2722Reviews42Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,447
  • 931
  • 229
  • 69
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Michelle E wrote a review Today
Barry, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
  Liked · Hotel room was clean and breakfast on day 1 was good .... Disliked · Welcome was short and sweet this is your room number on the 3rd floor, lifts by there and breakfast is over there in the restaurant between 7-11 and your rooms will not be cleaned as you are only here for 2 nights , We had the deluxe superking room not much difference between our room and our friends that had a standard double. We didn't have the robes or slippers, we had 2 coffee 2 teabags 4 milk and 4 sugar that was our tray no cake or cookies and no water , the fridge was empty so much for deluxe, we also had to go to the front desk to ask for clean towels, water, tea, coffee, milk and sugar thank god we didn't run out of toilet roll. There was plates, cups, trays and rubbish left on the floor in the halls ....day 2 breakfast was a shambles first there was no room so tables were laid in the other room, there was hardly any food left and this was 9am and half was not replenished, no milk for cereal or tea/coffee as it was off which we found out after putting it on our cereal and eating some and both coffee machines were not working as they had run out of powdered milk, sadly most of the staff were very young and really didn't have a clue what to do as so many people were complaining, ..... Outside lighting would be nice as it's quite dark walking up the parth and sitting in the garden ... To be honest we are very disappointed in the whole weekend stay .. Don't let the word hilton in the name fool you we have stayed in much better 3 star pubs and b+b's with a much better welcome, service and complementary tray. I wish I hadn't wasted my money with the upgrade in room compared to our friends who had the stand room ... If you are short staffed then don't over book at the cost of your other guests.. Sadly this place gets a big 👎thumbs down from us ....
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nimmy37 wrote a review Aug 2021
Chester, United Kingdom251 contributions61 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Lovely hotel. Spotlessly clean room. On arrival public toilets were less than desirable but were cleaned soon after. Our room 233 was right over the toilets and we did have the noise of the rather loud hand dryers every time they were used. This was late at night and also early morning. If you need slippers and dressing gowns these can be requested and not standard as pre Covid. Also room cleaning is only done on request. We chose not to have our room cleaned as were only there for two nights. Only down side was tea and coffee was not replenished and I did ask for some more but they didn’t appear. Reception staff were lovely and having witnessed some very rude guests they are also very patient and tolerant too. Breakfast was lovely but at times challenging. Yea machine broken on first day and had nearly finished eating before I managed to get a pot. Other items had to be hunted down such as salt and milk but the staff that were on worked very very hard. There just didn’t seem to be enough staff on. Would definitely return but will be packing my own tea bags !!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is available at £7.50 a day. Try to get a room higher up to avoid communal area noise.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Goodby, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon
Responded 2 Sep 2021
Dear Nimmy37, Many thanks for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
armagh222 wrote a review Today
armagh northern ireland486 contributions340 helpful votes
I stayed one night and enjoyed this hotel . Plenty of onsite parking , a nice clean and comfortable room with good WiFi and air conditioning and a good breakfast was my experience. I would stay again and recommend Good location for visiting the sights of Stratford
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Carol W wrote a review 14 Aug
8 contributions5 helpful votes
We really did have a lovely stay at this hotel. Yes it is a little basic in some areas, but overall a really good couple of days. Just a suggestion, in this very hot weather a welcoming cold drink of water in reception perhaps via a container such as used in breakfast would go down well.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Front facing rooms re best.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Goodby, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you Carol, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time staying with us. We will definitely look at implementing a welcoming drink station. Many thanks for your feedback, see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phian wrote a review 11 Aug
Witney, United Kingdom161 contributions112 helpful votes
The welcome was very warm, the receptionist was friendly and helpful. Our bedroom was comfortable and scrupulously clean with effective air conditioning which was so good during the heatwave. Without exception, every member of staff we met was friendly and respectful. Breakfast was self-service with everything kept well stocked. The Dinner menu was not over-fussy and the food was cooked well. Should we return to Stratford-upon-Avon, this will be our first choice hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Goodby, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon
Responded 4 days ago
Hi Phian, Thank you so much for your feedback. I will pass on your compliments to our team members. They work hard to ensure your stay is enjoyable and they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here! We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
essjay02 wrote a review 1 Aug
london50 contributions73 helpful votes
We stayed at this hotel a few years ago and had a wonderful stay, so were looking forward to returning for a two-night stay. The hotel is very attractive and in a very good position for exploring Stratford-upon-Avon. It is near the railway station and there is a stop for the open-top tour bus very close by. Unfortunately, our experience in the restaurant for both dinners and breakfasts left a lot to be desired. In particular,on the first night, the restaurant was very quiet but we still had to wait around an hour to be served. The waiter did not even bring our water or the wine that we had ordered. Eventually I had to ask him to bring it. When the meal did finally arrive, it was very disappointing. Breakfast times were no better. On both mornings there was no orange juice at all, the cooked breakfast buffet included poor quality sausages, streaky bacon only and mushrooms which appeared to be either tinned or frozen. Not really acceptable for a 4 star hotel. I’ve had far superior breakfasts in a 3 star B&B or a Premier Inn. On a positive note, most of the staff we came across were very pleasant, particularly a young man working at reception who had only just started at the hotel. He was extremely personable, very pleasant and friendly. Having had such a good time at this hotel previously we felt quite disappointed that standards had dropped. It is very unlikely that we will return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Goodby, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon
Responded 2 weeks ago
Many thanks for your feedback. I am pleased that our team members made your stay enjoyable and I will pass on your compliments. However, I am sorry to hear that your experience at the hotel restaurant was not up to our usual standard. I will speak to our food & beverage manager about this. We are constantly striving to improve our guest experience and appreciate all of your feedback for improvement where required.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tourer22 wrote a review 1 Aug
Cumbria35 contributions12 helpful votes
I booked this hotel based on reviews and the fact they had a car park. We arrived at 9.30pm due to being stuck in traffic on the M6 for 9 1/2 hours. We were told that the kitchen was closed and no food was available so had to go to bed very very hungry. Got to the room where the air conditioning had been left on full and the room was literally freezing. There wasn't any biscuits on the tea tray and no bottles of water in the room. I stay in a lot of four star hotels and expect and receive this as minimum. The room was not clean, there were stains on the carpet and it had not been hoovered as there were crumbs on it. The bathroom was tired and the shower over the bath had a shower curtain.... not acceptable for a four star!. On getting into bed there was a large stain on the fitted sheet. The only good thing I would say about this hotel was the breakfast. There was a good selection of food and it was hot and tasty. I am glad we only stayed one night as I wouldn't have stayed another and I will not return to this hotel. I paid £230 for my room!.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Goodby, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello, I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. Our restaurant does close at 9:30pm however we have a selection of cold sandwiches available 24/7. I apologise if you were misinformed and I understand that after a long journey this was frustrating. Our team members always strive to make your stay enjoyable and would be more than happy to provide you with water should you ask them. I will speak to our housekeeping manager regarding the comments about your room and we can investigate further as to why this happened. We appreciate all feedback for improvement where required. Apologies for any inconvenience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire C wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I would like to put 0 stars out of 5, but 1 star is the minimum I'm allowed. It does not deserve 1 star! I went with 2 friends for “afternoon tea “ as this looked a great menu and nice place to visit from looking on the website. However we were all extremely disappointed with the service and the lack of quality we received. My friend rang the hotel 3 weeks before we were due to visit and explained over the phone to the receptionist that 2 of them were pregnant and would need the menu adapting (to which they said they can accommodate) and one having a severe nut allergy . The chef approved this over the phone and said he would adapt the menu to accommodate us all. However we arrived yesterday and were seated in the corridor outside the restaurant, despite this being empty. The waiter seemed to know nothing about the booking and this showed from what we were given as “afternoon tea”. As stated my friend has a severe nut allergy to which they brought out a plate full of walnut cakes and the waiter put it on our table. My friend immediately said this needs to be removed and he ignored this 4 times and finally replies “well where do you want me to put it ?”. He brought a side table and had an attitude about this. My friend repeated for the 5th time that she couldn’t have this and then he finally got the message to move this away. The sandwiches were disgusting , we had cheese and pickle ( which was basically just pickle and no cheese). The egg and watercress mayonnaise had egg shell in it and no watercress . We were promised a chicken selection as an alternative to salmon and this wasn’t an option. We wasn’t allowed to swap the hot drink for a squash and was told would have to pay £4.50 extra. The scones came out cold and hard and we’re served with butter and jam even though on the website it states clotted cream, this wasn’t given this as an option. The plates wasn’t clean and they provided no napkins. This whole experience was a compete let down as we wanted to treat our friend for her hen party. This is advertised at £21per person and is a complete rip off for what we received. It shows as this was peak time on a Saturday afternoon and it was empty. More importantly they haven’t taken allergies seriously and this is a major concern as they didn’t seem to acknowledge the severity of this. The manager was called over and did apologise but this is isn’t good enough as it shouldn’t have happened in the first place. We refused to pay for this experience and would NEVER recommend this place to others. AVOID
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Goodby, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Claire, I am very sorry to hear about this experience that you had. This should not have happened. Please contact foh@thestratford-hotel.co.uk so that we can discuss this further.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
howie999 wrote a review Jul 2022
Darlington, United Kingdom641 contributions268 helpful votes
AS stated the hotel is a little dated, but all is very well maintained. The staff are really accommodating - lovely people. They have not got back to full hit, still suffering from the covid fallout - even meal selection not that great - for example no steak!! Ran out of butter for brekky - I hate margarine But this small things are more than made up by the staff - credit where credit is due - they have a good team there and this makes all the difference - very professional Nothing is too much of a problem Good location - plenty of free parking Would I stay again?? yes most definitely and a good price for the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: All rooms are a little dated but clean and well maintained
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Goodby, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your feedback, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our team members always strive to make your stay enjoyable so I will pass on your compliments. I will also pass on your comments to the relevant departments so we can improve and make your next stay with us even better. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eirlys wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Went with a coach company for a 2 night stay This Hotel is in a great location Room was clean comfortable beds Fridge was a plus as it was the hottest days on record The service on the first night was terrible in the restaurant and I felt sorry for the young man that was waiting on We were there 3 hrs most of the time was waiting for our meal !! The food was very poor Second night was no better Breakfast was passable But I must say thank you to John from the front desk for his quick response to come to our room and helped us with our air con He was very helpful and friendly
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Goodby, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon
Responded 3 weeks ago
Many thanks for your feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us however I am sorry to hear that your experience at dinner was not up to our usual standard. We are constantly striving to improve our guest experience and appreciate all feedback for improvement where required and have passed your comments regarding your dinner experience onto the Chef and restaurant manager. I will also pass on your compliments to John!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$96 - US$171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the stratford, a q hotel stratford-upon-avon, the stratford a qhotel, stratford a qhotel upon avon, stratford victoria hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Stratford, A QHotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWarwickshireStratford-upon-Avon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
102
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon?
Nearby attractions include Escape Live Stratford-upon-Avon (0.1 km), The MAD Museum (0.4 km), and The Stratford Alehouse (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cork & Tile Portuguese, Plantarium Cafe, and Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Stratford-upon-Avon.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Stratford-upon-Avon?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.